We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Hotel(San Ramon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Mango(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
990
213
31
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
213
31
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud foreston sitecosta ricanight walkresearch stationpool tablemilk the cowsmovie theaternight touryogurtjuan carlosarenal volcanothe main roadhiking trailsself guidedhorseback ridingdairy farm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
912 - 917 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in Deluxe Casita (#34) for 2 nights in January. Our room was spacious and cozy, with a fireplace and 2 bathrooms (one with a stand-up shower, the other with a fantastic Jacuzzi tub with a view of a private yard). The furniture was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. We had a mini-bar fridge, a separate living room, and a very nice, private yard with an incredible view of the cloud forest and rolling hills in the distance. We paid up for the Deluxe casita rather than the Standard ($235/night), and were very happy we did because we loved the Jacuzzi - it was cold in the cloud forest and this was a great way to end the day! The cloud forest reserve is beautiful - there are 1km of walking trail you can roam freely, but to tour the rest of the reserve you have to join one of the group tours at an additional cost. We are not into group tours, but really enjoyed the night walk (hosted by Roy), and would highly recommend it. We also went horseback riding through the cloud forest, arranged by the hotel, and this was one of the highlights of our trip - we rode through completely isolated countryside with nobody for miles and a spectacular view. The restaurant at the resort is excellent - a bit pricey for CR but still substantially cheaper than home. The room comes with buffet breakfast which included an omelette station. The hotel lobby is beautiful, and we enjoyed hanging out in the games room upstairs, which had a pool table and a great view. The resort is about a 45min drive down a pothole-ridden gravel road, so we were happy that we were not using this hotel as a hub from which to do day trips. Rather, we spent 2 very relaxing days there between hotels in other areas. One disappointment was the exercise room - although it appeared to be well equipped, there was nothing about it that inspired us to want to spend any time in there - the building is run down and uninviting. However, this is a beautiful resort and experiencing the cloud forest - without hundreds of other tourists all around - is magic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband, friends and I spent about half a day here. We ate in the restaurant and walked the property and cloud forest. Let me first say that they allowed us to explore the property even though we were not guests; we were appreciative of that. They spoke to us for awhile about the conservation work they do and their work with butterflies.
The restaurant was very good. They had an impressive menu.......so many wonderful things to choose from. The food was fantastic. The waiters were very attentive and friendly. The lobby and restaurant was very attractive and clean. They opened giant doors to let in light and fresh air. Butterflies fluttered around the lobby. It was a very nice dining environment. After dinner we walked around the groomed trails of the resort. There were beautiful plants, interesting birds, but perhaps best of all, a Sunbittern (a very unique, beautiful, solitary bird) glided by us within a few feet of our heads. Our friends stayed on the hotel grounds while my husband and I went down the hill to the cloud forest. It was very a very serene and beautiful walk. We saw beautiful butterflies, flowers and cool bugs.
We would definately consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Villa Blanca was a great place to stay, about 1.5 hours from the airport. The next day we were traveling to La Fortuna.
The 20 minute long unpaved road getting up to Villa Blanca was windy and crazy, but gave us a taste of what our week would be like driving in Costa Rica. We took a short hike on the hotel grounds just to stretch our legs. Dinner (and much-needed cocktails) was wonderful at VB. It's a quiet time of year here. We felt like the very attentive staff-to-guest ratio was 5 to 1. The rooms were very comfortable, and we even sat by the fireplace in our room for a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinawina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We ended at this wonderfully secluded spot high above the hills with view of ArenalCosta Volcanoe. We rode bikes to and from this hilly spot which makes me ache just talking about it as the access road is severe. Honestly, part of the magic of the place. The staff are wonderful. Our room (#15) was spectacular with views from every angle. The restaurant is wonderful with so many very healthy selections, including vegan dishes. The guided tours are amazing. My favorite was with Roy for the nocturnal walk. So many cool nocturnal frogs and insects. I loved the isolation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Highlights: the view, the mist, the hummingbirds, the onsite self-guided trails through cloud forest, the leaf-cutter ants (no worries - they are not interested in your casita!), the onsite chapel, the birds, the guided nature walk (knowledgeable guides!), the food (all meals were great), the eco-friendly measures, the list goes on.

Transportation tip: We took the public bus from San Jose to San Ramon ($2). It was easy and the bus was not crowded. It was also a direct bus, so it did not take that long. Check the bus schedule, but when we went, there was a bus every 30 minutes to San Ramon from the Puntarenas station in San Jose. If your luggage is small enough, you can put it in the overhead space in the bus (my patagonia MLC bag just fit). I wonder if you could also purchase an extra seat and store your luggage on the seat next to you... We caught a taxi (get a red one) that took us straight to the hotel (around $25). There are a ton of things to keep you busy and content at the hotel without a car (we stayed for 3 nights).

It was an awesome place - I recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C__357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews