We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Adventure”
Review of Liquid Adventures

Liquid Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professionally guided kayak and SUP trips in Kenai Fjords National Park, Resurrection Bay and amazing Bear Glacier. We are a small, owner-operated company that consistently offers the BEST paddling experience possible in a safe, fun and supportive environment. All abilities welcome. We are featured in National Geographic Adventure Magazine, The Unofficial Guide to Alaska and several other national titles.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We traveled to Alaska in mid-May right before the "high-season" began. We booked the Aialik Glacier Kayaking trip with Liquid Adventures for our second day in Seward. First of all, Seward is a great little coastal town on the Kenai Peninsula. We highly recommend adding this town to your Alaskan adventure.
But back to the kayaking. We booked the tour via the Liquid Adventures website. We heard back within a few hours from Chris confirming our trip. When we got to Seward, we received another confirmation from Pam the night before our trip reminding us of what all we needed to bring.
On the morning of the kayak trip, we arrived at the Liquid Adventures office at 7:30 am. We found out that we were the only two people on the trip that day plus we had two guides going with us as well! Jared and Chris were our guides. Pam got us all set up in our dry boots and then we all walked down the coast to our pick up point. We were picked up by a high speed cruiser which took us out to Aialik Glacier. On the 1.5 hour boat ride, we stopped to check out various types of marine life including lessor porpoises, sea otters, sea lions, puffins, humpback whales, and several types of birds. We were told we were very lucky to see all of these different animals. The boat's goal is to get you to the drop off point, but the guides on the boat are constantly looking for wildlife to point our. When we arrived at Aialik Glacier we loaded up our kayaks and set off. Jared and Chris are extremely knowledgeable about the glacier and all of it's surroundings. Coming from Arizona and the desert, there is nothing like seeing a glacier for the first time. It was spectacular. We even got so close to see and hear the calving of the glacier. It was putting on a show for us!
During a break, we ate lunch on the shore which was prepared by Pam. I have now adopted her recipe for turkey wraps because it was so delicious! They even brought piping hot hot cocoa and brownies for dessert. She definitely thought of everything.
After lunch, we went for a short hike getting closer to the glacier and even saw wolverine tracks. Then back into the kayaks we went. Jared and Chris narrated the whole trip in great detail without being too textbook. It was just like four friends having a conversation about our surroundings. They really related to us. They even took several pictures of us one which will definitely be our holiday card this year.
Since we were the first tour of the season and my husband challenged Jared, they both took the Polar Bear Plunge before ending our great day! I'm so glad I didn't partake in that!
After about 4 hours of kayaking (sounds like a long time, but goes by so fast when you're having this much fun), we were back on the boat and back to Seward. We even tried to track down some orcas on our trip back!
All in all, we highly recommend this tour. It was a great way to spend a day really getting out and experiencing Seward and Alaska. From the narrated tour, to the personal attention, to the delicious homemade lunch, everything was perfect! We'll definitely be back in the future!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Absolutely Unforgettable”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were a group of five college friends looking for a great day trip out on kayaks and we couldn't have been happier with our decision to go out to the Kenai Fjords with Jared from Liquid Adventures! We had great views of the many mountains, incredible up-close experience with a glacier, and unbelievable wildlife to boot. Jared knew a great deal not just about the park but all of Alaska as well which helped with the rest of our long tour of the state. We were recommending it to our friends before we even left town! It was a great day on the water we'll never forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WWJWTPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So incredibly amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I did the SUP day trip to Bear Glacier and I had such an incredible experience! I 100% recommend this awesome trip and this amazing company! Chris and Pam are so lovely and so so passionate about Alaska and the amazing adventures they have created. From the water taxi to the beach, to paddling over a wave to get to shore, to being surrounded by icebergs and gorgeous mountains, to sitting on our boards having a hot chocolate and brownie break, to riding the flow of the river back to the beach - everything was perfect!!! I am SO happy I did this trip and will definitely choose Liquid Adventures when I go back to Alaska one day! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodak, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Alaska!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We did an overnight kayak fishing trip to Safety Cove and also did the stand up paddle board trip to Bear Glacier and had an amazing time. Chris, the owner, was our guide on the fishing trip. He is very knowledgable and a lot of fun. We caught a ton of fish and great food provided by Chris and desserts by Pam. He provided high quality gear for the trip. We have never kayak fished before, but he made it simple to understand. Henry and Jared guided our SUP trip. They were very helpful and a lot of fun. If you are going to Alaska, this needs to be number 1 on your list. Well worth the money. Even enjoyed the water taxi with Louie!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUP in Bear Glacier is awesome!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We purchased the stand-up paddleboarding adventure to Bear Glacier. Chris, the owner, personally accompanied us as one of our guides, along with Jared, another guide and they led us on an adventure of a lifetime. The guide to participant ratio was very low, with only four of us in the group. Both Chris and Jared have extensive knowledge of stand-up paddleboarding, kayaking, etc., and knew all of the amazingly picturesque places to take the group.

Bear Glacier is located in a more remote section off of Resurrection Bay and Liquid Adventures arranges for a water taxi to transport the group to and from the lake where Bear Glacier is located. You are likely to see multiple whales, harbor seals, sea otters, bald eagles, and other marine life along the way.

When you are arrive at the paddling spot, the guides provide instruction to ride the Resurrection Bay surf to land on the beach by Bear Glacier. Once on the beach, you move to an isolated lake that has amazingly huge icebergs that you get to navigate your paddleboard through. What an experience! You are also likely to see harbor seals in the lake and watch chunks of Bear Glacier ice break off as you paddle. The great thing about this adventure is that you will likely be the only tour group in the vicinity and can enjoy the epic scenery without a crowd.

We enjoyed a long day of paddleboarding with an energy boost from homemade brownies and an added bonus of hot chocolate - big thanks to Pam!

Liquid Adventures outfits you with top of the line equipment and dry suits to keep you warm. From novice to experienced paddleboarders, this adventure will be a highlight to your Alaskan experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Liquid Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing