We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cabin out of the town hub-bub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allens Alaska Adventures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allens Alaska Adventures
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cabin out of the town hub-bub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Perfectly comfortable for a parents and two teenagers. Very quiet and the Allens are very welcoming. We were too exhausted to take advantage of the fire when we got back in on our second evening, but it was a very nice gesture. We would definitely stay here again. It's close enough to town and activities, but far enough to feel like you are enjoying the nature in Alaska.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was looking for a spacious cabin surrounded by nature close to Seward but not in town, no tourist hoards, with nice proprietors. Joe and Brenda's cabin was perfect. Just a few miles north of town (you will need a car), it is the sole rental on their private property behind their home, and surrounded by forest. The cabin was very spacious, with one of the best beds in which I've slept in years. There is a small fridge, toaster oven, microwave, and various utensils. Outside there is a gas grill.
Joe, Brenda, and son TJ were wonderful hosts - we had a lovely evening with them around the fire pit. Please ask about local activities - they have lived many years in the area, and are a wealth of information.
For hiking, our main objective, it was nice to find one of the best trails in the Kenai nearby. The Lost Lake trailhead is a 10 min walk from the cabin - or drive.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cnpeters747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pine hill, nj
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 4 th stay at Joe's cabin. There's nothing like pulling up in your car, being greeted by the dogs ( and joe and Tj) opening up the cabin door and knowing you are home. Since our last stay Joe has made some improvements to the cabin such as a nice deck for the cabin and a nice comfy bed. There's a little kitchenette area with some supplies for Bbq'ing, a microwave, and mini fridge. Joe and his son Tj are always warm and welcoming, making us wonder why it took us 4 years to come back and see him. They are just good people!!! He is very accommodating and since he us a local he can definitely give some good advise on what go see and do. His cabin is warm, clean, and everything you are looking for in an Alaskan cabin( the feel of rustic with amenities of modern). It won't be four years until we stay here again!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

When my son and I decided to take our first trip to Alaska we soon discovered we were going late in the season and a few things (like trains, most salmon fishing & some glacier cruises) would be closed. But late September was the only time my son could get off work. Then we read on this site about Joe Allen and how he takes personal interest in his guests to make sure their trip is memorable. Boy, are we glad we found him! From our warm greeting from Joe, his son and two playful dogs to a personal tour of hidden fishing spots and local hikes to a campfire at the end of our stay - the Allen family treated us like Alaskan gold. (he even showed us some of that!). The clean & cozy cabin was perfect and they gave "gave us our space" to do whatever we wanted. Joe and his son T.J. epitomize Alaskan friendliness and we can't recommend this property high enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreate444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed two nights with the Allens and took the glacier day tour from Seward. We wanted a place not too far from the city and this was the closest well-reputed. Upon arrival, TJ was waiting for us and had lit the fire pit, which was perfect for our plan to sit out and enjoy. The cabin is very comfortable and well equipped: one big bed and a futon (with warm bedclothes), toaster oven, coffee maker, mini fridge, satellite tv and a gas grill outside. Plenty of books and cool memorabilia. The second night we came back exhausted from the tour and bar hopping, it was pretty late, but TJ had lit the fire pit again and offered his help. We made burgers, sat by the pit, ate, drank and enjoyed. The whole Seward experience was fantastic and our stay here will definitely be memorable. What great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppi_jlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived at Joe's cabin exhausted from 10 days traveling around Alaska and found we had picked a perfect place to relax and rest. Joe and TJ were always available to help with how best to see the area but never at the expense of our privacy. We were offered gold pans, fishing equipment and ongoing tips on enjoying the area. We loved having Scamp and Salty (the Allan family dogs) around to pet. The cabin was clean with lots of thoughtful ammenities and we found the flannel sheets perfect during the cool nights.
The Allan family are excellent hosts and we will be back, sooner the better.

Jim and Vicki S
Timbo, Arkansas

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We found this place by referral from another proprietor who was booked up and boy are we glad we did! Joe Allen rents this cabin which sits tucked into the trees behind his home. To start Joe and his son TJ are just good people. They want you to enjoy your stay and it shows. They're there if you need them but also give you your space. Easy to talk with and full of life, they are definitely part of what makes this place special.

The cabin itself is a really sweet set-up. It's very roomy. There were four of us, two adults and two kids and we fit comfortably on the bed and futon. Even with the futon open there was lots of room to walk around. There's a small area towards the back of the cabin that is sort of a staging area for light meals. Toaster, toaster oven, microwave, coffee pot, silverware and supplies. Perfect for breakfast and lunch, and there is a grill outside if you want to cook up something more substantial. (We didn't bother since we were addicted to the Salmon Bake...see review) There's also a nice area in the front of the cabin with a table and seating for at least four. The bathroom is perfect, with a small but powerful shower and plenty of hot water. And the bed was amazingly comfortable. We usually get going early as we are active travelers, but it was extra hard pulling ourselves out of bed at this place. Listening to the rain fall on the roof tucked in under the comforters was very soothing.

The cabin is located roughly five miles outside of town just down the street from the Lost Lake trailhead (great hike...regularly ranked amongst the best in the state.) The ride into town is easy, and it was nice to be five minutes from town and still tucked into the rainforest. Exit Glacier is also close by with the turnoff about half way between the cabin and downtown Seward. All in all a great find! And the price was reasonable too. Only wish we had more than three nights to stay.

As an aside, Joe told us he was considering starting a Zodiak adventure into one of the fjords. We can only hope these are going by the time we visit next! I think a day on the water with Joe Allen would be a great way to see Resurrection Bay and the Kenai Fjords NP!!!

If you are heading to Seward definitely consider Joe's cabin as your place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
17.8 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
5.7 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allens Alaska Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allens Alaska Adventures

Property: Allens Alaska Adventures
Address: Blk 1, Lot 4 Lost Lake Sub., Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Allens Alaska Adventures we offer our guests a quality experience. Our log cabin is a roomy 16X24 and will sleep up to 4 people comfortably with all the needed amenities. You will be charmed by the wilderness decor and amazed at the peace and quiet. We border the 5.5 million acre Chugach National Forest. A short walk away is the Lost Lake Trail which offers stunning views of Seward and Resurrection Bay. We are only minutes from Seward yet, remote enough to see bears in the summer and moose in the winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allens Alaska Adventures Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing