We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here one night during our visit to Seward in one of the economy rooms, 2 twin size beds and shared bathroom. Beds were comfortable, room was clean. The bathroom situation was better than what I expected, they provide Lysol to sanitize if you like. They also provided tub/shower cleaner if you wish to use it. The lobby is really nice, arranged with wild alaskan animals and other items.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. We were not impressed. The staff was unfriendly, but not mean. Our room was on the first floor and our view was of the parking lot. We requested a king sized bed but got 2 double beds. The room had a funny smell to it. The hotel itself is a Victorian hotel cluttered with stuffed wild game. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant once. The food was actually really good but it was highly overpriced. $3 for one mug of coffee...yikes. Location was great, right in the middle of the tiny town. We walked everywhere. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Thrilled with this accommodating staff (especially Mary Kulstad...she is my "go to gal")! Our family of 4 adults & 2 yr old enjoyed a great 24 hour visit...close to the Sealife Center, restaurants, walks on the beach, etc...we will be back!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank gb7ihla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in one of the economy rooms. These are a great option for travelers on a budget, and we were grateful to the Hotel Seward for making these available.

Friendly staff, great hotel location. Staff let us check in very early. Room was on the small side, but clean. Bathrooms were slightly dirty, but perhaps this was due to the shared nature of them.

$100+ is usually considered expensive for a hostel-style room. However, considering the high prices in Seward and great location of the hotel, I'd say that this is good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel and our stay was nothing but average. We stayed in the historic wing...where my husband and I had to sleep on separate twin beds. The room smelled kind of musty, and the pillows are paper thin. The staff was nice, which was a redeeming quality. We could only access our room by stairs, which sucks when you have a lot of luggage for your three week Alaska adventure. The shared bathrooms totally sucks. They need something with JUST a toilet, because when you really have to pee at 7 am and people are in the showers taking their sweet time, it can be really aggravating. Having just a toilet would be really nice. However, when I explained to the person at the front desk that I was about to go pee in my sink, they let me use theirs. Otherwise, it was just an average stay. I'm sure if you got one of the nicer rooms it would be much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Egordon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our tour group of 27 people were all pleased with this quaint hotel in the heart of Seward! We arrived right before the July 4th holiday and were treated royally. The friendly staff served a great breakfast buffet each morning. We had lots of fun taking photos with the stuffed animals throughout the Lobby area. Accommodating and comfortable for two nights with days spent on Resurrection Bay and the Sealife Museum. Enjoyed the videos of the earthquake and the tales from folks who had experienced this tragedy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Two rooms for two nights in the newest addition. Excellent in all respects. Restaurand and bar is very, very small with limited seating and newly employed personnel which left us searching elsewhere. VERY strict on check out time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HammerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing