We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Loganville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice boutique hotel, but then again there aren’t many choices in Seward now are there? On the plus side, the view is remarkable IF you spring for one of the newer, more expensive rooms in the front of the hotel. However, if anyone in your party is the least bit claustrophobic, find somewhere else. My poor wife, even in one of the largest “executive” rooms, paced like a caged animal until the sleeping pill kicked in or she could claw her way out the next morning. Just a hint: there is no air conditioning—not a problem unless the street sweepers roll by at 4:00 a.m. Also, WI-FI -s free but s-l-o-w, won't support streaming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed0379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful that the weather was so nice that you enjoyed the postcard View Seward offers making a good memory for your stay. I am so sorry to hear your wife was uncomfortable, our rooms are usually consider a comfortable size on the Alaskan Wing with the additional room amenities add to their comfort. I can only apologize that the city cleaners disturbed your visit, we would love to change there timing too! The only plus is fortunately they usually only do the streets 4 times a year, but that does not help when it is your night.. As for the internet I will check into it . We do have the highest package available for our area,so I think this problem may occur when there is a high demand. At the time you were here we had a movie crew in filming Sugar Mountain airing in 2015, so that may have affected it. Our goal is always that everyone's stay is enjoyable, I apologize for any of the shortcoming and hope the good memories with stay with you. My Best, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    187
    84
    34
    24
See reviews for
149
228
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a frequent traveler with premium status a major chains - it was such a blessing to stay at this hotel. I actually found it on trip advisor as well. I stayed in the 'historic' wing - which was awesome. Not overly fancy, but the atmosphere and staff were truly tremendous. Would definitely stay again - incredible hosts.

Room Tip: I was in the 'historic" wing which is older and smaller rooms. Nice and quaint - simple roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boring_Meetings_Suck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. It was so cheap - $44 a night. Staff were friendly. Room clean. Bathrooms were shared but never had to wait to use them. Cable tv and internet included. Decor was very old fashioned but that added to the experience - a kind of so bad it was good feel. The lounge is covered in taxidermy - it's like walking through a graveyard. Definitely an experience. Moose heads, wolf rugs, you name it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcircus32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We loved the hotel, very nice staff and very (underlined) clean. The Seward passed the bedbug check and our room was nice though it was a first floor view of the parking lot.
The hotel is a block from 'downtown' Seward, about 1.5 miles from the marina, one block from the Alaska SeaLife Center. We liked the location, easy walk to some local restaurants and the Sealife Center. You can walk the 1.5 miles to the docks where most of the tourist stuff is, or it is an easy drive if you have a car. Don't expect a great view of the bay, the hotel is a bit back for that but some of the higher floor rooms do have a partial view.
We would definitely stay again, the price was right and the location worked well for us.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the bay, ask for a room with a view but expect to pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Hotel Seward is like two hotels in one. On the new side, you have wonderful rooms with fantastic beds. No strange smells or horrible noises. If you’re lucky, you can book one of the “Rooms with a View” and wake up every morning to an incredible view of the bay and mountains. The staff is the friendliest hotel staff and they will work to improve your stay if anything goes wrong. There is also a washer and dryer available as well as ice machines and vending machines. On the old side of the Hotel, there are “hostel room” that are ideal for tourists that are backpacking across Alaska. The rooms are very small and only a few have their own bathroom. (Otherwise, you share a bathroom.) The hotel is also in an ideal location for "downtown" restaurants, the SeaLife Center, and the parks along the bay. If a hostel sounds appealing, I recommend this place. If you have a fabulous hotel room, I recommend this place. Also, the decor in the lobby and the all the historical articles and pictures on the walls make it a great stop on a road trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Room with a View." Absolutely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We're not tourists, we live in Anchorage, but we were spending a couple of days away. Making reservations was easy and pleasant. Checking in was great too. Very friendly front desk staff.

We stayed in a room on the Historic side. We had room 2 and it was strategically located between the ice machine and the secondary dining room. Needless to say it was a bit noisy. The room is quite small, but that's okay. We had a queen size bed, but it was terribly uncomfortable. It was so soft and broken down our backs ached after the first night. We were dreading sleeping on it a second night. The bed would be perfect if you had edema. You would lay down on the bed and your back and shoulders would sink in and your legs would raise up in the air. You'd also roll to the outside; it was a struggle to stay in the bed.

The bathroom was small, but clean. The hot/cold were on the wrong sides of the sink. The tub didn't drain well; even after a short shower you'd have water up over your ankles. The temperature wouldn't regulate - you'd get bursts of hot and cold water at random times. The hot and cold water valves turned in opposite directions; adjusting the water temperature came at your own peril. The toilet was also super close to the wall - you had to almost side sideways to finish your business.

The hotel has a lot of great things going for it - the location is fantastic. Can't be beat. The staff is friendly. The decor is odd (here's the quirky part). Lots of taxidermy, which is fine. It's Alaska, but the stuffed animals. EVERYWHERE. We were there over Easter weekend. I think the hotel would be much classier if they would eliminate the stuffed animals. It's actually very distracting and annoying.

We actually would stay here again, but for the bed. My husband survived by taking three Aleve's in the morning and three in the evening. Great location, very clean and great service. It's just the bed....ugh. The backache.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
It is nice to hear you did enjoy the staff and the hotel. We always appreciate input on what is needed in our rooms so we can work at fixing them. From the review I understand you were in our Historic Wing, standard room with 1 queen bed and bath. All rooms on the Historic Wing are our smaller cozy rooms, space was limited when these were built. I am sorry to hear about the bed, they are new pillow top beds. Our goal is for everyone to have a good night sleep. We try to notice guest In our advertising that all rooms have Pillow Top beds that are soft. We feel bad when the pillowing is too soft for a guest. When we know a guest needs a firmer bed we offer to turn the mattress to put the firm side up, most times this works well to provide a firm bed. It is disappointing this was not discussed when you were here so we might have been able to help. . Hopefully this will help someone else in the future. If you choose to stay with us again please contact me so I can assist. Thank you and hope to see you again, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was a little anxious about staying in a small hotel in a small town but I was really surprised. The hotel is spotless, the rooms charming, the staff friendly. I was in the new wing and was very satisfied with the room. It was large, clean, comfortable bed, and quiet. I hope my travels take me to Seward again so I can stay again. And we ate in the hotel restaurant - VERY good.

Room Tip: I got a room in the new wing, with a view. Definitely worth paying for the view. Also, my friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lala085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing