We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining at Chinooks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chinooks is located right on Seward's waterfront. Serving a Fresh menu of Alasaka's best seafood. Also serving Steaks and options for vegetarians and gluten free options. A new Sushi bar has been placed upstairs near our huge picture windows to enjoy. We have 12 Alaskan brewed beers on tap with a full bar of premium hard to find spirits, and one of the best Scotch selections in Alaska. A worldly, yet well rounded wine selection is also available.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fine dining at Chinooks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a popular spot on the harbor for the local residents. We went there with a couple that live in Seward and it was a very nice dining experience. The menu is fairly broad and they offer lunch items along with their dinner menu - which is really nice if you want something lighter. The food was very good, not exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    486
    168
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“May dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Good food. The wife had a Thai scallop dish that went onto serve us both for lunch the following day. Massive. It is quite a large restaurant and we were a little through the back and perhaps away from the main atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Terrific food, great help & right on the water. We were a very large group, but had no trouble getting a table.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our last day in Seward. The seafood was tasty, the service attentive and friendly, and we had a nice vie of the harbor.

It's great to have fresh seafood on the waterfront.

We would stop again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Seward Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great food with a great view of the Seward harbor. Fresh fish of the day is number one best choice - we had the halibut which was perfectly cooked - grilled crispy on the outside and tender inside. It was served with rice and a small portion of veggies. For the price the meals should have included a salad too. The Seafood Chowder is super thick and tasty. Prices are high (but expect this for dining in Alaska). It was so good the first night that we decided to come back for a second evening dinner. This time we did have to wait about 1/2 hour (they only accept reservations for large parties). The downstairs has a fairly noisy bar area but upstairs is a bit quieter (I don't think they have an elevator). As this is arguably the best restaurant in town it is very busy during the summer. Best advice - come early for a window seat by the harbor. Owners - how about reservations for smaller parties?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing