We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FOOD!! Very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel has some the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The VERY friendly staff made us feel at home and was always happy to help with whatever we needed. Even if you dont stay here, Eating here is a MUST DO. The hotel's intimate fine dining resturant "Ms. Gene's Place" is to die for. I had the Buffalo Burger and melted in my mouth!!! The wait staff was very friendly and a had a lot of wonderful information about Seward and places to see while we were in town......we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firefighter88A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

This past weekend was our second visit to Hotel Seward. Again we were very very pleased and left with the feeling of looking forward to our next visit. Thought we should share this time.The Christmas decorations were a delight. Tasteful with that Old Fashioned Traditional feeling. They even have a Gingerbread House Display in one of the smaller rooms for people to visit. It is easy to see all the LOVE that goes into this property. Hotel Seward has a Dog Friendly wing on the lower level that was very nice. This hotel is clean and cared for. The staff extremely helpful, friendly and very welcoming. Yummm.m.- we ate in the dining room. Gene. Oh my goodness! The BEST Halibut Cheeks we have ever tasted. Amazing. The menue changes. I am guessing that's because they buy based on what is fresh and available. You will not be disappointed.Creative and delicious! Four of us dined and everyone loved their meal. This qauint property is worth the trip to Seward on it's own. Fantastic!

Room Tip: If you're a couple on your own, ask for a romantic room in upper level, with a view. So beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnElsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Hotel Seward is a beautiful and charming little place; in many ways, it improves on the generally more honky-tonk character of the town it's in. First of all, the staff went out of their way to be helpful to us, setting up several reservations in the area, and offering good advice on local attractions. I'd have given the hotel 5 stars on service, except that one staffer seemed to be slacking, and forgot to arrange to have our bags returned to the train. One of the owners drove them to us, apologizing greatly for what was only a minor inconvenience. The rooms are comfortable, the beds were rather nice, and the restaurant, though small, was stylish and provided very good food (except that the salmon was WAY oversalted). The lobby and hallways are fun, with all sorts of stuffed animals on the walls, plus dozens and dozens of historical pictures and maps, particularly with info on the devastating 1964 quake. The location is ideal, just a short walk to the Sealife Center, and only a block to all sorts of local eateries (almost none of which compare to the hotel's own restaurant). The last morning we were there, we wound up eating breakfast in one of the little themed rooms down the hall -- kind of a Victorian room -- which was a sweet way to enjoy a turkey-sausage and vegetable omelette for me, and for my wife and daughter to savor the place's homemade oatmeal, with blueberries and honey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlstcui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Charming hotel. Friendly staff. Very good atmosphere. Typical alaskan decoration with an hunting environment. There are a lot of stuffed animals in the hall. Nice bedroom (in Alaskan wing) which is a little dated but it's the theme of that historic hotel ! Room and bathroom clean. The bed was comfortable. There is a charming bar (small but with a very good ambiance) where you can have dinner, breakfast and if you want just a drink. A lot of alaskan specialties. If it will be possible, we'll give a special award to Seward Hotel just for it's breakfast : we had a great crab omelette ! It was delicious :). Hotel well located near the ocean but no private parking. We think it's a little expensive (for example breakfast is not included in the important price of the room) but we have loved this very special and historic place !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabriceandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I've taken my family to Seward for 4 years now. This is our first stay at the Hotel Seward, and what a great hotel! Nice change from our previous place. Hotel Seward is very conveniently located, with nice clean rooms. The hotel staff was very nice, and willing to accomodate our requests. The history of the hotel only added to the charm of the place, and lent a great opportunity to learn a bit more about Seward. We will definitely stay at Hotel Seward on our next trip to Seward!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have been to Seward many times, first stay at this hotel. I love it!!! Beautiful rooms, old world charm. The restaurant is excellent, reasonably priced. Ask to eat in one of the "themed" rooms, quaint and FUN. The staff was attentive and very welcoming. Chase at the front desk went out of his way to help us.. True Alaskan hospitality. Without a doubt, nicest hotel in Seward. Also near SeaLife center, shops, restaurants, but eat there.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Seward Hotel on August 18, 2011. Looking for a more "real" experience of Alaska and Seward we opted to stay in the "Old Wing" of the Seward.
If you want an adventure in a clean, sweet, history thick hotel, the Seward Hotel is the place for you.

The charm and ambiance of yesteryear, the beyond friendly staff and the proximity to everything in Seward is awesome.
The old wing consists of rooms with twin beds - the entire two weeks we were gone, this bed was the MOST comfortable we had slept in, a sink and fresh clean towels with windows that open to let the fresh crisp Alaskan air in.

The restaurant is quaint, quiet and feels like you're dining in your home kitchen. Service is quick and the food was very good!

The Manager and Owner spent time with us telling us about the history of Seward and her hotel and then she personally drove us to the Cruise Terminal. I WILL BE BACK to the Seward Hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InfiniteWicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing