We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Northwest
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The room was large enough for 4 of us, and nicely appointed. Some rooms have a view of the bay, some don't. Staff was great, and the little restaurant attached to the hotel is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    179
    82
    34
    24
See reviews for
143
227
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have stayed at Hotel Seward many times over the last four years. It seems to get better every time. We stayed in the historic wing, a room with private bath. The room is small but very well put together. The bedspread was lovely and lots and lots of pillows! The bathroom has been upgraded since our last stay with new tub. Nothing fancy but very clean and new. I was glad there was a screen for the window as it was very warm this trip. A small fan would have made a large difference. I'm sure had we asked, they would have found one for us. It was very quiet even being the older section. I peeked in the shared bath and would have been fine staying in a euro style room had we not had our little one with us.
If you don't want a smaller room book in the new section. The deluxe new rooms are lovely. When we checked out I had too many bags which made for several trips. When I mentioned to the clerk that I felt no help had been offered she was very apologetic and made it right. I feel the owners love their hotel very much. It shows. They have been working very hard to make it the nicest place to stay in town. It's also Alaskan owned! Thank you again Hotel Seward. We will be back!
There is great Greek/Italian food at Apollo just behind the hotel. The SeaLife Center is half a block away, as is the shoreline. There is a fantastic playground just a block from the hotel.

Room Tip: The historic rooms are small but immaculately clean and comfortable. Deluxe rooms are in the new sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had a very nice quiet King room with period furnishings. Location is great - on the main street about a block from the Sea Life center. The hotel restaurant 'Gene's Place' is very good as well.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJeanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Well at first we were put off staying here but it improved as time passed. The check in took really long and the staff seemed rather stressed out checking folks in. The room was nice overall but nothing really special. They have upgraded to what I consider todays standards and the furniture is slightly nicer than the typical mid-range hotel (Hilton Garden Inn or Marriott Spring Hill type place).

The big negative was that the walls and ceilings are not too good at sound insulation, the first night we had a noisy neighbor and we could hear the folks above us walking around till late in the night. I'd ask for the top floor if I came back so no one was walking above me.

When it came time for diner we were tired and didn't feel like exploring. Normally I avoid the hotel restaurant like the plague because they are rarely good but I must say Ms Gene's restaurant was the exception! Service was average but the food was surprisingly delicious with several very healthy salad & fresh fish options. It was so good we came back on night #2 this time with a Sockeye Salmon that we caught during the day. They were more than happy to prepare and cook the salmon we caught!!! Now that is fantastic hospitality.

OK onto the best part of the Hotel. Mr. Wes Oetinger is the resident fishing tour guide and fishing instructor! I can't say enough good things about Wes, he was fantastic. Wes is totally great about helping instruct you as much or as little as you need. He is so friendly and helpful it was just wonderful. He even helps other folks that are fishing and not part of his group. If your a novice or an expert hiring Wes will help out. He knows where to go to find the fish and how to read the water and topography etc., While going out with dozens of folks around Wes directed us to success at the same time many around us when home empty handed.

So overall, the restaurant and Wes Oetinger would bring me back to the hotel again. That said if you are just looking for a nice quiet room you might be better off down the street at the Holiday Inn Express or the Best Western across the street. Tough call, we enjoyed our stay but felt they were a bit expensive for the value received in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marknmary, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Mixed feelings on staying here but Wes Oetinger & the Restaurant food. Please let me introduce myself Mary Kulstad owner manager. I am thankful to hear you enjoyed our restuarant and Wes. I apologize that the staff was stressed and check in was lenghty. We had been having computer issues with some unexpected staff turn over. I apologize that we were unable to handle the problems so that they did not disrupt your stay. I hope you will forgive us and give us another opportunity. Please feel free to contact me anytime. mkhotel seward@gci.net
Sincerely, Mary Kulstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Thumbs up for Wes!

Fishing the Russian River in Alaska, an event that will forever remain etched in the memories of my son, wife, and me, couldn’t have been more fun.  Our guide, Wes, a knowledgeable, humorous, and energetic person, is a great guide and the classic adventurous American soul.  He knows where, when, and how to catch the salmon and have fun while doing it.  For seven hours the sockeye salmon danced in the “glass” clear Russian River, within feet of us, in view of the naked eye.  The sockeye salmon tormented and teased every single person along the banks of the river, evoking dreams of landing the portentous fish.
 
As the river full of sockeye rushed past, my heart and soul were warm beyond imagination.  Wes, took the time to show my wife and myself the method to the madness to land the sockeye.  He had my wife laughing to near tears, as he demonstrated how to effectively (and correctly) cast for salmon…and she successfully landed one.  Our son, who waited ever patiently on the banks of the river, was treated by Wes to a special trip to the local Weir. Here, our son was able to “net” a sockeye thanks to Wes and the staff at the Weir.
 
We, unfortunately, had but only a single day dedicated to fishing on this particular trip, yet, the time spent with Wes, as our fishing guide, is more than enough reason to book a future (and longer) trip with him upon our return to Alaska.  If you can’t make it to Alaska soon, well, he runs guided fishing trips in Mexico as well…just choose your preferred water temperature and give him a call!

Thumbs up for Wes!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhino60N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

While historic, it really is lacking in creature comforts. Over priced, We ate breakfast there and it was not a good experience. After I had booked this I was advised to cancel and stay at the Holiday Inn, and we wished we had done so.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marknmary, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Mediocre Lodging, Please let me introduce myself Mary Kulstad owner and manager of the hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed the Historic Wing of the Hotel. It was built in 1940 and is limited in amenties. The Historic Wing is for travelers looking for something more economical without the amenties because is has no elevator, some Euro style rooms w/ shared bath and other small rooms with baths in the room. The Holiday Inn and our Alaska Wing are comparable they are more modern and offer similar amenties. Both have something different to offer the Holiday Inn is a fine corporate Hotel and we are an Alaskan Family owned boutique Hotel offering a little charm, mixing the old and the new with our wildlife and history display for alls enjoyment. Please contact me so I can address your concerns because we strive to improve the areas we have failed at. mkhotelseward@gci.net Sincerely, Mary Kulstad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson valley,ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Seward for the first two nights of our Honeymoon trip to alaska! What a nice surprise. We had a King view room on the third floor with fireplace and views of the Bay. The staff was great. Special thanks to Wes Oetinger of the Hotel Seward Fishing Adventure who arranged a water taxi for us and Took us to the weir on Bear Creek . Be sure to eat at Gene's Place in the hotel. The fresh Salmon as well as the Halibut cheeks were amazing. The hotel is located downtown and is within walking distance to many restaurants, pubs and shops. We would recommend this hotel for your stay at Seward.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing