We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calving, Harbor Seals and Floating Icebergs”
Review of Holgate Glacier

Holgate Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$173.63*
and up
Anchorage Shore Excursion to Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise
More Info
US$173.63*
and up
Kenai Fjords National Park Glacier and Wildlife Cruise
More Info
US$525.00*
and up
1 Hour Flying Expedition
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Calving, Harbor Seals and Floating Icebergs”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

From the time our 7.5 hr cruise with Major Marine Tours arrived at Holgate Glacier, one of the many stops on the cruise, all of the guests were entranced by the size and beauty of this magnificent glacier. One huge section of the glacier fell into the water right in front of eyes with an explosive sound right before the ice fell into the sea (called glacier calving). On one side of the glacier, a city of harbor seals rested on the floating ice in the water, without a care in the world. We also saw many Northern Sea Otters hanging around.

The glacier "breath" was cold, even on a sunny day, so bring hats and gloves while you watch the glacier in action. Holgate Glacier is one of most stunning sites on earth, and I was thankful for the privilege to watch it in action for 15 minutes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    26
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cool glacier”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Viewed this glacier from the water. Huge, lots of deep blue ice. Must see! The captain of our boat took his time to cover the front face of the glacier. He wanted to us to see a large block of ice fall in the water, but we finally saw a lot of small pieces make it. Wow!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visited on Kenai Fjords Tour”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was the highlight of the tour. It was breathtaking to watch the glacier calving into the ocean and to hear the sounds that created.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We saw the glacier on a cloudy day and it was the most beautiful aqua color you can imagine. Our tour boat stopped in front of the glacier for lunch and it was making the most amazing noises. Don't miss this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were on a Kenai Fjords tour in the first week of July. Good weather - which means cloudy, misty and cool. Beautiful, long stop at Holgate Glacier, to quietly experience the natural beauty of a mass of ice: this included the groaning of the glacier and the thunderous crash of ice into the ocean. It was an incredible experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holgate Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Holgate Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing