We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here and it was truly amazing. The rooms are simple, green and adequate. The food was marvelous and well prepared and the Island itself is a natural wonderland. There are mounains and ocean everywhere you turn. The beach has flat rocks and the sound you make walking on them is something you will never forget. It is a great place to enjoy the out of doors and truly "get away".

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed here with my husband and two children in August for one night. Let me say at the outset that a single night here cost us around $1200, including a bay cruise in the Kenai Fjords. For a couple it would be far more affordable, but still ridiculously overpriced for what you get. We had a nice and tastefully-decorated cabin with one room and two beds, and very good meals that did not include any beverages in the price. We met some very interesting people. The beach is lovely, and the hiking trails challenging. But there is a sense that you are being ripped off here. During dinner someone from the kayak concessionary showed up to offer a kayaking "special" after dinner- for something like $80/person they would take you kayaking in the perfectly calm bay! Is it too much to ask that kayaks be included when a family is paying over $1000/night? We enjoyed our short stay, indeed it was the highlight of the trip for one of us, (so nice to get away from hordes of people for a while) but you can find better and similar wilderness lodges for one quarter of the price in British Columbia, Oregon, and Maine (these are just the ones I have visited- there are probably better and cheaper wilderness lodges many other places, including Alaska). No s'mores- but it was raining.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSUTravelM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This place is amazing. So great to have a personal chef and staff eager to serve and fulfill any request from s'more makings to best hiking trails. Fox Island is like paradise--so quiet and beautiful with awesome food, a lodge where you can read or play board games and relax on the flat rock beach, frequent animal sightings, and sunshine all the time (in the summer). Thanks for a memory that will last forever!

Room Tip: Get the package deal; it's a great value and you get to spend a day kayaking and a couple of nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Beautiful setting for a beautiful lodge. No worries during stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Beautiful grounds.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank debwhite0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Sorry to be writing this so late but the beauty of this place has remained fresh in my mind two years later. The car ride down here (although the amazing Alaskan rail goes here as well) from Anchorage went through terrain that was like riding through one screensaver after another. Once you reach Seward you take a boat to the island with a ranger telling you about all the sea life you see on the way there.

Once you arrive on the island you enjoy a delicious salmon bake lunch on a deck that overlooks a small interior lake surrounded by unbelievable scenery. It was so beautiful that when the paper wrapper holding the dessert flew off the table and fluttered to the lake I dove for it fearing that if it hit the water, we would all wake up and find ourselves in our beds in whatever hellish urban center we were escaping.

The cabins are bare bone, a bed and a small bathroom. Meaning, you should only be in it if you are sleeping, showering, or the other (--) one does inside. It did not matter, the beauty of the surroundings demanded you were outdoors. We took a hike that started out behind the lodge, the worst part of it was the beginning where you had to essentially climb up and over some pretty rugged tree roots, but once past that you continued up at an easy uphill grade, plucking blue and salmon berries off the branches as countless raptors of varying feather swooped over you with naked eye identifying closeness. Be warned, once you reach the top and see the most beautiful view (picture posted here) over some knee high brush STOP! as right past the brush is a sheer drop off which I can only hope they have warning signs up for now. If you have little ones keep them close and maybe turn back, if not walk the trails to the left or right for more amazing views but mind your step.

The food is commendable, the chef took great pains to try to keep the meals with as much local food as possible. It was outstanding and I have been accused of being a foodie. The menu is fixed so do not expect choice, but it is so well done, it is worth trusting the chef. The wine list was very impressive as well. The staff consists essentially of young college students interning, given their service to the national parks their lack of training should be graciously overlooked.

You can kayak, and there are ranger led nature talks. Exploring the island, in my opinion can take up a day or two. We spent only a day and the next went on the day loooooong boat trip (definitely bring sea sick meds if that is an issue) where I saw more wild life in one afternoon then I will ever again. Three types of whales, terns, puffins, bald eagles, seals, and I don't know what else. The captain of the boat was very knowledgeable with both the natural and cultural history of the area. His knowledge of the glaciers we saw bested that of a PhD in Geology. It was extremely educational. The lunch on the boat left much to be desired and again only one choice but make sure you are sitting inside back by the service are afterwards when those warm cookies make it out of the oven!

If you do one trip in Alaska that is not Denali, this is really the one to do. Remember, the lodge is an eco-lodge and more concern is put into having the least impact on the environment than your comfort, but you recognize immediately that the natural beauty is what you came for and not accommodations. I have been many place including Tahiti, throughout the Caribbean, Asia, and quite a bit of Europe and nothing compares to this place for natural beauty. We also went to Talkeetna and would have traded that entire trip for one more day here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allinclusivefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Spent two nights in June on Fox Island at this lodge. We were in Dall Porpoise cabin. Travelled as part of the Kenai Fjords 5 day national park tour which included 2 nights at the Windsong Lodge. The location is stunning and we had great weather too. The Salmon Bake lunch was very touristy but in the evening and breakfast we ate in the Wilderness Lodge and the chef, Chris, was excellent. Very friendly staff who are not in your face at all. Plenty of time to hike up the mountain, sit round a fire on the beach, go on a kayak trip with Sunny Cove (highly recommend the 8 hour trip) Although water and electricity is a rare commodity the cabins are very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. I would recommend 2 nights rather than 1, to really get the benefit of the relaxing environment. (contrary to the tour desk you can buy beer and wine on the island from the kitchen)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

My mother and I stayed on Fox Island one night and then took the Fjords tour the next day. After arriving at the lodge we received good service and had a wonderful time. We had made reservations to go sea kayaking the afternoon of our stay. I probably would not do the kayaking again but would recommend staying at the Wildeness Lodge. The meals were good, (why they would want to serve steak in Alaska is still a mystery), though not 4 star. The experience of the solitude is worth the price and this is one trip I would do again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alaskarookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.8 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
809 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
15.0 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge

Address: Fox Island Resurrection Bay, mail-1304 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge by Pursuit is Kenai Fjords Tours’ greatest escape located on Fox Island, just 45 minutes from Seward. Enjoy secluded lodging, ocean views and a private cabin as you relax at our exclusive wilderness lodge. Activities; hiking, guided sea kayaking, beachcombing and more. This all-inclusive package includes our premium Northwestern Fjord cruise and all meals on Fox Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenai Fjords Wilderness Lodge Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing