We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Touch, from meals to room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soo's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape cod
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Personal Touch, from meals to room”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

stayed 3 nights and found Soo to be exceptionally warm and welcoming. Her breakfasts were first class; fresh fruit, homemade breads, great omelets and a variety of meats. Goes out of her way to please. Rooms were clean and complete. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our one night stay. Soo is very welcoming and a great cook. Her house is right in town so very convenient. We slept well and had a breakfast of eggs, ham, strawberries, juice, coffee, tea and homemade bread with homemade jam. We didn't have room for the homemade coffee cake, so she sent it with us. Her home was designed as a bed and breakfast so you don't feel like you are intruding on her space. The room was spacious. The house is a mix of oriental minimalism, homey comforts and Alaskan decor.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and Soo took care of us like family. We stayed in a room on the ground floor and had a private bathroom. The house is designed by Soo's son and the architecture is very impressive. Some of the paintings in the house are very beautiful and we were amazed to know that those are Soo's paintings. Soo's story is very inspiring and she has worked really hard for decades to have such a wonderful place and a successful business. I highly recommend the B&B for it's cleanliness, service, architecture and above all the hospitality.
Soo, we enjoyed staying at your place and talking to you. Wish you the very best!!! - Kasturi & Shashi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Soo's place at Seward for 1 night after our day cruise. She was kind enough to pick us up from the small boat harbour. The B&B is not far but midway between the harbour and the second hub in the city - the "downtown". The house is a pretty 2-storied cottage - designed by Soo's architect son, we were told. You have to leave your shoes at the door - helps keep the place clean and tidy. And the rooms dont have keys - which wasnt an issue given Soo was around all the time and the place looked very safe.

The room we stayed in was small, but had an attached bathroom and was all we would have asked for at that price point and for 1 night.

Breakfast next morning was a good spread of fruits, pancake, eggs, sausages and an excellent cake.

All in all, a very good experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilanshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I had to cancel my original B & B reservation and was unable to rebook there, but the proprietor suggested Soo's and I was able to get a room. I spoke directly with Soo over the phone from Talkeetna. Her place is easy to find just off the main drag in Seward. It is a very new and modern house, built to be a B & B, and with plenty of parking. Every room has its own bathroom. She was overflowing at the time and several guys were staying in her loft too. I'm not sure what bathroom they used. Soo has lived in Seward for almost 20 years, she knows a lot about the town, and she can get you discounts on some of the local activities, such as the boat tours. The place is super clean and she puts out a good spread every morning for breakfast and will offer to pack you a lunch if you are going kayaking or on a tour. She loves to bake so every morning she'll offer something new: I lucked out with strawberry rhubarb pie and homemade bread. There is no free parking down by the main strip on the wharf, so leave your car here and walk. It's only ten minutes. She will make you feel welcome. My original B & B was only going to be $85; I paid Soo $274 for two nights, which I thought was high, but I did have my own private, very nice bathroom, a very nice view, a comfortable bed, and a small TV which I never turned on. She prefers that you write her a check because of the percentage charged for credit cards. I highly recommend Soo's B & B.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking the street, but it was quiet. I left the window open and was not bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we stayed in bedroom 4 on the ground floor of the BnB. We found Soo to be a wonderful hostess, friendly and helpful with suggestions on activities to do and places to eat around town. She had friends at certain boat companies and by mentioning her name, one may receive discounts for the whale-watching boat tours. We caught the park connection motorcoach from Denali and Soo was kind enough to provide us with a free pickup at the Seward small boat terminal. At the end of our stay, she also drove us to the cruise ship terminal. The BnB was within walking distance to the Mt Marathon trail and both ends of town; closer to the north end. It was a small town though, you can walk anywhere. A cooked breakfast was included: scrambled eggs, meat loaf, toast, and delicious rhubard cake. Very lovely lady, she made us felt welcome. recommended.

Room Tip: Eat at Terry's Fish and Chips. Do not eat at Peking's chinese restaurant (too salty).
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Had a very nice stay at Soo's in June 2012. We were a group of five. The rooms were clean and comfy and the house is in a quiet setting back off the main road. It's a beautiful home. Soo made great breakfasts for us - eggs with sausage, bagels etc, pancakes the next. Tea, coffee, juice as well. Soo was very kind and helpful. She gave us discount cards for some things we were planning to do in and around town and offered suggestions for additional activities and how best to fit them in our schedule. On the final day she sent us off with pot stickers for the long drive back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soo's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soo's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Soo's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 810 Second Avenue, P.O. Box 2415, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Soo's Bed & Breakfast Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing