We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great location in the downtown area yet close to the ocean

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel''s charm is reflected in its restoration depicting life in Seward in its earliest years, and we give the owners kudos for their enormous energy towards keeping this theme alive. Rooms were comfortable and amenities were central. Without any hesitation, we would definitely stay here again.

Barb & Allan Bolstad
Edmonton, Alberta

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank info4u_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Off the cuff hotel with ambiance and character bar none. Forget Motel 6, Ramada or Comfort Inn, this is a throw back to hotels of yesteryear.
Food was very good AND if you happen to get lucky fishing kitchen will prepare your catch.
Well, maybe not an Orca!
Within walking distance of Sea Life Center, excellent restaurants and souvenir shops or just a casual stroll to the beach.
Going back in 2012, hope to see you there.
You owe it to yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My wife and I visited hotel Seward on our honeymoon and had a fabulous time! We stayed in one of the Alaskan view rooms. First thing you notice is the amazing view! Absolutely breath taking! The room was clean and neat, and the bed was amazing! Slept so good the entire week! ( their beds put a five start hotels bed in dallas to shame!) The service was amazing anything we needed or asked for was given with smiles and speed! The staff at Hotel Seward took great care of us and made sure we well taken care of! My wife and I can not Wait to get back!

Room Tip: Alaskan View rooms! 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimothyandLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Hotel Seward is a beautiful historic hotel with spacious and very well decorated rooms. The staff was helpful, professional, and knowledgeable and went out of the way to make my stay and my trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My best friend and her husband always go to Seward over Thanksgiving and they rave about staying at Hotel Seward. This year my husband and I joined them and I did not know what to expect. When we arrived at Hotel Seward we walked into a beautiful hotel lobby with antiques, soft lighting, and very festive holiday decorating. The decor could be described as very Alaskan and old fashioned in a Victorian sense but also very beautiful. You also felt right at home. The staff were so friendly, it was a treat. I have two toy poodles that I never board when I travel, and I was able to bring them with me. The owner has an adorable little dog as their mascot and my two poodles were able to spend some time playing with Cody. The rooms were large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. This would be a good place for a wedding and my first pick if I bring my family in from the lower 48 and want to give them the real Alaskan experience. I can hear the wows now. Also the food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

A very unique little place. I guess during the gold rush this place was a brothel!! Very quaint, not the most comfortable bed, but comfy nonetheless.

Seward itself is nice little town that has a year round population of I think 3,000. Being this is the home of the Seward Sea Life Center, quite a few folks work there. The rest of the folks, not sure, your guess is as good as mine. In speaking with one of the waitresses in a local eatery, she said once the last ship leaves on September 15th, the town basically shuts down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £36 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing