We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills in the historic wing”
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seward
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Being unwilling to pay $200+ for a room in the modern wing, we got a discounted rate in the "historic" section. No bath in the room, but we did get a sink. Two single beds, reasonably comfortable, and a nice harbor view. Pretty much a throwback to 1940s accomodations.

Our room was above the bar and small restaurant. so a bit noisy before midnight. My wife had earplugs and I would recommend you bring a pair just in case a loud party is downstairs.

If the hotel is busy, sharing the bathrooms is a bit annoying, especially because they are not serviced that often (once a day, perhaps?). If you're staying upstairs, a trick is to head to the first floor where there are 2 more bathrooms and not many guest rooms.

Unlike other reports, the front desk staff we encountered were not particularly friendly, but reasonably helpful when prodded for information. On our first night, we did get a couple bottles of water, some granola bars and a piece of fudge -- all more than I would have expected. The owner seems to take some pride in the property. The lobby is pleasant and interesting, with lots of mounted animals.

Bottomline is that I would stay here again if it were significantly cheaper than other options.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

the staff at Hotel Seward were helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and adequate except there was no A/C or fan and the room was uncomfortably hot at night. We did not get good sleeps. For >$200 per night it is reasonable to expect A/C.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Our king room was comfortable, with two easy chairs and a frig, making it a nice place to hang out. We had a great few across the bay and multiple windows to open for fresh air. I would rate this room's comfort a 5.

Our teenagers were in a room with two beds. There was only one window that opened which did not have a window screen and their room was uncomfortably warm. Luckily, our room had a small fan which we brought into their room and it helped cool the room down. Although the room heating was turned off, we couldn't figure out how the rooms were so warm especially when the weather was qutie cool. I would rate this room's comfort a 2.

The staff is very nice and helpful.

The hotel is located close to the Sea Life center and some restaurants. However, it is not near the train station nor the small boat harbor where most activities depart from. There is a free city-run shuttle which is a converted yellow school bus. It runs every half hour until 6PM. The boys and I would walk the 20 minutes to/from the harbor area but my husband needed to take a taxi back one evening (~$5).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americaine-in-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed in Seward for three nights, staying in the Hotel Seward all three nights. We had a coupon from the Northern Lights coupon book allowing us to stay in an executive suite for $199 for 2 nights. We found out by trying to get a room for a 3rd night that it would be about $250! That little coupon sure was worth it! We decided to stay on the old unrenovated side of the hotel for the first night to save a little money. I would give that side of the hotel a 3. It was small and definitely no thrills. Of course it needed major updating, but what do you expect from the 'old' side of the hotel? No real complaints. The next two nights, we stayed in the new room and we couldn't be happier. We had a spacious room with the BEST beds. Wouldn't change a thing about the room! We ate breakfast in the hotel in the am and, while it seemed a little pricey (what isn't in AK?!) the omlette was great! The staff is friendly and the hotel is right next to the Sea Life Center. Also a short drive from the harbor and day cruises. Recommend Rays Restaurant on the water, the Smoke Shack, and the Exit Glacier Salmon Bake (top 3 on TA). Wouldn't suggest the Crab Pot restaurant by the hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We reserved a roomt in this family owned hotel without a significant amount of research and its a WInner! The staff was very cordial the rooms were clean and modern. Access to the Sea Life Center is great 2 blocks and Resurrection Bay is just steps away. Access to established restaurants, shopping and night life is also a plus. The on site restaurant is the shocker......very small but the quality of food equals or surpasses that found in large cities. The seared tuna is the BEST I have ever had and the prices are very attractive. All in all the Hotel Seward is the place to stay in this beautiful coastal community.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcrwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Seward for 2 nights. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. We used the coupon in the northern lights book and stayed in the executive view room for a total price of $199 for 2 nights. We felt the value was great. Every staff member we dealt with was very friendly and personable. Most major chain hotels should send their staff here to train under these people. The room was great. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a corner room. The room was exceptionally clean and included a fridge, microwave and electric fireplace. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of them. The room had a very old fashioned feel with modern touches including a flat screen tv mounted above the fireplace and approx 90 channels including HBO. There is also a state of the art gym located right next door that hotel guests are permitted to use as many times as they want and my wife raved about it. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the opposite end of the 2nd floor which came in very handy as we were traveling through Alaska for 2 weeks. The hotel lobby was also very interesting. It features many stuffed animals and every time we came or went there was free coffee available. To sum it up, this is a great hotel and I enthusiastically recommend it to anyone staying in Seward.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynchmob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Alaska and were so happy with the room. The owner of the hotel was so friendly (along with her little dog Cody). We had problems with the cable TV, and were promptly moved to another room. The room is supplied with yummy cozy bathrobes and was nicely decorated.

The hotel is located just a block from the Sealife Center which we enjoyed so much. It was a rainly day so spending time there worked out wonderfully. I was even able to walk back to the hotel for a quick nap so I could spend more time enjoying the Center. We liked the town of Seward also....the shops are so nice. One of the salesgirls in the "Once Upon a Moose" was such a dear, gave us lots of ideas on what to see and where to eat. Bought the neatest sweatshir there ~ love it. Thanks Michaela!

Ate dinner at Christo's ~ wonderful food. Loved the tomato basil soup.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
1.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,144 reviews
0 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 13 in Seward
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: £37 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seward Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing