We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Glacier”
Review of Holgate Glacier

Holgate Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$173.63*
and up
Kenai Fjords National Park Glacier and Wildlife Cruise
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Awesome Glacier”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took the Major Marine tour to the glacier, and we were awed by the huge bluish ice formation. The loud cracking sounds made by the glacier when calving were unbelievable. It was truly magnificent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, GA
Level Contributor
337 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took a boat tour there and also did a kayak trip there. It was cold but very beautiful. I could have sat there for hours in the peace and quite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameD677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went to see this glacier as a part of our Cruise. Cruise was good. The time we spent near this glacier was like 15 minutes but we did not see any big ice calving, we see some tiny glacier/ice calving and that was fun to watch, actually keeping an eye and searching for ice calving was fun as well. If you have never seen the Glacier before, this is a nice one. Blue ice and some calving and lots of ice pieces on the water.
Overall, good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SrsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Claving Glacier”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Took a trip to the Holgate Glacier and was pleasantly surprised at its beauty. It immediately calved as we were approaching. Saw another glacier right next to it. Otters and whales were also there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A beautiful example of mother nature at her best. We saw a couple of small calves and thoroughly enjoyed its majesty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holgate Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing