We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Armed Forces Fishing Camp of Alaska”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seward Military Resort
Ranked #10 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Armed Forces Fishing Camp of Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our First Time in Seward and we knew it was the place to fish. The reservations staff booked our lodging and all our activities with ease. The Facility is well maintained and comfortable. We stayed in a Townhouse which has a small kitchen. That was very useful because food is expensive in Steward so, the nearby Safeway quickly became our choice for provisions. When we settled in, we were amazed at the Proficiency of the fishing set up . You only need to show up and dress warm. They will set you up with a Fishing Charter, bus you to the Harbor and bring you back with your fish to the Fish House on site. The Crew is Outstanding; they help with everything needed to get the fish ready to clean , store and ship. We are already planning the next trip. I wouldn't call this place a Resort by image of "Resort" Atmosphere. I would call it "The Armed Forces Fishing Camp of Alaska" If you come here and don't fish, you would be missing out on the Primary Experience of Steward Alaska

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    26
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Worked there for 4 months in summer of 2012. Would recommend to anyone who is eligible (that is anyone with military ID). Seward is a beautiful town and the surrounding area is incredible! There is a great church in the outskirts of town as well (Resurrection Bay Baptist Church). Exit Glacier and the Harding Icefield are just a short drive away. The climb up to the Icefield is well worth it! The Resort has 4 fishing boat charters and the crews are awesome! I went out 5 times and caught my limit on Halibut each time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillDelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here with an RV. The mobile home spots are a little close to each other, but the camp itself is pleasant and well-kept. (The two huge fish-cleaning houses are a super bonus if you're into that.) Bathroom and shower facilities are plentiful and clean. The shower privacy is a little less than at most campgrounds, with individual showers but a shared changing area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

A great place to stay. We stayed two nights. Clean, nicely furnished. Good laundry facility with 5 each washers and dryers and soap available for purchase. Staff can arrange nicely discounted tours and trips for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The facilities are well kept and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Price is excellent compared to Alaska standards.
The resort caters especially to fishermen, arranging fishing trips and providing a large separate building to clean your own fish on return.
Normally, A/C is not required, but it was unseasonably warm when we were there in July, and we had to keep the windows open, and occasionally the door. The have motel rooms, and townhouses. They also offer yurts!
Food choices are limited as there is no restaurant, just a snack bar. It does have buffalo burgers, and custom grilled steaks on the patio. It also serves draft beer. You'll go into town for anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the the summer get away for that family that loves the outdoors. From hiking up to Exit Glacier to deep sea fishing, there is a so much to see and do. We stayed in a townhouse that sleeps 6. The resort offers a great place to filet your daily catch and plenty of freezer space to keep them cold till check out. The resort is fairly priced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good rooms, location, great staff and this has a real Alaska feel and look. Everything
Well arranged and provided. Anyone giving this facility a bad review, has obviously
Never been in combat or assigned to an army base with not so nice quarters. God
Bless the Army for this gem among the rocks of military life. I am retired. Highly
Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
15.6 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seward Military Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Military Resort

Property: Seward Military Resort
Address: 2305 Dimond Blvd., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
US Army MWR - Seward Resort is open to all branches of service, active or retired and DoD civilians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seward Military Hotel Seward
Seward Military Resort Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing