We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

In the cloud forest this lovely property has a bunch of small cottages around (and below) the main house. In late December the nights are so cool that the fireplace was delightful, and there were roaring fires in the lodge. Our wi-fi was excellent with a router right in our room, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom great, but the best part is the location and the walks. If you have children with you (we did) don't miss milking at the farm first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that your kids shared a special experience by milking our celebrity cows, Lady Gaga, Madonna and Miss Britney while exploring our gardens, pastures and cloud forest nature reserve. Thanks for also expressing your appreciation of our relaxing boutique atmosphere and comfortable county style amenities we have to offer.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a great time at Villa Blanca. The staff was amazing, and the environment was so familial that our 5 and 6 year old were free to explore the property alone. They truly enjoyed the movie theater, and we even had the staff approach my husband and I at dinner to ask if they could take the kids to the game room so we could continue to enjoy our meal. Amazing service, amazing food, and amazing environment. We plan to return with our extended family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

To quote you, "Amazing service, amazing food, and amazing environment. We plan to return with our extended family." What more can we add but to thank you for your welcomed review and invite you back to Costa Rica and consider adding both our our sister hotels in Drake Bay, at Aguila de Osa Inn, as well as Manuel Antonio's Si Como No Resort, Spa & Nature Reserve, on the Central Pacific coast who are all members of Greentique Hotels.

Saludos,

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great place if you want a very relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting in a cloud forest. The hotel has it's own extensive acreage where you can be one with nature. The flora and fauna is spectacular. No TVs in the room. A lovely fireplace which is quite frankly only ornamental but it is quite pleasing to spend time AT&T night gazing into a fire which burns rapidly with a camphor starter and dry wood. You can sit at the main clubhouse and gaze into the mountains in the distance and watch the clouds come in and out. There are several excursions that we took that I would recommend. A very gentle horse back ride in the area just outside the property, the nearby zip lining, a trip to Arenal and the hot springs are the ones we enjoyed. The hyped nocturnal hike in the property is a complete rip off. One can see more critters near the main club house attracted by the lights. The insects are industrial grade and quite scary. Some guest complained of huge spiders in the room but we were spared.

Now for some of the shortcomings. We were on a family vacation and our grown kids wanted to be in a more lively place. The hotel is about 45 minutes away from San Ramon or about an hour from La Fortuna which is near the Arenal volcano. There is a 5 mile heavily potholed road to the main road which is connected to San Ramon or La Fortuna. It will shake every bone in your body. Since you are a captive audience, the prices for lunch and dinner are frightfully expensive. The front desk will arrange tours again at a huge price well above the going rate at the attraction. The zip lining was at a 30+% markup which leaves a sour taste in your mouth. Be careful about eating on your patio the raccoons are fearless and will grab anything they can lay their hands on.
Overall the natural beauty and location more than makes up for the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suites. They are a bit more expensive but way nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi-Anjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sloth69
Fortunately we are thankful you found the natural beauty and location well worth the value of your stay. However reading your "shortcomings", they were quite the opposite of nearly every single other review we have ever had, including the guided night tour, a constant favorite of guests, university programs, and recognized foundations including Audubon Society, Rainforest Alliance and INBio, (Institute of Biodiversity), as who regularly recommend this same tour as a highlight of Costa Rica's cloud forest habitats. We believe you did not take into account the Zip Line tour included our chauffeur driven vehicle to and from the location 45 minutes from the hotel that added to the entrance fee covers those costs.

Respectfully yours,

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We began our trip to Costa Rica with a two night stay at the Villa Blanca. What a beautiful, tranquil, and isolated location. The casitas were very comfortable but there was no TV and the internet was only available at the main building. The restaurant had delicious cuisine with a lot of variety. The waitstaff was very attentive and we really enjoyed the service provided by Ronald during our stay. The hotel is part of a working ranch and so there are opportunities to ride horses and to milk the cows which was fun for our family. We took several beautiful hikes in the day and one in the evening. They offered movies nightly which provided entertainment for children (first show) and for adults (second show). There is no swimming pool and the spa is limited.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Kristen W
We were pleased you found our day and night guided tours of our cloud forest reserve enjoyable as well as the attractions for your whole family. Sorry you did not utilize the internet that's available free in all our accommodations, but at least you still stayed connected in our public areas. Thank you for recognizing our level of hospitality, we like to refer to the exceptional Costa Rica experiences we strive to consistently deliver at our property as part of the mission of Greentique Hotels. I will let the team at El Sendero restaurant know you appreciated their quality of service and the variety of the menu.

Best regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just arrived back from a magnificent trip to Costa Rica. Villa Blanca was a beautiful hotel and the environment was breath taking. Terrific staff! The horse back riding was a great adventure. We did the nocturnal hike and saw many different species of frogs. You can also milk the cows and the hummingbird feeder is beautiful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Natalie M

We appreciate you taking the time to share all the positive experiences in the beautiful atmosphere of the Los Angeles Cloud Forest Reserve whose 2000 acres provide as your backdrop. Glad you enjoyed especially our guided night tour and the horseback ride in the neighboring dairy pastures of President Carazo. We hope you'll consider returning one day and adding our sister properties, all members of Greentique Hotels in as "breath taking" as Villa Blanca, located in the Osa Peninsula at Aquila de Osa Inn, as well as next to the national park of Manuel Antonio, at Si Como No Resort Spa and Wildlife Refuge.

Regards,

Joxan Obando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is truly a little piece of heaven. You arrive at the top of a mountain and you are literally in the clouds. If you want sun and sand this is not the place for you but if you love nature, animals, the environment, the best of Cost Rican hospitality and a truly remarkable experience then you have found the right place. We came here after spending four days at the beach and lived in the clouds for six fabulous days. The sun peaked through on occasion which was an added bonus but not required for a truly great time. Our accommodations were charming, clean, well-appointed and maintained casitas with breathtaking views. We had a jacuzzi which we used almost every evening and a fireplace which was setup for us daily.

They have a research center on the premises where you can learn about the environment and their efforts at conservation.

The staff could not have been friendlier. They not only provided excellent service but they are very knowledgable and passionate about their country and this place. Juan Carlos and Ronald in the restaurant became fast friends sharing their endless knowledge of the area and food. We had many tour guides over our time in Costa Rica but Ingrid was by far the best. She is passionate about her work and loves to share her knowledge. we learned a lot from her. All of the reception staff were terrific and very accommodating.

The restaurant served delicious food. Everything is fresh and organic. Vegetables tasted wonderful and are grown on the premises.

We had many adventures including zip lining and a visit to Arenal and thermal springs which were very special. And two walks around the property during the day and at night where we saw the indigenous wildlife.

We can't say enough good things about Villa Blanca. If you want to experience a truly wonderful Eco system of Costa Rica don't miss this marvelous place.

Room Tip: They are all individual casitas. Ask for one with a back porch. You can open the doors and feel clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Janet B,

How do we begin to express our appreciation of what you so well convey as, "a truly wonderful Eco system don't miss this marvellous place". You about covered everything that has made us so unique and appreciated by clients from every background who love nature and appreciate the good nature of authentic and sustainable hospitality where exceptional CostaRica experiences are the mantra we stove to always deliver.

Pura Vida,

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Overall experience was excellent - the staff very friendly and the accomodations were great. The night flashlight guided tour is worth the walk, you see so much that is not out during the day. Kind of creepy to think of all the things that you walk by o the trails during the day but do not see until nightfall.
I would like to stay at the other two sister properties in the future.

Room Tip: Since the rooms are casitas, they all are very good. The food for dinner and/or lunch were prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Cheryl M,

Appreciate your stay was so excellent and that you agreed with the consensus of why our tours, inclouding the cloud forest guided night walk, was so rewarding and a bid "creepy". We like to refer to the night life of the forest as entering another world like the Avatar movie. We will definitely welcome you back to include are sister hotels in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No resort and Aguila de Osa Inn. Feel free to take advantage of our special Greentique Hotel Packages with several choices of options to pick from, all with added value savings for combining many options we offer.

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
16.6 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
694 reviews
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,304 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing