We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marina Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sauerdough Lodging(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taroka Inn(Seward)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
26
29
39
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
29
39
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owner managerintended stayclean sheetsbudget hotelfishing tripsea life centertodddowntownunitkitchenettedocksmile
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2006

The Marina Motel is a small, very basic motel. We stayed two nights. We found the curtains to be reasonable for blackout, and we left the windows open behind the curtains so the rooms were comfortable at night. The noise from the highway didn't keep us up - I guess night traffic isn't very big in Seward since it's at the far SE end of the Kenai peninsula. The town is tiny, so nothing is very far, but you do have to cross a busy two lane highway to get anywhere. The motel is a 2 minute walk from the train, 6 minute walk from the large ship pier, and about a 6 minute walk from the small boat pier. There are hotels in town which look nicer and are closer in to the main part of town, but we wanted something that would save us a little. The owner was incredibly accommodating when our cruise ship was delayed by two hours; she let us stay in one of the two rooms we had until the time came to go.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

The Marina Motel is just ok - nothing to get overly excited about. We had a room in the new section of the building so I can't speak to the rooms in the older section. Given its newness, everything was fresh and clean in our room. To be on the safe side, you might want to suggest a new room if booking.
Compared to the lower 48 states, this hotel is a bit lacking; however, compared to the rest of Alaska, I learned this hotel was probably ok for the money. Our biggest compaint it that is doesn't have air conditioning. I realize this is Alaska! However, you need AC - and here's why. In the summer it doesn't get dark. You have to close your blinds in order to sleep - when you close your blinds you lose all natural AC you might have otherwise gotten from the outside. In addition, this particular motel is a problem because all rooms are on the first floor and right on the highway. It is unsafe and loud to leave your windows open in the motel. So, in order to actually be able to sleep, you have to close the windows and curtains - which makes the room get quite hot. To top it all off, the curtains at the Marina Motel are not black-out curtains, so it was still quite light in the room.

Other issues were minor: no blow drier, no ice bucket liners, unusable TV remote.

We paid $99 / night. I'd pay up to $25-50 more to get better curtains and a cooler room. When I booked, the other Seward Hotels seemed more expensive, so you'll have to make the call for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank transmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, VA
418
Reviewed 21 July 2005

We stayed at the Marina Motel for one night in July 2005. Although the rooms are OK, bear in mind that this is a small town in Alaska, not a large city in the "lower 48". Good cable TV, small refrigerator, and good blackout drapes, and the room was clean. However, the furnishings are somewhat tired and the bathroom is quite small. On another visit I would check more closely into what the competition offers.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2005

We stayed for one night at the Marina Motel in Seward. The motel is located within a short walking distance from the harbor.

The rooms are fairly standard - two double beds, bathroom, TV, etc. - but the key benefit of staying here in the summer is the lined, almost blackout drapes at the windows! The decor is a little outdated but the rooms are clean and tidy. If you are looking for more atmosphere this may not be your top choice.

Donna, the owner, was friendly and very helpful with suggestions for the area. The check-in/check-out process was efficient and easy. Room price was about $120 during the summer.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this motel for a good, basic night's lodging.

10  Thank taistealai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2004

Since we were just needing a place to sleep and clean up before catching our overnight cruise the next morning, I looked for the best value with close proximity to the small boat harbor at Seward. What we got was an almost new atmosphere, an above average room, and an onsight "tour guide" who told us the best local place to eat, what time the attractions opened, and even suggested a twilight hike to Exit Glacier, which we did and enjoyed. The shuttle picked us up for our tour the next morning right outside the door and pointed out the bald eagle nest just 20 yards away from our motel window, complete with chicks just ready to fly. The clerk also offered to let us leave our car in the motel parking lot, where she and the staff would watch over it for us, even though I'm beginning to believe Alaska is the most crime-free state in the union. In all, a lovely resting place that was cleaner and more accomodating than some 4 star hotels we've stayed in! Give it a try!

39  Thank KR1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews