We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, close to dining and adventure!”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy, close to dining and adventure!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I only stayed here because the hostel was booked...so I was looking for an affordable night's stay. Didn't mind the shared bathroom in the historic suite, as it was very cleaned and well stocked with supplies. Room was spacious and clean, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great location right by shops, dining, and the alaska sealife center. The Owner Mark has breakfast every morning in the restaurant, which I would also recommend dining at! Try Mark's omelette...his and my favorite! Happy trails :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    192
    88
    35
    25
See reviews for
153
234
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed there Sept 2. Found it to be very comfortable hotel. Bed was excellent. Room was comparable to any 3 star hotel. Front staff, especially Cynthia, was pleasant and helpful. They made error in billing but corrected it when pointed out.

They still have issues with Wi-fi. Couldn't get it in the room. Front staff had the same excuses as other have pointed out. They need to correct this issue.

But I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: New wing. Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank khatopito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location. Just a block or two from the gift shops, restaurants, and attractions of downtown. Our room at the hotel was nice and comfortable. One night we stayed at the Cabin on the Cliff which was exceptional with well appointed rooms, a great view, and a hot tub. We left a phone charger at the hotel. The staff offered to let us used one of their chargers while they looked. By the time we finished dinner, we had our charger back. Dinner was exceptional and the service was great.

Room Tip: On one side of the hotel, rooms share a bath. Make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkhd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here one night, knowing in advance that we were opting for the historic section and would be sharing a bathroom. Not a problem! The room was clean & comfortable, the bathroom very convenient. The breakfast was the best I had in all my 14 days in Alaska. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gobytrain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of 10 stayed at the Hotel Seward at the end of our Alaskan cruise. My parents had stayed at this hotel on 2 other trips and loved it. The staff picked us up from the cruise ship docks the service was excellent. Loved hearing the history of the hotel and how it survived the tsunami of '64. We ate dinner in the hotel bar - my dad loves their halibut cheeks! Within walking distance of many shops and restaurants - also the aquarium. Highly recommend if you are visiting Seward - even if it is for 1 night - No A/C so if the weather is warm open the windows and turn on the fans.

Room Tip: stay on the historic side if you want to get the full experience. they have rooms that connect w/ s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently returned from a week long stay at the Hotel Seward and could not have been more pleased. Our room was ample (single queen in the Alaska wing); the hotel staff were helpful and friendly; and the location was prime (walking distance from all historic downtown locations). We also highly recommend both breakfast and dinner at Ms. Genie's on the premises. In particular, the crab omelette at breakfast is superb - a great way to start a day in Seward and the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Charming small hotel. My daughter was freaked out by stuffed animals in lobby...The rooms are comfortable. Micro, fridge and coffee maker. Nice soap and shampoo. Quiet and walk to restaurants and bakery. Shuttle service. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galisgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#5 of 14 in Seward
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing