We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I've taken my family to Seward for 4 years now. This is our first stay at the Hotel Seward, and what a great hotel! Nice change from our previous place. Hotel Seward is very conveniently located, with nice clean rooms. The hotel staff was very nice, and willing to accomodate our requests. The history of the hotel only added to the charm of the place, and lent a great opportunity to learn a bit more about Seward. We will definitely stay at Hotel Seward on our next trip to Seward!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    192
    87
    35
    25
See reviews for
153
234
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have been to Seward many times, first stay at this hotel. I love it!!! Beautiful rooms, old world charm. The restaurant is excellent, reasonably priced. Ask to eat in one of the "themed" rooms, quaint and FUN. The staff was attentive and very welcoming. Chase at the front desk went out of his way to help us.. True Alaskan hospitality. Without a doubt, nicest hotel in Seward. Also near SeaLife center, shops, restaurants, but eat there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Seward Hotel on August 18, 2011. Looking for a more "real" experience of Alaska and Seward we opted to stay in the "Old Wing" of the Seward.
If you want an adventure in a clean, sweet, history thick hotel, the Seward Hotel is the place for you.

The charm and ambiance of yesteryear, the beyond friendly staff and the proximity to everything in Seward is awesome.
The old wing consists of rooms with twin beds - the entire two weeks we were gone, this bed was the MOST comfortable we had slept in, a sink and fresh clean towels with windows that open to let the fresh crisp Alaskan air in.

The restaurant is quaint, quiet and feels like you're dining in your home kitchen. Service is quick and the food was very good!

The Manager and Owner spent time with us telling us about the history of Seward and her hotel and then she personally drove us to the Cruise Terminal. I WILL BE BACK to the Seward Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfiniteWicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hotel Seward is a historical hotel. Much of the history is preserved in the stories and photos that are displayed throughout the hotel. It is an older hotel. If you're looking for technology central, you're in Seward, AK. Leave it behind. Hotel Seward is one of the larger hotels in Seward, it is convenient to "downtown" and the sealife center, and the night life! it is within walking distance of the best restaurant Christo's, and best watering hole, The Yukon! Aside from events like Mt. Marathon and the Polar Dive it's a quiet getaway. It is not by the docks, so if you're fishing, you'll want to plan transportation.
The staff is friendly and accomodating. The facilities are clean and well kept... and they do have a nice lobby full of alaskan wildlife.
Additionally, the hotel is locally owned, so you know that the money you spend there is not only employing the people who work there, the money made there is staying within the community, (unlike say, the best western....)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask about what's available in the old and new sections. ask about specials and discounts. vocal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed in the new wing.
Spotlessly clean.
Wonderful beds.
Beautifully furnished. Comparable to a luxury hotel in Chicago.
Awesome view.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Would love to stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Booked Hotel Seward for our trip and for the price we paid for our room, it wasn't worth it. Wifi in our room never worked, sink faucet broke, toilet seat broke and the ancient hairdryer on the wall (didn't even recognize what it was!) took a LONG time to dry my hair. Beds were okay and the place was clean. The lobby is jam packed with stuff - taxidermy animals and it's like a floral explosion. Everyone was nice, but I was rather disappointed for the price we paid for our room - $229 a night. If it was less than that I would have probably overlooked a few things.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Center, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Played tourist in Seward and stayed at this hotel for a night. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor and the cleanliness. Didn't even mind that the bath was " down the hall".
They do have a wing that is more modern and has the baths in your suite. Good location and history as it is from the early 1900's.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowLakeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#5 of 14 in Seward
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing