We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, relaxed hotel by the sea”
Review of Skovshoved Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skovshoved Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We've stayed at Skovshoved Hotel several times over the past few years but never written a review. The first time was for a family wedding and since then we would never consider staying anywhere else. It's stylish, relaxed, comfortable and cosy within easy distance of Copenhagen central. The team who run it are delightful. Get a room with a balcony overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsideventnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

We just visited skovshoved on our trip to denmark.

It's without any doubt the most cosy hotelI stayed at ever. We stayed for 2 nights.
The staff was very helpfull and friendly.
The breakfast buffet is nice and common with delicious products.
The first night we had dinner in the restaurant and was recommended the 5-course innovation menu. That was outstanding, and the wine menu was a perfect match. Thank you so much for a cosy, relaxed and enjoyable weekend.

Hope to visit you again in the future.

love from carla & steve

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevecph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I was really looking forward to this out of the way, seaside hotel that seemed so out of the ordinary. It was the most expensive hotel of our two week holiday, and we spent two nights here. I cannot say enough about the wonderful restaurant and gracious staff. However the hotel has rented the first floor to a bar. This might not be a problem during some seasons, but in the summer the locals partied until 3AM on Friday and Saturday night. The windows of course need to be open (no AC and who would want it?) and there was simply no rest for the weary. It was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyChalupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

On the road to Louisiana art gallery, this gorgeous boutique hotel would be our choice for a honeymoon destination. Downsides: the seaview rooms are right next to the main road, so a tad noisy at night; and it's quite a way out of the capital, and hard to reach by public transport, though not impossible. Other than that, it can't be faulted; a superb seafood dinner menu, classic Danish breakfast; woodland/parkland nearby for walks; calm, discreet service; beautiful decor and plenty of space in the suites. Would love to return... if only the Danish kroner weren't so strong ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I loved my stay at Skovshoved. We were on our way to Sweden by car so wanted to be located to the north of Copenhagen near Helsingor. You are only 15 minutes from the city centre here and the bus stops right outside the hotel, but that was not important to us.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and made to feel really welcome. The hotel had a wedding on that day and we were offered a choice of rooms and a promise that if noise was a problem a quick call to reception would sort things out. (Noise was not a problem at all). The receptionsit was really friendly and made us feel right at home, even down to walking us around to the hotel's pub and getting us settled there for dinner later on.

The hotel is located one street back from the beach road. You can opt for a room with a sea view which we did but it was a little disappointing, you are looking out over the houses on the street. However we had a big balcony with chairs and table to enjoy the view there was. The hotel is undoubtedly old and full of history, you get the feeling of walking into a country house. Yet at the sametime it is modern, minimalist and tasteful - very Danish. Our room had some nice touches, sweets, Molten Brown toiletries and free, fast wireless internet.

We decided to eat in the 'pub' which is more of a relaxed restaurant with a bar. You won't find crowds of drinkers here. The pub is part of the hotel, along with a takeway! There is also a lovely restaurant that serves fine dining type food, we didn't eat there although I wish we had it looked superb. The pub served traditional Danish food, burgers and steaks that sort of thing. Dish of the day changes daily and this is what I had. Roast beef with salad and a bakesd potato. The biggest (and typically Danish) serving I've ever had, lots of delicious roast beef and the best bearnaise sauce. May partner had the cheeseburger and rated that highly too.

If you've been to Denmark before you'll know that it is expensive, there really is no point mentioning that this stay was on the expensive side but the quality was superb. I can not wait to go back on anther trip to Sweden. I've had dreams about the place ever since we stayed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowWhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Very nicely decorated & furnished hotel and room. The room was rather expensive for what you get, but thats to be expected at the current GBP FX rate in Denmark. I can't comment on lifts since we used the stairs, or air con since we don't normally use it.

Our room on the top floor at the front was especially nice, being quite spacious with lovely sea views from the french windows or sitting on the balcony. Very clean and modern furnishing.

The hotel restaurant was good and I think good value by local standards.

The hotel and restaurant staff were generally very helpful and pleasant. Notable, because service was very lacking at some other places we visited.

We hired a car & wanted to travel about a bit, so this hotel was the perfect choice. Able to get into town easily (10+min walk to a train/subway) or drive up the coast. Driving around was very straight forward since all the roads are very quiet and uncongested compared to the UK. The only difficulty caused by a minimalist approach to road signs and directions.

Would strongly recommend a drive north to Tisvildeleje & Hornbaek if you want to walk along beautiful and relatively undeveloped North Norfolk style beaches with big natural sand dunes. Of course, the weather is still northern Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We had a great stay here for three nights at the end of a trip around Denmark. Very nice rooms which were simply but very tastefully decorated. The pub food is great (I recommend the ribs). Very simple to catch a bus into town. My only gripe is that it is pretty expensive. That said, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottenlund
Hellerup Parkhotel
#1 of 1 in Hellerup
236 reviews
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
323 reviews
Schaeffergarden
#1 of 4 in Gentofte Municipality
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,116 reviews
Gentofte Hotel
#63 of 118 in Copenhagen
264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skovshoved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skovshoved Hotel

Address: Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality > Charlottenlund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Price Range: £114 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skovshoved Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome you at one of Denmark’s most charming hotels.You will find the hotel – cosy, presence, hip and romantic, at the same time.Skovshoved Hotel is located north of Copenhagen (only 7 kilometres). It is beautifully surrounded by old fishers men houses andmore wealthy modern houses Close to beaches, Nature, architecture and shopping areas.We welcome you to 22 modern rooms with balcony and sea view, perfect for work or treatment.Since 2011 our restaurant was awarded with a Bib Gourmand by the prestige’s Michelin guide as the only hotel in Scandinavian.Skovshoved Hotel and Restaurant is a modern hotel with unique facilities and with 350 years of atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skovshoved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skovshoved Hotel Charlottenlund, Denmark - Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing