We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This motel didn't seem that nice but the rooms was quaint and clean and it was close to the pier so it was nice when we had to go out fishing in the early AM. It had WiFi in some rooms and an ICE MACHINE which is a hard thing to come by when you're in Alaska.

Room Tip: Get a room inside, not by the road. Lots of traffic at all times of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlong3711 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
44
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here in June and found it to be dirty. The hallway carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month. The bedroom was dirty, especially the covers. They offered no continental breakfast, except a bagged lunch for $10.00. The showers had two temperatures-warm or cold.
$159 for one night and you got nothing of value. The TV was ok once you figured out how to turn it on and how to get the channels. TIP: read the brochure in the room for directions.
Will we recommend it? NO! Find someplace else

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cyclop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seward hotels

Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived late afternoon and were upgraded to a large, bright , clean room. This motel is family run and personal service is it's strength. The location was ideal for the harbour and all the attractions of the town were within walking distance. We loved Seward, went whale watching and enjoyed the lovely atmosphere. The motel was great value.

Room Tip: Not a big place. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Motel is located close to the harbor but quite far from downtown. There are large rooms and comfortable beds, continental breakfast is good. The price is quite good compared to other rentals in Seward. Wifi was provided in all rooms but the connection was slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
457 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I was quoted one price on the phone for a room with 2 queen beds. I was given a better rate upon arrival, but could not have a room in a desired, newer section of the motel that I stayed in last year for a similar rate.

Valerie's family sold this place in March and there was not the same customer service oriented feel, as it did last summer.

My room was cramped and dingy, and no one could fit on the toilet, but we survived and had a blast in Seward. We could easily walk from the Marina Motel to the Seward Boat Harbor for several Kenai Fjords boat tours which is a bonus.

The rooms on the south face end have traffic noise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Convenient. Close to Train and Cruise Terminal and Shopping. the furnishings were old and the bed spread had an oder. The shower ran out of hot water. Leaving an icewater shower. To their credit they did let us in a little early since we came in by train at 11:30 am

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to Alaska. The room itself is very dated and could certainly use some updating. That being said, it was clean and safe and very conveniently located to all that Seward has to offer! The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mn_karen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 14 in Seward
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 1603 Seward Hwy, PO Box 1134, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, comfortable rooms all with small refrigerators and some with microwaves and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel Seward, Alaska
Marina Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing