We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seward Military Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This place is a military resort for veterans, active duty, and retirees. We stay here at least once a year to get in some fishing during the summer. It is a great place with a free area to clean and process your fish if you are staying at the resort. They have a restaurant, bar, campground, and day use areas on site. They provide and/or coordinate guided trips to do almost anything in the Kenai peninsula at discounted rates. Best rates in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allg00dnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I am part of a group, mostly retired veterans, who come to Seward Resort for a week of fishing and fun and we have been coming for the past 12 years. There are 14 in our group, all adults and fishermen, and many of the group have attended this event for several years. We have not had a difficulty getting a group of 14. That is due to the fact that the resort makes every effort to make it an enjoyable experience. The facilities for preparing the catch to take home are outstanding and are exceptionally maintained. The outdoor cooking facility is used every night to cook our meals for the day. The housing is great, service excellent, especially the front desk personnel..
I can understand why reservations are more difficult to obtain as the word has gotten out that this is the place to go!

Room Tip: I have occupied a number of motel rooms and townhouses- non are better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

For the price, I expected better. We stayed here toward the end of our trip and based upon our experience in Alaska, this hotel did not meet the standards we had experienced. We stayed in one of the motel rooms and the first thing I noticed was how dated it was. The mattresses were cover in plastic and then sheets and blankets, making for an interesting sound every time you sat or laid on them. The bathroom counter top was a laminate, the bathroom floor was linoleum and the carpeting was indoor/outdoor with the rubber trim. The room was large and we did enjoy the extra counter space in the bathroom area. My husband did not enjoy the cold shower...the hot water ran out right in the middle of his shower. When I called the front desk they mentioned this sometimes happens this time of day (7:30 AM). We had to wait 30 minutes for me to shower.

We did book a great tour through the hotel ... Kenai Fjords Tours/The Captain's Choice Boat Tour to see the Kenai Fjords National Park. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot review the Bar and Grill.

We would pay a little more to stay in a nicer place on the next trip to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Wonderful staff, fantastic facilities & great prices. Townhouses, rooms, yurts, camping, RV spaces, fish house, meals and tour planning. A great place for your Alaskan base of operations. Take advantage of all this great resort!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekristick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were here for 8 nights in a townhouse. It would have been nice to have additional seating in the living room, as well as a way to close off the loft bedroom, but overall it was great!
Friendly, professional staff. Wonderful military discounts on area attractions that cruising people don't get to see!
One caution, stay away from the Kenai Cache Outfitters fishing guides. Unprofessional guides, need to start at 3:00AM, and excessive driving (45 min) to the place where they launch their boat - and you have to do the driving!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, great price for the area. Very clean complex. Great prices at the bar and grill compared to in town. Was impressed with the fish house! All in all great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Seward Military Resort is great. Price is perfect. Rooms are fair. Fish house and fishing tours are awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Military Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Military Resort

Address: 2305 Dimond Blvd., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
US Army MWR - Seward Military Resort is open to all branches of service, active or retired and DoD civilians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seward Military Hotel Seward
Seward Military Resort Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing