We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
546 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Funky boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The staff here is very nice. The lobby is filled with taxidermied animals. Salt water taffy and coffee are available in the lobby 24/7. The building is old with funky exposed pipes, a musty odor, and many rooms do not have in-suite bathrooms. All rooms come with floor fans but no hair dryers. But the beds are like sleeping on clouds and are plentiful with pillows including the decorative type. Your options of places to stay in Seward are few, and this family-owned boutique hotel is fun and funky, just know the rooms aren't all that soundproof and a part of the hotel lacks an elevator to the second floor.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review we are a friendly unique hotel. We appreciate the input and hope to see you again. It is apparent you stayed on the Historic Wing which offers either our Standard 1 Queen bedroom with a bathroom or our Economical rooms with 2 single beds without a bathroom that use the shared bathrooms in the hall and have less amenities. This Wing has no elevator and the exposed pipes reflect the vintage of the Historic Wing as the fire system was added later. It does create an ambience that people either like or dislike. I am not sure how to address that you felt there was an odor in the Historic Wing this is an uncommon complaint and I can only apologize to you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beds most people do, they are Simmons Pillow Tops beds very soft. Our goal is for everyone to have a fun Alaskan experience while staying with us.
For guest looking for more amenities we do have the newer Alaska Wing, it is completely separate and does have an elevator and offers our larger Deluxe or Executive View rooms with lots of amenties. Have a great summer~ and look forward to seeing you again. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    180
    82
    34
    24
See reviews for
144
227
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a room on Thursday May 19th the night before or cruise left Seward. It was a nice room with a king size bed, fireplace and a view of the harbor in the new section and it was wonderful!!!! We had a great night sleep, the room was fantastic and we would definitely stay here again. The owners were super nice, they allowed us to stay in our room until we were ready to go to the cruise ship and then the driver took us right to the pier and would not even except a tip (he told us to spend it on our cruise and have fun). Just an excellent run hotel! I called several months ago and the lady I spoke with was nice enough to hear what I was wanting from the room and assigned my room number even back then.... That was the exact room we got to and we couldn't have asked for better... Would definitely stay here again. The staff showed us the historic part of the hotel and the history in the photos is unbelievable. The lobby is full of interesting items too from art to stuffed animals to historical items.

Room Tip: I believe our room was 303 and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manyhatwomantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice boutique hotel, but then again there aren’t many choices in Seward now are there? On the plus side, the view is remarkable IF you spring for one of the newer, more expensive rooms in the front of the hotel. However, if anyone in your party is the least bit claustrophobic, find somewhere else. My poor wife, even in one of the largest “executive” rooms, paced like a caged animal until the sleeping pill kicked in or she could claw her way out the next morning. Just a hint: there is no air conditioning—not a problem unless the street sweepers roll by at 4:00 a.m. Also, WI-FI -s free but s-l-o-w, won't support streaming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed0379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful that the weather was so nice that you enjoyed the postcard View Seward offers making a good memory for your stay. I am so sorry to hear your wife was uncomfortable, our rooms are usually consider a comfortable size on the Alaskan Wing with the additional room amenities add to their comfort. I can only apologize that the city cleaners disturbed your visit, we would love to change there timing too! The only plus is fortunately they usually only do the streets 4 times a year, but that does not help when it is your night.. As for the internet I will check into it . We do have the highest package available for our area,so I think this problem may occur when there is a high demand. At the time you were here we had a movie crew in filming Sugar Mountain airing in 2015, so that may have affected it. Our goal is always that everyone's stay is enjoyable, I apologize for any of the shortcoming and hope the good memories with stay with you. My Best, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a frequent traveler with premium status a major chains - it was such a blessing to stay at this hotel. I actually found it on trip advisor as well. I stayed in the 'historic' wing - which was awesome. Not overly fancy, but the atmosphere and staff were truly tremendous. Would definitely stay again - incredible hosts.

Room Tip: I was in the 'historic" wing which is older and smaller rooms. Nice and quaint - simple roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boring_Meetings_Suck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. It was so cheap - $44 a night. Staff were friendly. Room clean. Bathrooms were shared but never had to wait to use them. Cable tv and internet included. Decor was very old fashioned but that added to the experience - a kind of so bad it was good feel. The lounge is covered in taxidermy - it's like walking through a graveyard. Definitely an experience. Moose heads, wolf rugs, you name it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcircus32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We loved the hotel, very nice staff and very (underlined) clean. The Seward passed the bedbug check and our room was nice though it was a first floor view of the parking lot.
The hotel is a block from 'downtown' Seward, about 1.5 miles from the marina, one block from the Alaska SeaLife Center. We liked the location, easy walk to some local restaurants and the Sealife Center. You can walk the 1.5 miles to the docks where most of the tourist stuff is, or it is an easy drive if you have a car. Don't expect a great view of the bay, the hotel is a bit back for that but some of the higher floor rooms do have a partial view.
We would definitely stay again, the price was right and the location worked well for us.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the bay, ask for a room with a view but expect to pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Hotel Seward is like two hotels in one. On the new side, you have wonderful rooms with fantastic beds. No strange smells or horrible noises. If you’re lucky, you can book one of the “Rooms with a View” and wake up every morning to an incredible view of the bay and mountains. The staff is the friendliest hotel staff and they will work to improve your stay if anything goes wrong. There is also a washer and dryer available as well as ice machines and vending machines. On the old side of the Hotel, there are “hostel room” that are ideal for tourists that are backpacking across Alaska. The rooms are very small and only a few have their own bathroom. (Otherwise, you share a bathroom.) The hotel is also in an ideal location for "downtown" restaurants, the SeaLife Center, and the parks along the bay. If a hostel sounds appealing, I recommend this place. If you have a fabulous hotel room, I recommend this place. Also, the decor in the lobby and the all the historical articles and pictures on the walls make it a great stop on a road trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Room with a View." Absolutely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.5 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Property: Hotel Seward
Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing