We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Amanecer B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Amanecer B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 San Ramon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“100% excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place was a total surprise. I was traveling from coast to coast and needed a place to rest for one night. When I arrived at casa Amanecer I was very impressed by the architecture of the house. Beautiful and elegant where the modern touch is very well integrated with Nature. I spend several hours resting on the patio. Feeling immediately at home, I asked if they could accommodate me for a simple dinner... Well, I was served an amazing salad and pasta with fresh salsa. Absolutely delicious!
I recommend this place to anybody who wants a lovely rest. The rooms are very comfortable and the ambiance of the all place is totally Pura Vida!:-)

Room Tip: Instead of staying in San Jose, take the trip to this B&B. you will start you trip on a good not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysabel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpanzer, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hola Ysabel. Hope you are having an excellent time in Montezuma enjoying the sun, beach, food, etc, etc,,,,,,. Muchisimas gracias for your beautiful comments, you are very sweet. It was a great pleasure to have you here at Casa Amanecer. Welcome again !!!!!!

Un gran abrazo!!!!!
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
79
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great place to stay! Wonderful breakfasts...Helen was amazing and so sweet. Our two daughters still talk about Helens great house! ;). We stayed here for ten nights. San Ramon was a great base and we had a lot of fun exploring the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAmanecerMgmt, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I am writing on Helen's behalf, as she is a bit technologically challenged and pretty busy attending guests! She had nothing but good things to say about you and your lovely family. I'm very happy that it all worked out and you enjoyed your stay! Please come back again soon. In the meantime, have a lovely spring up there!

Saludos,
Christopher Panzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed for one week in this well designed B&B - lots of natural light in the room, functional furniture, spacious veranda as well as a comfortable indoor living room for the cool evenings. What makes this B&B stands out is the excellent hostess, Helen and her sister, Milena. They were wonderful to chat with and even helped us improve on our limited Spanish. The breakfast was ample, always filled with a variety of fresh fruits. Helen made delicious meals and soups for us to help calm our upset tummies. Easy access to San Ramón by bus or taxi. We will definitely stay here again when we visit San Ramón. If you are looking for a peaceful place to relax, you will find it here!

Room Tip: Room 4 is best as it is furthest to the main area and has windows on all three sides, being the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpanzer, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Buenos días Annie and Frank
As I told you when you were here at Casa Amanecer, it is always a great pleasure to attend people like you,VEEEEEEEERY SPECIAL. Milena and I really enjoyed our time with you cooking, talking, sharing things.......

Muchas gracias por sus lindos comentarios. We hope to see you again next year to drink a cup of coffee together, will be very nice

UN GRAN ABRAZO!!!!
Helen/Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Beautiful property with interesting architecture. The place has a very hip feel. Rooms were small but there's a good desk space and all the room you need. Best for me was the light, airy feel of the rooms. Each opens out onto a pleasant veranda with rocking chairs and tables. Staff were great, and breakfast was all you can eat and delicious. Not in walking distance to town, but an easy drive and awesome views.

Room Tip: Room 4 would be my choice - it's the only one with windows on three sides and gets more light th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAmanecerMgmt, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I'm so happy you found our place so enjoyable and liked the design of the house! When we decided to build the house, we wanted it to function as a bed and breakfast. It was also of utmost importance that each room have a beautiful view of the mountains (and sunrise) to the east. We worked with a wonderful, young, Costa Rican architect who helped us to realize our vision. The house was published in architecture magazine Su Casa in March 2008. Of course, the splendor of the house and view are but a backdrop to the warmth and attention we offer our guests! Please come and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Christopher Panzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our experience with Casa Amanecer started with a quick and cordial response from owner, Chris. We were impressed with the information he provided us, including the option to have us picked up at the SJO airport. He also gave us his manager, Helen's, email address and phone numbers so we could contact her with any questions we might have before arriving.

We rented a car and found the B&B easily with the GPS coordinates Chris provided us. Helen met us with a big smile that made us feel welcome right away. She is an amazing person and always made us feel that our comfort was important to her. We stayed six days and every evening she gave us options for breakfast and asked us when we would like it served. And every morning we looked forward to her delicious breakfasts, served with a smile. What great memories we will have of lounging on the patio, leisurely enjoying our meal, while the humming birds flit from branch to branch in the lush foliage in front of us.

The location is perfect to use as a base to come "home" to after a day of exploring. Situated in the mountains just minutes outside the city of San Ramon, Casa Amanecer is a relaxing oasis with a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains. I highly recommend the Casa Amanecer experience! Go, relax, refresh, and give Helen a hug for us :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpanzer, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
A very big "gracias" for your lovely comments! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Casa A and that you felt well taken care of by Helen. She is magnificent and a very dear friend of ours. I hope you have a happy, healthy and prosperous year in 2014! Please come back and visit us anytime.

Chris Panzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We needed a place to stay where the people could speak english and Casa amanecer was recommended by two different sources. Helen was amazing, the view is dreamy and the location lovely and homey. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niedra31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpanzer, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We are very grateful for your having found us and staying with us. We can't thank you enough for your lovely comments. Helen absolutely loved having you there. She sends the following message to you:

“I Hope you are having a good time here in my country. Thanks a lot for your nice comments. It was a big pleasure to attend you and your husband in Casa Amanecer. You are welcome again anytime!

Helen”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Casa Amanecer was our first stop on our trip to Costa Rica as we checked out the San Ramon area. Before we even arrived we knew we had found the right place to stay. We arrived well after dark and called for directions from just past town. Helen answer and told us to wait where we were. In 5 min she was there and escorted us right to Casa Amanecer. Things only got better from there. Helen is fantastic and made a stay a real pleasure. She got us all situated once we arrived and each morning she had a wonderful breakfast for us. LOL.. we were to full to have lunch after having Helen's breakfast, it was that good. We met friends Paul & Gloria Yeatman of retire for less in costa rica for a day of investigating the area and city of San Ramon. Each night Helen had given us a great recommendation for dinner. Helen is a real gem and a wonderful person. We really thank Paul & Gloria for telling us about Casa Amanecer. It has a wonderful view and is a great location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfm117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpanzer, Owner at Casa Amanecer B&B, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hello! I am responding to you because I know Helen is quite busy right now and might not be able to find the time. Luisa and I are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the B&B. We really appreciate your kind words, especially about our wonderful friend and associate Helen. She truly is someone special and we are so happy to have her managing Casa A while we are in Peru for an extended time. There have many a time that she has made us gallo pinto, so we know what a good cook she is!

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and for your very kind remarks! We hope to have you back again in the future.

Chris Panzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
6.6 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vista Valverde Bed & Breakfast
10.4 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
11.6 mi away
Tiriguro Lodge
Tiriguro Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orotina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amanecer B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amanecer B&B

Property: Casa Amanecer B&B
Address: Apartado 567-4250, San Ramon 4250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Amanecer B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, teak bed and breakfast in San Ramon, just minutes from the town center. Come and enjoy our home-grown organic coffee, herbal teas, fresh mountain air, healthy vegetarian fare and relaxing massage. The house was published in the March 2009 issue of Su Casa, with focus on sustainable architecture. We are former Habitat for Humanity employees from Costa Rica, Peru and the US and love to share the best that Latin America has to offer with our guests, including the food, music, poetry and the history. You can relax, read, write or connect to high-speed wireless internet out on the covered veranda. Also, we are always glad to help plan your trip, or offer suggestions. Just drop us a line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Amanecer B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amanecer B&B Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing