We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Lovely Inn”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and Lovely Inn”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Location, location, location! We loved quirky downtown Seward, right near the inlet and aquarium. Everything was within walking distance. The hotel and rooms were clean, comfy and homey, adorned throughout with local flair. Friendly and helpful staff; family owned and run. We don't think better accommodations can be found elsewhere, unless you want a typically cookie-cutter bland modern hotel. The attached restaurant serves delicious homemade meals. You really experience the culture of Alaska at the Seward Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the street. Quiet and best view of the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    179
    82
    34
    24
See reviews for
143
227
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The best thing about Hotel Seward was its price. We paid $109 per night for a 3 night stay. We stayed in the older half of the hotel, which has "Euro-style" bathroom facilities. This means that there isn't a bathroom in each room (though there is a sink). Instead there are two bathrooms across the hallway that are used by the entire floor. I think there are twenty to thirty rooms on the flloor, we didn't have any issues about being able to access the bathrooms when we needed to.

We found Alaska to be very expensive. Hotel Seward was the cheapest place we stayed, so that is a major plus.

The biggest negative is that the doors latch and slam loudly. Because everyone gets up at various times in the night to use the bathroom, if you are a light sleeper, you will hear the doors as they slam shut (apparently, no one ever considers closing their door softly.)

The staff is friendly and our room was clean. We did not eat here.

Hotel Seward is located in the older section of Seward, near the end of land. The boat docks are all at the harbor, about half a mile away. The old section of Seward has a nice small park on the waterfront, an aquarium with marine life, and some shops and restaurants. The rest of the shops and restaurants are located near the harbor, where all the boat cruises launch from.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Historic Wing. I appreciate the issue with the doors and do think that most people try to be considerate as they realize they are the original door with the older key locks. Also, I wanted to explain that there 16 rooms on the 2nd floor. Only 8 rooms that use the 2 public bathrooms on the second floor. The other rooms have there own bathrooms. Our goal is that overall each guest have a good experience. This side is a walk back in time and when you choose rooms without baths it does limit your conveniences. I am glad we had a price that fit your needs. Appreciate you time, Mary
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I found it a very nice hotel our room was clean & comfortable. Staff was very friendly. It is close to all of downtown. I will choose it again if I go back. The restaurant had great breakfast loved the reindeer sausage was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riprip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

In our travels, we found this hotel to be the best. Nobody can say it is dirty. I saw the room attendants on her hands and knees cleaning the bathroom floors. Our room was large and the bed was to die for. All the special little things for the guests makes it so unique. We had three wonderful meals in the restaurant. The staff makes you feel very welcome. The owners go above and beyond to make it a pleasurable stay. There are not enough stars on here to rate. Be sure to look all around for history memorabilia!

Room Tip: The rooms are large on the new side but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aatpct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend this place. The bathrooms were nasty. The restroom down stairs were the restaurant is also nasty. I don't have any problem with using shared bathrooms. But this was not nice. The lounge downstairs is cute and I liked food at Mrs. Jeans too. But not worth the nasty bathrooms for the money we paid here and it was not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest, I apologize that we failed you and the bathrooms were not maintained appropriately at the time of your stay. It is always our intention to keep the hotel in good order and I will work harder at not failing in the future. Sincerely, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise, arriving via train from Anchorage. We got to the hotel around noon and were told our room was ready. The lobby area is very interesting, take some time to check it out. We were given a room on the first floor that had one queen bed with a couch and sitting area with no view. The room was pleasant enough but I thought I remembered we were supposed to have 2 queen beds and a view. We ran out for as few minutes then I checked our itinerary when we returned. It indicated that we were supposed to be in an Executive View room with a fireplace and other nice extras. We took the itinerary to the front desk, they realized their error and reassigned to the appropriate room that was wonderful! It had a king bed, bay window, fireplace, and beautiful décor. There was a long countertop with a sink and microwave in our room and a rainshower head in the bath, We enjoyed the location of the hotel being close to the Sea Life Center, waterfront, several shops and restaurants. There was a free shuttle or taxis available if you wanted to venture further away.
We ate one dinner and one breakfast at the hotel restaurant and found the food to be good and fairly priced. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. There is a washer and dryer that cost $2.00 each which we used to wash our clothes from our first week which greatly saved on the amount of clothing and luggage we had to bring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillie_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Seward prior to taking a cruise back down to Vancouver, and found it friendly and comfortable - as long as you're not put off by the menagerie of stuffed animals in the foyer (in which case, you're not going to feel at home in Alaska!) Shelley who cooks and serves the breakfasts was just lovely, but the person who really made our stay was Wes, the resident fishing guide. He's a larger-than-life character and very knowlegeable about not only fishing but just about anything local you're curious about.

He overheard in the hotel foyer that I wanted to go on a trail ride and really went the extra mile to try to make it happen; when it didn't (not his fault) he offered to take us out to the salmon weir as a small compensation, no charge. It was a generous offer and gift of his time, and we appreciated it as well as finding the outing interesting and enjoyable. If you want to go fishing, he's your man, no question.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing