We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive, old, noisy”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“expensive, old, noisy”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

rooms are old, but clean, over priced, close to the street and train depot

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
43
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

pros: location, free internet, friendly staff (like everyone in alaska)
cons: very simple, no breakfast, a bit overpriced (like everything during the summer in alaska)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Older motel, superior room was fairly large, but lacked curtain on back window (20+ hours daylight in June). Motel is close to train depot, cruise terminal, and small boat harbor (fishing, restaurants, Kenai tours, shopping). Town offers free shuttle to Alaska Sea Life Center aquarium and around town. motel seemed pricey for what you get, but affordable for Seward, you get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Just finished a week long stay at the Marina motel while doing some fishing. I had to book several rooms for the party I was with and was happy to find out that they were very responsive via email. We arrived and the rooms were ready and very clean. Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Needed a clean room to sleep one hight during our week long fishing trip. Matina Motel was the cheapest room I could find. We checked in late and all they had was one of their newly remodeled rooms. They said they upgraded us to it at no extra charge. The bathroom was brand new and the rest of the room was clean. The beds were comfortable and my son and I slept like babies. Out by 6AM the next morning for a fishing trip. Perfect room for our needs for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsb41853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we were really dissappointed ith this hotel. Don't get me wrong the place was really clean, but the rooms were realyy small and dark, even with the curains open. The price we paid we could have stayed across the road at the Holiday Inn Express for cheaper, and with a better view. The noise from the road is a bit of a problem, especially at night. We would not stay here again. I would really recoomend you do the Glacier trip but walk down to the harbour and book it there as the hotel reception put their commission onto the price but don't ell you that, you even get charged for them faxing the company to book the trip, considering it's only across the road, what's wrong with phoning, it's free

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seward hotels

Wilmot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Stayed in one of the newer rooms and it was okay. Nothing fancy. Just wanted a clean and safe place to spend a couple of nights in Seward during my trip to Alaska. The owners were very nice. I thought it was a pretty good deal for Alaska in the summer. The view of the mountains around the harbor was nice.

  • Liked — Location and convenience.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank archandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#9 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 1603 Seward Hwy, PO Box 1134, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, comfortable rooms all with small refrigerators and some with microwaves and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel Seward, Alaska
Marina Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing