We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable place to stay in old town Seward.”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Seward. The room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. There are lots of interesting buildings and walk routes to explore, and the Sea Life Center is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Alaska is expensive... and I knew when we booked this place that it was "old school" and we would have to share a bathroom. We were encouraged by the good reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately I still didn't feel that it was worth $100 a night in the off season.

Problems: The walls are paper thin; one of the two bathrooms on our floor had a very difficult lock which is hard to navigate when half asleep; there is no "do not disturb sign to place on the door; the bed is way too soft; the cleaning staff use very smelly products which gave me a head ache.

Plusses: The staff really are wonderful; The lobby is like a museum for taxidermy

Room Tip: Room 201 is right over the bar and very loud on weekend nights but the internet works in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethLesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Fishing with the hotel's resident guide Wes was fantastic. He is an exceptional guide because he understands customer service and adapts the day to best fit his clients. Despite horrible weather, Wes had us catching fish and having a blast. Wes made sure it wasn't *only* about catching fish - it was about enjoying the overall experience of being out on the river. This was our first time fishing with fly rods, but with Wes's patient instructions, even my 9-year old daughter had it down pat in no time. The day with Wes was the highlight of our trip. I can't WAIT to get back and fish with Wes again next summer! We didn't stay at the Hotel Steward but judging from our first impressions of the location, building, very cool lobby, and very friendly front desk staff, we definitely would stay there if not for the special deals for military we get at the nearby Seward Military Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We live in Alaska and have spent many nights in Seward, but until last weekend we had never stayed at the Hotel Seward. We have missed “the boat.” This locally owned hotel is clean, friendly, and wonderfully convenient. The cost was not that much more than the local chains, and the customer service definitely made up for it. We had two delightful breakfasts at the hotel. The Hotel Seward will be our first choice from this point forward when we are in Seward.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights Sept 5&6 in a queen executive room. While the decor in the hotel is very busy we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was spacious and quiet, bed was fine. Hotel staff was kind and helpful. We ate breakfast here both mornings and it was wonderful, we were waited on by Shelly and Mike who were great. We didn't eat dinner here...we ate at Apollos and Christos, both were very good. Close to Alaska sealife center and small boat Harbour for excursions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Upon our arrival at Hotel Seward we were NOT "greeted" with a smile nor a "Hello, welcome,,,how was your trip?", but instead with these EXACT two remarks...."If you loose your room key, it will be $10.00,,,and if you choose to smoke in the room,it will be $250.00." This staff could obviously use some training,,,what a poor first impression!!!! The hotel itself is clean but, the lobby is so cluttered with stuffed Alaskan animals and dolls, that one feels as if they are at a museum! Now for the worst part....BOTH nights spent there, we were awakened at around 2:00 am with screaming and fighting outside of our window that went on for a good hour! "The Bar Crowd" heading home? We are thinking that the location of this Hotel is poor at best,,,,didn't feel safe there and would never go back or recommend Hotel Seward to friends or family!

Room Tip: I would simply choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerryfrank510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I only stayed here because the hostel was booked...so I was looking for an affordable night's stay. Didn't mind the shared bathroom in the historic suite, as it was very cleaned and well stocked with supplies. Room was spacious and clean, all the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Great location right by shops, dining, and the alaska sealife center. The Owner Mark has breakfast every morning in the restaurant, which I would also recommend dining at! Try Mark's omelette...his and my favorite! Happy trails :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,144 reviews
0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £37 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing