We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sourdough Sunrise B & B
Ranked #13 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week in Alaska and stayed a several B&B's. I reserved this property out of convenience to our itinerary, but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The photos on the Sourdough Sunrise web page don't begin to describe the beautiful woodwork on the inside and out of this cabin. It's a real treasure. Our room was clean and comfortable. There was a nice common area equipped with supplies and a sun deck to sip a glass of wine from in the evening. Sue and Richard are the "real" deal - homesteaders who can tell you lots of amazing things about life in Alaska. Sue's sourdough pancakes in the morning are super delicious too! Sourdough Sunrise is the only place I'd ever stay in the Seward area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We really enjoyed stay of four nights at the Sourdough Sunrise B&B. Richard and Sue are wonderful and knowledgeable hosts who gave us information about the Seward area, and about Alaska in general. They both have some really entertaining stories about life in Alaska!
We did a lot of hiking while in Seward, Sue gave us many recommendations for scenic and rigorous hikes. We were glad for the hearty and delicious breakfasts every morning: sourdough pancakes, eggs, fruit, and bacon. Richard is a woodworker and the house shows his love of fine craftsmanship and beautiful decoration.The rooms were immaculate and the beds comfortable (We stayed in room #1 and our friends stayed in room #3). The house is set on 6 acres, in very peaceful and relaxing surroundings - perfect for a good night's rest!.
There are a couple of very good restaurants nearby for dinner, but you will need your own transport to go into town.
We highly recommend staying at the Sourdough Sunrise. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable experience!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Enjoyed one night stay in room 3. Plenty of room for 3 people and very clean. Beautiful exterior design and easy to find. Hosts live in home behind B&B so we didn't see them until breakfast...which is fine with us as we didn't require any assistance. Wonderful sourdough pancakes and host was a pleasure to speak with. Definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Reba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The B&B is immaculate, the hosts gracious, and the breakfast delicious. We stayed in room 3 (2 adults, 3 teens) and felt right at home with Richard and Sue. Richard's craftsmanship is amazing and we enjoyed the personal touches on the B&B. He also make delicious sourdough pancakes which we all enjoyed. Upstairs where the rooms are, there is a small common area with a mini-fridge and some books of the local area (we liked the hiking books). Both Richard and Sue took time to chat with us over breakfast and answer our questions about Alaska. We'd definitely stay here again- highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The couple that built this BNB has the most excellent every-man sensibility that makes them down-to-earth, approachable, understanding and enjoyable to spend time with whether on the phone inquiring about availability and pricing, asking for directions, or chatting over breakfast. The facility is exquisitely managed with clear signage and driveway, clean porch rails, spotless floors and windows, and crisp linens. The room (#3) was very spacious and had room for our bags and for my toddler to run around in, plenty of outlets for all our phones, a community fridge in the landing area for us to store my kiddo's chocolate milk...really there was nothing that we could have needed that wouldn't have been available to us. We didn't end up having to use the microwave, kettle, landing, or porch seating but it was there if we'd wanted to! Bed was comfy, pancakes were ridiculously good, bacon was thick and crispy, and the fruit was fresh. The perfect experience for our daycation down to Seward.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our breakfasts with Richard and Sue. Their local insight and stories were a great way to start our day. Room was excellent for our family of four (room 3). Very close to Exit glacier and Fjords tours. Pancakes were great and we now have a new way to cook bacon. You have to go visit if you want to know the secret! Thanks Richard and Sue. We'll be back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank MisterDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a wonderful time we had at the Sourdough Sunrise B & B! It is rural Alaska at its finest. The guest house was beautiful, hand built with so much care. Our room had two queen beds with a roll-away and we all slept great in the peaceful surroundings. Richard made a wonderful breakfast with the best sourdough pancakes. Richard and Sue shared many wonderful stories about their lives in rural Alaska. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.2 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Sunshine House Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
3.5 mi away
A Swan Nest Inn
A Swan Nest Inn
#33 of 46 in Seward
138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brass Lantern B & B
Brass Lantern B & B
#20 of 46 in Seward
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sourdough Sunrise B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sunrise B & B

Address: 11837 Old Exit Glacier Rd, PO Box 1813, Seward, AK 99664-9700
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, custom, one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast on 6 1/2 acres of wooded seclusion, just minutes from downtown Seward. Clean modern rooms with private baths and deluxe queen-size beds. World famous sourdough pancake breakfast served every morning along with great stories about 35 years of living in the Great Land. Come join us for some true Alaskan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourdough Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sourdough Sunrise Hotel Seward
Sourdough Sunrise B & B Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing