We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality with an unforgettable view”
Review of Alaska Paddle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Paddle Inn
Ranked #4 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
1 review
“Quality with an unforgettable view”
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I stayed in the high tide room and was amazed by the quality of the carpentry, cozy decor, and incredible view. Alan and Alison built their B&B and the thought and care that went into it is apparent from the detailed railings outside to the local art on the walls. Ouside there are kayaks for flower beds and a hand built kayak on display. Inside there is a fireplace to read next to or enjoy the view and there are waffles to make in the morning! I enjoyed my stay immensely and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay a minutes walk to the beach with the best view in town!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaMikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
115
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My wife, daughter, and I enjoyed the scenery and comfort of the High Tide Room for our second time recently, and we already look forward to our next visit. We are always impressed by the workmanship and forethought that went into the Alaska Paddle Inn. It really shows that the builder(s) was both an artist and a craftsman, by all the unique features and accents that are part of the building (docking cleat used for a door handle, orca/sea kayaker mural on the exterior, shower tile work, etc.). Allen and Alison are such genuine Alaskans; and I mean that in a good way. They seem to really know the ins and outs of the area, and pointed us in the right direction when looking for something fun to do during our off-season visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulriderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We had been to Seward before and loved the view from the point but to stay there was incredible. We used our stay as a fill in prior to a week stay on the Kenai River. We only wish we had more days to stay with our most tremendous hosts. The two of them have done such a beautiful job putting this place together. The view of Resurrection Bay is incredible but the beauty carries over to the inside. It was meticulously clean extremely impressive with the construction. There is no question that we will go back and I cannot wait!! I stayed in the High Tide room and I could sit up in bed and gaze out over Resurrection Bay from my extremely comfortable king size bed. It was very peaceful and beautiful!
Allen and Alison have a tremendous affinity for the area and its culture.

  • Liked — The view of Resurrection Bay is incredible but the beauty carries over to the inside
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuck68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles, MN
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2008

My overnight stay at the Paddle Inn was excellent! The comfort is most relaxing and the view is everything you expect from Alaska. The host and hostess really allow you to enjoy the experience in the way that works best for you. The Alaska Paddle Inn is also a great location for access to sea kayaking fun.

  • Liked — the surroundings
  • Disliked — i live too far away to stay more often
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKayStCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

The Paddle Inn is located on Lowell Point on Resurrection Bay, since it is away from downtown Seward you would defiantly need a car to stay here, however, it offers a great view and easy access to the beach where we saw otters and caught a water taxi.

My family and I rented both the upstairs and downstairs cabins. The Paddle Inn is beautifully built and decorated and is immaculately clean. You can certainly tell that a lot of love went into building this place. The owners built the cabins themselves and the details and care that went into them are unbelievable, Alan, the owner has even built a replica of a Native American traditional kayak that hangs on the outside of the cabins. Both Alison and Alan, who live next door, have displayed their artistic talents throughout the cabin. There are architectural touches such as arched ceilings and curved doors, fireplaces, slate
showers, sconces, etc that make the cabins very cozy. Alison has a real eye for decorating, she has chosen artwork such as beautiful silk paintings done by an Alaskan artist (if you like them, they are for sale), beds are dressed with high quality sheets and down comforters. There are great details that follow the name of the cabin like using a paddle as the towel racks in the bathroom.

Breakfast goods are provided and include waffle maker, mix, juice, milk, cereal, oatmeal. There is a fridge and microwave in each cabin.

The owners are very familiar with Seward and the tour operators. They make themselves available for any questions and their suggestions are extremely helpful. They defiantly want you to get the most out of your time in Seward.

  • Liked — The coziness and cleanliness of the cabins
  • Disliked — Not a lot of room to store luggage in the Low Tide Room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kdturne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Our stay at the Alaska Paddle Inn was perfect. We stayed in the "High Tide" room. The room was spotless- so very comfortable for sleeping and just relaxing. The view out the window is incredible.
We couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Liked — Decor, view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 11190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We were fortunate enough to be able to return to Alaska again this year to do some more sightseeing, fishing, hiking, etc. We enjoyed staying at the Alaska Paddle Inn so much last time that we decided to stay there again this year. We were so impressed with the new building, and all of the work that obviously went into it to make it special. We stayed in the High Tide Room, and loved sitting in the comfortable chairs in the sitting area, looking out across the bay, and watching the eagles and the whales. I just can't say enough good things about it, and hope that anyone who plans on a trip to Seward will include a stay at the Alaska Paddle Inn.

  • Liked — The beautiful accomodations, the view & beach access, & the owner's friendliness & helpfulness
  • Disliked — We liked everything!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaFunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
5.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
7.6 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Paddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Paddle Inn

Property: Alaska Paddle Inn
Address: 13745 Beach Drive Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Alaska Paddle Hotel Seward
Alaska Paddle Inn Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing