We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience.”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Upon our arrival at Hotel Seward we were NOT "greeted" with a smile nor a "Hello, welcome,,,how was your trip?", but instead with these EXACT two remarks...."If you loose your room key, it will be $10.00,,,and if you choose to smoke in the room,it will be $250.00." This staff could obviously use some training,,,what a poor first impression!!!! The hotel itself is clean but, the lobby is so cluttered with stuffed Alaskan animals and dolls, that one feels as if they are at a museum! Now for the worst part....BOTH nights spent there, we were awakened at around 2:00 am with screaming and fighting outside of our window that went on for a good hour! "The Bar Crowd" heading home? We are thinking that the location of this Hotel is poor at best,,,,didn't feel safe there and would never go back or recommend Hotel Seward to friends or family!

Room Tip: I would simply choose another Hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerryfrank510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Seward
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I only stayed here because the hostel was booked...so I was looking for an affordable night's stay. Didn't mind the shared bathroom in the historic suite, as it was very cleaned and well stocked with supplies. Room was spacious and clean, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great location right by shops, dining, and the alaska sealife center. The Owner Mark has breakfast every morning in the restaurant, which I would also recommend dining at! Try Mark's omelette...his and my favorite! Happy trails :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed there Sept 2. Found it to be very comfortable hotel. Bed was excellent. Room was comparable to any 3 star hotel. Front staff, especially Cynthia, was pleasant and helpful. They made error in billing but corrected it when pointed out.

They still have issues with Wi-fi. Couldn't get it in the room. Front staff had the same excuses as other have pointed out. They need to correct this issue.

But I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: New wing. Rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank khatopito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location. Just a block or two from the gift shops, restaurants, and attractions of downtown. Our room at the hotel was nice and comfortable. One night we stayed at the Cabin on the Cliff which was exceptional with well appointed rooms, a great view, and a hot tub. We left a phone charger at the hotel. The staff offered to let us used one of their chargers while they looked. By the time we finished dinner, we had our charger back. Dinner was exceptional and the service was great.

Room Tip: On one side of the hotel, rooms share a bath. Make sure to ask.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkhd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here one night, knowing in advance that we were opting for the historic section and would be sharing a bathroom. Not a problem! The room was clean & comfortable, the bathroom very convenient. The breakfast was the best I had in all my 14 days in Alaska. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gobytrain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of 10 stayed at the Hotel Seward at the end of our Alaskan cruise. My parents had stayed at this hotel on 2 other trips and loved it. The staff picked us up from the cruise ship docks the service was excellent. Loved hearing the history of the hotel and how it survived the tsunami of '64. We ate dinner in the hotel bar - my dad loves their halibut cheeks! Within walking distance of many shops and restaurants - also the aquarium. Highly recommend if you are visiting Seward - even if it is for 1 night - No A/C so if the weather is warm open the windows and turn on the fans.

Room Tip: stay on the historic side if you want to get the full experience. they have rooms that connect w/ s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently returned from a week long stay at the Hotel Seward and could not have been more pleased. Our room was ample (single queen in the Alaska wing); the hotel staff were helpful and friendly; and the location was prime (walking distance from all historic downtown locations). We also highly recommend both breakfast and dinner at Ms. Genie's on the premises. In particular, the crab omelette at breakfast is superb - a great way to start a day in Seward and the surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#8 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £35 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing