We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, tranquility,relaxing and extremely helpful”
Review of Box Canyon Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Box Canyon Cabins
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Absolutely the best cabin I have ever stayed in. It was extremely clean and quiet. After coming back from a long day of sightseeing it was the best benefit to be able to sit outside and relax around the campfire.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcnivenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

What a idyllic little spot the owners have created here. The four of us had reserved two nights in the Wolf's Den, but so enjoyed the Seward area, as well as the cabin, that we decided to stay a third. Unfortunately, the Wolf's Den was booked, but the owners went out of their way to help us get comfortably accommodate - two of us in the one room Eagle's Den and the other two in a neighboring cabin just down the road. Both Wolf's and Eagle's "dens" were spotlessly clean, with well equipped with full kitchens, full baths - and definitely cozy. The landscaping - both wooded and open - along with pond, fire-pits and grill make this one of the most outstanding places we've stayed in Alaska.
The Millers & Burmasters

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillerAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We have just returned from our vacation in Alaska and spent the last four days of our trip in Seward. While there we stayed at the Box Canyon Cabins and it was fantastic (in spite of the rain). The cabins are completely furnished and have all of the items necessary to make your stay enjoyable. We rented two one bedbrooms and they each had a full kitchen with all utensils for cooking and the sleeping arrangements were perfect. We also had satellite TV and bathrooms with a shower. One of the other nice features was the laundry facitlity. There were washers and dryers available to use and the enough had laundry soap to purchase! The grounds were very well kept and they had a barbeque grill and picnic area. However, due to the rain we never got to enjoy them. Our host Cliff and Barb were very knowledgeable about the area and were helpful in planning our stay.

Seward is a beautiful area and there is plenty to do. I wish we could have stayed longer. I would certainly plan on a stay at Box Canyon cabins with my next trip to Alaska.

5  Thank travelchildFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This was our second, relaxing stay at this establishment. The cabins are comfortable and well-equipped. Our cabin, the Wolf's Den, had everything we needed for our six-night stay. There was a full kitchen, with utensils, pots, and pans at our fingertips. The cabin is simple but comfortable. There was a heater that easily warmed the cabin and cable TV which we found useful on rainy days. The office had a phone, a good supply of board games and books/magazines for guests to enjoy. There are laundry facilities available onsite, which was greatly appreciated after a couple of days of fishing! Outside, there are several sitting areas with fire pits available for the guests to use. The sitting areas were near a landscaped pond.

The owner, Barb, was accommodating and helpful. Whenever we saw her, she asked if there was anything else we needed.

These cabins are a gem if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful setting in the woods. It's just a couple of miles from town, and easily accessible. The owners take great pride in the setting they have created. The owners are easy to get in touch with when needed, but otherwise just try to stay out of your way so you can enjoy a quiet stay. I recommend this place for travelers who are looking for a quiet setting where they can enjoy the peaceful surroundings and respect the facility that the owners have worked hard to create. I would not recommend it for people who like to party or have loud, boisterous gatherings.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We spent two nights at the Box Canyon Cabins in Seward, Alaska. I wanted to find a relaxing place that was out of the town enough to experience some wilderness, yet not so rustic that you'd wake up next to bears! What a lovely place. It was beautiful. My in-laws loved their cabin, as did we. Our son loved sleeping in the loft! Our futon/sleeper was so comfy. Nice kitchen, well stocked with everything we needed. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank survivorsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

What an absolutely fabulous retreat! We had the pleasure of spending several nights which included fishing by day. The facility is not only beautiful but extremely comfortable. The exterior is also inviting with a cozy setting, nestled in the woods. The outdoor fire pit offers opportunity to sit back, relax and reflect on the excitement of the day. Along with the sound of the creek rushing under the sturdy bridge one is fairly contained with the amenities only found in a special place such as this. Enjoy your experience as we have. Your hosts Barb and Cliff are the best!

Lydia and Bruce

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lydia_garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Box Canyon Cabins is the best place to stay while visiting Seward, Alaska. It is ideally located to provide access to fishing, sightseeing or other outdoor activities. It's ideal setting and beautiful cabins make it a relaxing place to come back to after a full day of activities. The owners are extremely helpful and knowlegable about the area. They will bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasent one.
We particularly like the quiet setting with the pond and bar-b q area where we can gather over a glass of wine or drink of your choice and talk over the days activities. It is also a good place to meet and mingle with other guests and compare experiences.
All in all - a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.7 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.4 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
13.9 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Cabins

Address: 31515 Lois Way, PO Box 1662, Seward, AK 99664-9715
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: £143 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Box Canyon Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Box Canyon Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing