We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Barons Resort(Atenas)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
US$416
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
993
213
31
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
213
31
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud foreston sitecosta ricanight walkresearch stationpool tablemilk the cowsmovie theaternight touryogurtjuan carlosarenal volcanothe main roadhiking trailsself guidedhorseback ridingdairy farm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We didn't have enough time to visit Monteverde, so decided to stay for a night at Villa Blanca for a cloud forest experience. I am glad we chose this wonderful hotel. Everything about this hotel was perfect. The casitas are spacious and comfortable A fireplace, 3 beds and a nice jacuzzi were all great additions. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. The drive to this hotel is scenic as well. Breakfast was wonderful and we had multiple options. The restaurant is nice, but a little pricey. Don't miss the guided cloud forest hike and the night hike. The trails are pretty good too. All in all, it is a wonderful resort with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed our first night in Costa Rica here and what a great intro to the country! It was a short hour's ride to the hotel from airport and it was nice to get outside the city and see a little bit of the countryside before settling in. It also made the next day's journey to La Fortuna much easier. We loved the layout of this place and how eco friendly it was. A fireplace in our room along with jacuzzi tub added just the right amount of romance to the first night of our honeymoon. We saw numerous hummingbirds (one even flew into the dining room during breakfast). The wine and restaurant was good although I would warn against ordering steaks in Costa Rica...they definitely aren't anything like a good steak in the U.S. You couldn't go wrong with veggie entrees though and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishfulthinknsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

If you want a cloud forest experience w/o having to drive for 3+ hours to Monteverde, this place is for you. The road is fine, especially by Costa Rica standards. I would not recommend my 70-yr-old mom to tackle it, but my 18-year-old daughter and I actually rather enjoyed it! The hotel is absolutely superb. The grounds are breathtaking, the fireplaces in the casitas are awesome, and you are 20 minutes away from what I think is the best zip-lining experience in Costa Rica - San Luis! The restaurant is ok. The earlier comment about their limited selection of cereals is ridiculous - you can order fruits, eggs, pancakes, etc. off the menu (all included in the room charge). Dinners were a bit mixed: great appetizers but entrees were so-so... don't order a steak. Very nice bedding, great service, great shower, and very, very exotic setting! I plan to visit this place again and again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Overall nice eco friendly hotel and staff does try..... However, the internet did not work in the rooms even though it is advertised as working. Only supplied one luggage rack, had to request an additional one. No desk in room. Only had Coco Puffs as dry cereal for breakfast (not even Corn Flakes).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Villa Blanca is so worth the road to get there!! Even though it was raining we had a great time due to the amazing staff, the fireplace in our room along with the jacuzzi tub! We had no idea when we booked the room that it would be like this.
Hire the guide for a one on one cloud forest hike. So well versed and delightful to spend 2 hours with - it would have been a walk in the woods not knowing what we were looking at without our guide! Walking trees, water catching leaves, all amazing!
Our only complaint was that we were on a schedule and could not stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmawoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews