We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous”
Review of Marina Restaurant - CLOSED

Marina Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have eaten at the Marina, several times, during my visits over 10 years. This recent trip, had food not of the prior quality I expected. I again, ordered the halibut. It is a very nice option they offered the "lunch" menu at dinner, but the fish was dry and frying oil a "heavy" flavor. My nephew got the Rock fish which he said was "ok". The place was very busy when we arrived, with only 2 servers that I noticed. We were not acknowledged, so I grabbed a menu and seated ourselves. :) No big deal in Alaska. :)

We had a gentleman wait staff, (from Texas?) who provided excellent meal service, answered questions about the food, attentive to the table, filling water glasses numerous times etc.

I hope this was a fluke on the quality, as the prices are reasonable. But not sure if I will return, as sometimes those "reasonable" prices, come at a quality cost.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not quite ready for prime time”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We tried to have dinner here one night. They confused the orders and we told they were out of all most everything, there was not soup or salad and half the items on the menu were not available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We walked in and waited for a table. One of the servers asked if we wanted a table. As I replied she walked off to take an order at one of the tables & left us standing there. We saw a vacated table still covered with dirty dishes and sat down. There were 2 servers for about 5 tables and they seemed totally overwhelmed. The one guy kept apologizing to the table next to us saying "I wish I could do more for you" but never made an effort to clear our dirty table or take an order or even acknowledge we were there. After 15 minutes of waiting we decided if the service was any indicator of what was to come we'd better get the heck out of there. We walked across the street to Terry's fish & chips and had a great meal with excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank Bill V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service and the Price was Right”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped in for a bite and was nicely surprised with decent food, very friendly staff and a check that was very reasonable for this area. I had the halibit fish & chips. Definately worth the stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vrqqqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and Homey”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I have visited Alaska twice now, once in 2011 and again in 2013. Both times we have stopped and eaten at this restaurant and it has become one of our favorites. The food is very good and we always split the halibut, rockfish, and shrimp amongst the three of us. It does seem like a hole in the wall place but is good and usually quick serviced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing