We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for tourists to stop”

Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera
Ranked #33 of 51 Restaurants in San Ramon
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for tourists to stop”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The restaurant is attractive and clean, their pizzas are good and the ceviche is excellent. Their beer is very cold! They advertise their clean restrooms. Nice valley view. We would make a special trip out there to their gift shop. Reasonable prices, good selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gringosincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    12
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keep going”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stopped on our way from la Fortuna to San Jose. We placed our order with the waiter. 30 minutes later when we asked where our food was, the waiter said one minute. He obviously forgot to put our order in to the kitchen. Another 20 minutes went by and we finally received our lunch. No sorry for the mistake, or anything. After all that time, food (rice with shrimp ) was salty. Not worth stopping. Keep going to San Ramon. I am sure you will find better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“If the locals like it, you probably will, too!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We hired a van and driver from Anywherecostarica to take us from San Jose Airport to Arenal Observatory Lodge. The driver stopped at Mi Rancho in San Ramon for lunch. The place was almost empty (it was mid-afternoon) but there were several Interbus drivers and a few Ticos sitting at the bar having lunch, and a couple of tables of tourists on the patio. We ordered ceviche and nachos. Both were excellent. Plates of food that I saw going past our table were piled high - no scrimpy portions! The menu is quite varied and reasonably-priced, and there is a great view across the valley towards rolling farmlands. If you are in San Ramon or if you are driving through on your way to Arenal, this is a good place to stop. there is a souvenir shop next door that should satisfy your need for trinkets, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food with good prices”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stopped there for a late lunch/early dinner with an amazing view being right off the main road. It has the reputation of being a happening spot, but we were the only ones there at that time. It had the feel of a country sports bar with wooden furnature, decor and Duck Dynasty on the tv. We ordered the typical Tico plate at about $8 each (not including tax+tip which is generally added to the bill in CR) . The beers averaged about $3-4. Good portion and taste. Don't expect service to jump at the drop of a hat, but you really shouldn't anyway when traveling. We'd return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good food and large portions ”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Villa blanca restaurant was too pricy and small portions. We tried eating at various restaurants in San Ramon and were consistently disappointed. Both my wife and I really enjoyed Mi Rancho. Seafood garlic platter was well portioned with very fresh mussles, a whole little crab, shrimp, rice and chicken with a flavorful salad.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera also viewed

San Ramon, Canton of San Ramon
San Ramon, Canton of San Ramon
 
San Ramon, Canton of San Ramon
San Ramon, Canton of San Ramon
 

Been to Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing