We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay at a good price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seward Military Resort
Certificate of Excellence
AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at a good price”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The facilities are well kept and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Price is excellent compared to Alaska standards.
The resort caters especially to fishermen, arranging fishing trips and providing a large separate building to clean your own fish on return.
Normally, A/C is not required, but it was unseasonably warm when we were there in July, and we had to keep the windows open, and occasionally the door. The have motel rooms, and townhouses. They also offer yurts!
Food choices are limited as there is no restaurant, just a snack bar. It does have buffalo burgers, and custom grilled steaks on the patio. It also serves draft beer. You'll go into town for anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    26
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the the summer get away for that family that loves the outdoors. From hiking up to Exit Glacier to deep sea fishing, there is a so much to see and do. We stayed in a townhouse that sleeps 6. The resort offers a great place to filet your daily catch and plenty of freezer space to keep them cold till check out. The resort is fairly priced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good rooms, location, great staff and this has a real Alaska feel and look. Everything
Well arranged and provided. Anyone giving this facility a bad review, has obviously
Never been in combat or assigned to an army base with not so nice quarters. God
Bless the Army for this gem among the rocks of military life. I am retired. Highly
Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel one night and townhouse 2 nights. What a great location and community feel. Beautiful area where folks can gather in Adirondack chairs and share their days' adventures. Fun fish house to watch the fishermen clean their fish. Great little playground for the kids and a gift shop in the office. Wifi was pretty good depending on which room you were in. Laundry was quick and receptionists/office workers were terrific. A well-oiled machine! We only wish we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We booked one of the motel rooms and very extremely pleased. The Seward Military resort was located nestled in the trees off the beaten path, a great location. my husband and daughter took a halibut fishing charter out from the resort and turned up very lucky. We will be back, loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed here one night in June 2013. Our party reserved two rooms. This place is clean and fairly new. The grounds are maintained and look nice. It isn't right on the water, but very convenient to get to town. It is a quiet area just off the main road. There are beautiful mountains right behind the resort. We only stayed one night and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The room had two queen beds, a small table, a flat screen mounted TV, and fridge. The toilet and shower are separate from the sink which is nice. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast lunch and dinner on site as well as a bar. The only criticism I have of this resort is that there is no AC. June was a really hot month this year (love it!) but it was uncomfortably warm in there. We booked our rooms and kenai tours at a discount through this resort! They have specials every few months.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slewis1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As military retirees, my wife and I were able to stay in this charming, quiet resort run by the US Army while we visited Seward. In addition to the charming cabin with bath and kitchenette, the facility was able to provide us with discounted tickets for the Kenai boat trip with Major Marine, the Alaska SeaLife Center and Real Alaska Tour at the Seavey's Ididaride Center. For those military active duty and retirees, this is a wonderful gem that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchConnection46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
15.6 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Military Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Military Resort

Property: Seward Military Resort
Address: 2305 Dimond Blvd., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
US Army MWR - Seward Resort is open to all branches of service, active or retired and DoD civilians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seward Military Hotel Seward
Seward Military Resort Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing