We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request the "High Tide Room"!!”
Review of Alaska Paddle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Paddle Inn
Ranked #3 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Alan and Allison have truly created a jewel with their new bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful and the view from the "High Tide Room" of Resurrection Bay was magnificent!! We would highly recommend it for anyone going to Seward.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodysfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

I had high expectations after reading reviews and seeing pictures on the website. We stayed in Low Tide room (downstairs). There is a room with microwave and small frig and futon sofa, large-sized shower in the bathroom, and comfortable bedroom. Everything was clean and beautiful - artwork on the walls,books on the shelf, and the bath towels were large and very soft. The front window had a nice view of Resurrection Bay. The High Tide room was upstairs and we did hear the people go up and down the stairs and walk around.

However, I would not classify this as a B&B, but more of a luxury cabin. The owners did not provide breakfast - they provided tea, coffee, instant oatmeal, a toaster (but no bread or muffins), dry cereal and "waffle mix". There was no fruit, and breakfast was in your own room.

The owners had left a note, they were gone for the weekend sea kayaking and left a phone number if we needed anything. I called for an extra towel, which the person came by with later that evening. The first morning, we decided to go out to eat breakfast. The second morning, we were going to make waffles, but the waffle mix said to add oil and there wasn't any oil provided. Since it had taken a few hours to get the extra towel, we didn't think we would be able to wait for the person to bring the oil to add to the waffle mix, so we ended up going out for breakfast again.

One of the reasons we like to stay at B&B is to meet other people staying there at breakfast, talk with the owners and get recommendations for places to go or places to eat and a little about the local area. They provided menus from some local restaurants and there weren't any hosts around for the weekend. This was a disappointment.

At $189/night ($10 discount per night for two nights), this seemed to us a bit on the pricey side. Unless you absolutely want to be by the water and are doing water activities like sea kayaking yourself, I went away wishing we had stayed at a less expensive real B&B closer to Exit Glacier park of town rather than staying in Lowell Point. Driving out the road to Lowell Point wasn't too inconvenient, but once you were there, it wasn't close to anything besides the water.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

A fellow tripadvisor had written to me about the AK Paddle in last summer, so I looked into it.I found lots of great reviews, so I thought I'd give it a try.
You have to drive on a gravel road to get there. Along the way there are great opportunities to see otters and even seals. We stayed in the Low Tide room which had a nice view, the bed was in another room, and the bathroom was large with a wonderful walk in shower which was so needed after kayaking for 4 days. We especially appreciated the fresh milk and oj in the fridge along with the cereal and ingredients ts to make your own waffles on the waffle maker, That was a nice treat.
The owners were very nice and had left a little note on a board for us next to our room . The cabin not only had great details and workmanship inside, but outside as well.
We loved the fact that it was a little out of town(you should really have a vehicle if you are staying here)and enjoyed peace and quiet there was out we had and enjoyed the beach right in fron of the inn.
We would definitely would go back. It was a great place to relax .

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Beautiful....a couple of miles down a gravel road from the quaint town of Seward. Resurrection Bay is your front yard. Kayak rentals are a short walk away. The Low Tide Room was perfect for us and our youngster. He had a great time with the friendly dogs, fishing, hiking, and walking along the bay. No TV for four days, no problem.

The room is very comfortable and Alan and Alison were very accomodating. Every place they recommended was spot on, from restaurants to excursions. We will definitely stay here every time we are in Seward.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This is a wonderful and well equiped bed and breakfast with privacy. We stayed in the up stairs room and had a beautiful view of the the bay. The hosts are very kind people who live next door. They also operate a massage facility out of their home and I received a very nice and relaxing massage. We will be back and highly recommend the Alaska Paddle Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mart0146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The Paddle Inn is perfectly located away from the bustle of Seward. The scenery is amazing, with the best beach walking and tide pooling right out your front door. The room was beautiful, from the woodwork and A-frame Alaskan feel to the special decor - local artwork and a fantastic library. Did I mention the stone shower? It is worth a visit just to take a rinse in that - then dry off next to the fireplace with a glass of wine. sigh. I wish I was there now.....Alan and Allison were excellent guides - take their advice as far as things to do in town, or boat trips to take - they know their stuff!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank iharrald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Stayed in High Tide room for 4 days, enjoyed hiking on the beach and nearby Cain's Head Trail. Also drove to and hiked Exit Glacier and Lost Lake Trails. Enjoyed peaceful out of town location - 3 miles from Seward. Good continental breakfast. Full refrigerator and microwave, toaster and bar bq grill for use. We spent hours in the comfortable chairs in the living room watching the hummingbirds, eagles, otters, etc out on the bay through the large picture windows. Good selection of books on Alaska. Charming, helpful host.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riveaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
5.7 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Paddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Paddle Inn

Address: 13745 Beach Drive Lowell Point, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Alaska Paddle Hotel Seward
Alaska Paddle Inn Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing