We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, clean”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The decor is not to my liking but it was clean and the staff was friendly. The phones didn't work and the room has no A/C but normally that's not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reefkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stay awhile in Seward and see the sights of this beautiful area. The Hotel Seward is comfortable, interesting, guest accommodating, and has some nice large rooms. Walk around town from here and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front on second or third floor offer views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyOfSeeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Phone assistance in booking (outstanding). Room assurance (outstanding). Hotel staff (outstanding). Room --2 queen new section view of bay-- large enough for 4 adults and was exactly as on the website, included frig & microwave--(awesomely outstanding). As per other reader comments, the hotel is locally owned and I also viewed the "older" historic european style rooms and would have been comfortable booking if only 2 people. The bed was the most comfortable bed during our 10 day Alaskan adventure. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: the rooms are exactly as on the website. the older section has
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picclineshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed in 2 rooms (Dlx view King and Queen rooms on upper floor of new wing) and were more than pleased with our accomodations. Hotel was a perfect place to stay in Seward for the 4th of July and to get around. Staff more than pleasant - even called us later that day after checkout to tell us they found a pair of my daughter's earrings! Rooms were plenty spacious, clean, and comfortable!

Room Tip: Buy Northern Lights coupon book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura62565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Crackerjack Fishing package gets into the big Halibut, a guest caught one at 90lbs.
The restaurant meals are top class, especially the seafood.
Wes is a great fishing guide, we were catching a lot more salmon than anyone else.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue, we fronted the street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraAussie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at hotel Seward last week for three nights and on the second night was completely offended by a staff member. While the hotel was quaint, I believe that customer service can make or break an experience. Upon check-out I mentioned how I was offended and was told that I would be contacted by the owner/manager. I never heard from anyone. When spending over $700 for a hotel room for 3 nights, I would expect the very least....an apology!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marknmary, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear Customer Service can make or break an experience, Please let me introduce myself Mary Kulstad the owner- manager. I truely agree with you and I can only apologize that your concern was missed by me. Unfortunatey,when we get busy some things may get misplace or overlooked. I do not know how to contact you or I would appreciate being able to address the issue and the staff member. There is never any excuse for a staff member to be rude or that I would miss following up on a complaint. All businesses are works in progress and for me it is heartwrenching that a guest was offended or disatisfied. We are a small family owned hotel. It is our goal to offer a warm family atomosphere. I am extremely sorry we fell short of that goal. I again would appreciate it if you could contact me at mkhotelseward@gci.net so I can address this with the staff. I understand that this overshadowed your visit with us and can only hope that you can forgive our error. Sincerely, Mary Kulstad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The room was large enough for 4 of us, and nicely appointed. Some rooms have a view of the bay, some don't. Staff was great, and the little restaurant attached to the hotel is quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £45 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing