We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Holgate Glacier

Holgate Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$173.63*
and up
Kenai Fjords National Park Glacier and Wildlife Cruise
Ranked #7 of 48 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The trip to the glacier was amazing. It was the highlight of our Kenai Fjord Tour. I saw the calving of a glacier first time, it was an amazing experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pramita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much wildlife”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An amazing trip. We were supposed to have been out to the glaciers a couple of days before by kayak but the sea was too rough around the point so we delayed off to go by boat. It was well worth it and the knowledgeable captain circled and slowed in order for us to see as much wildlife as we could. Mountain goats on rocky cliff sides, orca, sea lions, puffins, a group of humpback whales and a pod of porpoises were some of the sights on the trip. Far more than we had expected to see. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
524 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nature's grandeur. This huge glacier still creaks and snaps as it creeps toward the water. We did see a small piece "calve" off and become an iceberg.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love at 1st sight”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The glaciers surprised us and Holgate was the 1st one we saw calving so like all firsts, it's special to us. Use Major Marine tours to get there. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank azhottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We took a cruise and got close to this breathtaking glacier. It is aboslutely huge and we were lucky enough to see it calving at different parts. The blue colour of it was just beautiful. Everyone just stood there in awe of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holgate Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing