We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay for view if 1st floor...really noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 11 August 2012

WHATS GOOD: clean, convenient location waterfront just across road, restaurants and tour departures very close. 15-20  minute walk to town

WHAT'S BAD:  if on the bottom floor of the 2 story building, bring ear plugs, folks above us sounded like they we're coming through the ceiling, when they ran water could hear it clearly in our room, and I'm not a light sleeper. Also had a big 3" spider in bathroom, room was really hot even with heater off, no staff to answer operator line at 11pm, not sure when they logout.  

WHAT'S OK:  simple continental type breakfast food juice, bagels, yogurt

Room Tip: Don't get 1st floor room in 2 story building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuitcasesPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Clean room and bed, and fantastic views from our room on the ground floor. Staff was good and helpful with the local sightings, and they help with your booking if needed. Breakfast consisted of bread/bagel, some pastries, coffee. We had taken some instant oats with us, so that was neat for us.

Harbor is couple of blocks by walk, and we just parked our car in front of our room and walked to the harbor to catch our day-long cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a nice motel in Seward though little pricey (so is pretty much all places in Seward). The staff was friendly and let me park my car even after I checked out (and went on a day long boat tour). The hotel was very clean and neat though a bit small. The room looked much nicer inside than from outside.
The continental breakfast was good and sufficient (I like that they have yogurts). Within reasonable walking distance to the harbor and restaurants. Seward is a very beautiful town with mountains on 2 sides and the green color bay water on one side. I had some views of mountain and bay from my room.
Overall I'm satisfied with the stay and probably stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyHighTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us a sack breakfast because we were leaving early for a fishing trip. The views were amazing: water in one direction and mountains in the other. The biggest hit for us was the rooftop patio and grill. It was a nice place to sit and visit at the end of the day. We were able to grill the halibut we caught that day, yumm! I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff was great. Not exactly what I thought it would be as far as the view. But the hotel was very clean and they included breakfast. They also provided a playpen for my daughter (2) to sleep in which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew-of-ten-sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This place was not fancy, but the rooms were comfortable and the staff very helpful. I would stay here again. It was close to the harbor about 1/2 mile & downtown was about a mile, you could walk or take the free shuttle. This place met our needs - thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Motel is nice, the manager kind and helpful. The room (2 queens) is clean and nice, although not very spacious, including fridge, microwave, etc. There is a cold breakfast, too.
WiFi was weak in the part of the Motel where we were; the manager said this in advance and apologized, they are supposed to fix it.
For the prices in AK and Seward, the 139$ we paid (AAA rate) are reasonable to good value for what we got. We checked and did not find any better in Seward.

(If you’ve found this review helpful, you can let me and others know it by clicking the green Yes below)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Alaskan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Alaskan Inn

Address: 911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphy's Alaskan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Motel is located within a short walk to the Seward boat harbor. Offering great value for our customers. Our rooms all have queen beds, coffee makers, microwaves & refrigerators. Half of our rooms offer a spectacular view of Resurrection Bay, some with balconies. We also offer a Gas Barbeque Grill for our guests and a freezer for your fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Murphy's Alaskan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Alaskan Hotel Seward
Murphys Hotel Seward
Murphy's Alaskan Inn Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing