We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“quality and service lacking, over-priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falsled Kro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Falsled Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Millinge
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“quality and service lacking, over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I was disappointed by the quality and service at this Relais and Chateaux. I expected a lot more out of the big price tag per night. It's not cheap. Over $500/night and does not include breakfast!!! Over-priced for what you got. The setting was nice. Near the water in a very quaint town. But nothing to do. You have to rent a car and go for a drive to see the area and get to a town where there are restaurants and shopping, about 20 min away. The room was okay but not practical. Nowhere to put your stuff in the bathroom and your luggage ends up staying in the middle of the living room cause its loft style with bed and cupboards upstairs but stairs are too narrow to bring your suitcase up. We had room no. 4. We had dinner both nights in the hotel and it was disappointing. You were offered no selection and some of the dishes were repeated the next dinner! They basically told you what you were eating and when. The night before they want to know what time you are having breakfast to make it easier on the kitchen. I'm on holidays, I don't know know what time I will be waking up! Dinner was very expensive and so was breakfast. Not worth the money. Breakfast was the exact same thing both mornings. No choice was offered. There were many little things they could do to raise the standards and thereby make it a better experience. For example, we stayed in early september and it was chilly. They had a fireplace in the lounge and I only saw it lit once and it ended up dying and not relit again. There is a great firepit outside which they could have lit and arranged chairs around so that after dinner you could sit outside. But it was never lit. We had no one to help us with our luggage when we arrived, nor when we checked out. They charged for water and there was no mini bar to speak of and there certainly was no fridge to keep the drinks cold. No movie offerings on tv, which isn't a big deal normally but when you are paying this much money, you want a lot of comfort and services. No spa facility whatsoever.

Room Tip: Try finding a hotel in the neigbouring town of Faaborg. It's a great little town with shops and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank screennameha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
73
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Falsled Kro in a suite (17). There are many wonderful things about this place and it must be especially cosy and appealing in the winter when the fires are lit and all about is cold and misty. The grounds of the hotel are appealing (although gardens modestly planted) and the setting close to the sea and marina is charming. Buildings are olde-world cute.

The highlight of our stay was when we dined in the restaurant. The meal was brilliant and we also enjoyed the accompanying wine package which was interesting and generous with great service too. Definitely top marks here.

The rooms are pleasant but dated. I agree with JuneMalmer about the decor being granny-like. Bathrooms tired and seem to be decorated with cheap ceramic tiles (or perhaps expensive ones which look cheap). Shaving mirror was falling off the wall. Curiously the wardrobe was downstairs by the front door in our suite hallway and in the bedroom itself there was no shelf or drawer for clothes. Maybe an example of Danish design minimalism ?

On the upside the bed was big (they should point out the bed sizes on their website as we were told it was a normal double whereas it was actually a good king size) and the bedding etc was high quality. Housekeeping was pretty good although they forgot to service our room one day because apparently we had chosen not to have breakfast (?). They seem to have some process going whereby the housekeeper is notified when the guests arrive for their breakfast - so if you don't then she is not notified. That's a first for me. Moral - if you are heading out for the day - go and tell reception.

The biggest problem we had was with sleep. The rooms are not air-conditioned and so if the weather is warm that is a problem - when we were there the temp was around 28-30c on a couple of the days and the thatched houses seem to retain the heat like an oven - presumably because they are so well insulated. Admittedly Denmark is not often that hot. Associated is that when you open the windows there are mosquitos and bugs about. If you do manage to sleep then you will definitely wake up at dawn as the simple curtains offer absolutely minimal blackout. This seems like an own-goal and one which could be easily fixed.

One seemingly dumb aspect of the hotel's food offer is that it does not offer a more simple menu for its residents. Basically it is the full 4 or 5 course extravaganza or nothing. To be fair the reception staff did say the kitchen could do just 1 course as a sort of favour. However that is not a very comfortable way to dine. Had the place had a more varied choice of dining options from simple to more expensive (lunch brasserie menu looks nice) we may well have stayed to eat there on the evenings we did not want to have a the fine dining experience - but instead felt forced to go elsewhere. That said nearby Faaborg is a gem of a town with lovely high street and delightful port/marina area although disappointing dining options especially in the evening.

Staff at the hotel are all charming and helpful.

This is clearly a lovely place and much loved by its regulars. But for the price of the room (in our case over $500/night) you would expect perfection and this it does not deliver except in the dining room.

Room Tip: Some of the bedrooms are in the main building and have gardens with a view of the sea. These looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rex-Farquaharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

2nd stay after 6 yrs. First time charming , exterior still as charming but the interior meaning the upholstery needs a drastic change from those old flower power patterns to some contemporary designs. They look tired and worn . For the prices that they are charging and the distance to the hotel , it s only the Danes who can appreciate and designs only grannies will love.
Plumping needs to be fine tuned. Bathrooms need to be overhauled, they are just over used.

Wine menu in resturant is not up to par. Its never rude to inform waiter when the wine on the menu is sour or unpleasant rather than to hush up . That's definitely not posh.

Yes , its my opinion . Falsled Kro has plenty of room for improvement if the management sees beyond the bricks and thatched roof . In fact many of the surrounding houses have removed their thatched roofs in favour of common roof tiles which is killing the beauty and charm of Falsled. I have stayed in better hotels for that price and these hotels are not afraid to move with the times.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JuneMalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel, is stunning without pretense as true exceptional places should be. One feels immediately at home, welcome and appreciated. The grounds and buildings are simply marvellous and the equipment short of nothing. So does the perfect discreet and very efficient housekeeping. Where else is your room done precisely during your breakfast ?

The restaurant is no less great.
Vegetables and fruit from the hotel garden have an exceptional flavour, quail eggs are THE speciality and Per Hallundbaek 's cooking sublimates them perfectly. Very creative, very inspired dishes are a delight, a real blessing. Perfection without useless frills best describes the very kind service. Wine list is incredible, maybe a little too centred on french wines, the heritage of the previous, french, chef.

Perfection of course comes at a price but we think it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have been here 3 times, and each time with great success. The rooms you are given are so tastefully furnished that they make you want to move in. We recommend room number 16.

The restaurant is an experience in itself, amazing service, great food, nice surroundings, homemade this and homemade that. We also end the evening with Falsled Kro’s cheese cart, which is actually a meal in itself.

In the morning, there are fried quail eggs, homemade butter and jam, and there, everything is perfect as well. Expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The food is still great at Falsled Kro but it was better when Lieffroy ruled the kitchen.There is not much innovation and modernities but solid good food.
The rooms however are great. They are quite big (Danish standards), cosy and have a fire place.
The service is great and it feels like that everybody on the staff is put on this earth to please you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danishtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Expensive: for sure!
But what a gem of a place. Been here one year ago and decided to revist and enjoy this pearl of a place in southern Fyn.
The staff were all just as welcoming as we remembered. Total pampering in the beautiful simple but exclusive suites. Fireplace lit and afternoon tea served in the lounge.
DInner is a piece de resistance, and well worth enjoying.
Right now they have an anniversary menu celebrating 40 years - and the menu is just perfection.
Cannot recommen this highly enough - 2 hours drive from central Copenhagen

Room Tip: room no 1 has a sea view - but all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinge
18.6 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
6.9 mi away
Faaborg Fjord Hotel
Faaborg Fjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Faaborg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.2 mi away
Gl. Brydegaard Hotel
Gl. Brydegaard Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brydegard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard
21.3 mi away
Hotel Troense
Hotel Troense
#3 of 8 in Svendborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
8.8 mi away
Glamsbjerg Hotel
Glamsbjerg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glamsbjerg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falsled Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falsled Kro

Property: Falsled Kro
Address: Assensvej 513, Millinge, Assens 5642, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Assens > Millinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Millinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Falsled Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Falsled Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falsled Kro Millinge
Falsled Kro Denmark/Millinge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing