We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixture of good taste and nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A mixture of good taste and nature.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It's a wonderful place to escape the chaos. Calming, secluded and peaceful it offers the ability to reconnect with yourself, nature and/or your loved ones. Most of their food is organically produced on their property and greenhouses. The dairy comes from their local cow, which is milked every morning with the option to assist if you like. The adobe brick cottages with working fireplaces and two wooden rocking chairs offer a cozy private taste of the past. It can get chilly at night so the fireplace is quite useful. There are no tv's or wifi in the cottages (at least the standard cottages) as not to allow yourself to be "distracted," but the beds are extremely soft and comfortable. The cottages are clean, but don't freak out over the occational insect or spider around. (You are in the rainforrest) . They do have a rec-room with tv's and a comfortable theatre where they screen films nightly. The staff are knowledable, extremely nice, and accommodating. It feels like you are on top of the country with spectacular views, even of the distant Arenal Volcano. The nature reserve is interesting filled with a butterfly and insect collection along with a small team of members documenting research and conducting nature hikes (which are $26 per person.) Don't be startled by the number of native roccoon families roaming around, especially near the nature building. They are not aggressive (at least from our experience.) You can take an unguided hike through one of their trails filled with humming birds zipping arround quite close to you almost startling you. Unfortunately, Most of the wildlife to be seen is along their other trail, which you must have a guide. They do have a spa and jacuzzi, but no pool (only one of the few drawbacks.) Breakfast is free and they will make whatever you like. The restaurant can be quite pricey for lunch & dinner with $15-30 plates. The food is very delicious as well as the cocktails, but it would be nice to have some more modestly priced options. In regards to that, you can find tasty full plates of local food at "SODAS" for around $5-10 per person. Unfortunately, a drawback because of its remote location you will need a car to leave at your will with the exception of daily van tours to the nearest town of San Ramon. Fortunately for my wife and I, we had a rental car, but would have to make the 9km drive through the bumpy back road about 25 minutes to the main road inorder to find a few nearby "sodas" . A few of the most helpful staff members were Christian at the front desk, Juan Carlos and Enrique in the restaurant, and Roy and Brian? in the nature reserve! In reflection the few drawbacks are no pool, rough unpaved road to location, and (understandingly) high priced menu with little other price options. All in all, it is a lovely place to stay depending on what you're looking for. Most likely not the spot for partiers, but great to get away and recharge!

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight and poncho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Michael C,
So pleased you were able to recharge your batteries and review so many of the qualities we have to offer at Villa Blanca. Obviously our chef and organic food items can’t compete with the local Soda pricing, but we feel the quality, service and atmosphere we provide in a secluded cloud forest venue is delivers the value that delivers the exceptional dining experiences our customers value. We do have an insert menu with some popular dishes that we also feature that perhaps you missed on the menu. We appreciate all the special aspects we provide our guests, from guided tours of the nightlife of the Cloud Forests to the comfortable casitas with their wood burning fireplaces. Most of all thank you for acknowledging the gracious hospitality of our dedicated staff and ongoing research by our Nature Guides.

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    189
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
291
558
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Villa Blanca reminds one of a retreat. The road into the property is rough, but gives one a glimpse of the agricultural life of the area with cattle, horses, rolling green pastures and a few homes. The hotel is actually about 35 individual casitas which are marvelous! They are spacious, well appointed, with fireplaces, porches with rocking chairs, Jacuzzis etc. (no tvs and you don't need them). The lodge area with the restaurant is beautiful and reflects great craftsmanship. Breakfast is included in your rate and it is a full featured menu. The restaurant and bar provide exceptional service and fare. Dinner offerings should appeal to everyone...with the freshest of ingredients, many grown right on the property. Walking is the main "activity"....on trails through the forested areas. Be prepared for cooler and damper conditions than you would find just a few miles down the road in San Ramon.

Room Tip: If you want a Jacuzzi go for the deluxe casita. Superior rooms have just the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What an amazing place! A luxurious experience begins at check-in with a freshly prepared welcome cocktail, hot aromatic towel and knowledgeable and friendly staff who cart (literally) your bags to the room. The rooms are actually individual cottages complete with a large bathroom/walk-in shower, fireplace with 2 rocking chairs, small desk, mini-refrigerator, and back patio also with chairs. The only thing missing is a TV which is perfect---you can wake to the chirping birds in the morning and fall asleep to the sound of cows mooing in the pastures. The food is exceptional --lots of fresh ingredients, great service and a comfortable but elegant dining room. There is only one restaurant on property though where all meals are served. Service outstanding throughout including the spa (the hot stone massage is heavenly!). Adorable chapel on the grounds as well as an opportunity to milk a cow and explore the grounds via several awesome self guided nature trails through the rainforest. When we visited in December, there was quite a bit of fog (you are literally at a high enough elevation to be in the clouds)and it was damp---a lightweight jacket or long sleeve clothing is perfect for the evenings. If you need a few days to relax, unwind and enjoy nature this is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: We chose the basic size room and there was plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Kim W,

If I read this as a TA reader, I would think you were a relative of perhaps the owner or manager. However since I am one and the same, I wish I could have met you personally and thanked you for capturing what we’re all about. So I hope this response conveys our appreciation of how you have best captured our hospitality and company mission statement. Delivering our boutique brand of consistent and exceptional Costa Rica experiences to all our guests are our #1 objective. We believe that is why we were again selected within Trip Advisor's top ten hotels in all of Costa Rica by reviewers like you. As members of Greentique Hotels, we are proud of the fact that the memories we help create, either in our cloud forest county style sanctuary of Villa Blanca in San Ramon, or the tropical rainforest coastline of Manuel Antonio at Si Como No, or on the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn, our management and staff believe that our brands of sustainable and friendly hospitality make all the difference in choosing where to stay.

Gracias,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel. It was our first time in Costa Rica and an ideal introduction to the country, particularly coming from rainy old Britain! One of us enjoyed milking the cows, we both raved over the humming birds, we liked the log fire in our room and the food was to die for. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear John L,

It's such a pleasure to meet a well informed couple who have traveled the world and given us such high marks. Your appreciation of all our efforts to hosts you with our commitment to providing genuine Costa Rican hospitality, here in San Ramon's Cloud Forest Nature Reserve, again reassures us all, both management and staff, that we are making the difference by delivering lasting memories by offering the quality, service, and sustainability hospitality of Greentique Hotels.. Hope you'll come again in the future and add our sister boutique hotels in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula.

Gracias,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great place with a fireplace that creates unforgettable smell and feel, locally grown delicious food, fresh cow milk, attentive staff. It's perfect to relax and experience different lush part of Costa Rica, but beware of weather! It may be cold, rainy, and always humid even in a dry season. We were not prepared for constant rain. We did not have enough and correct clothes. It would be better if some excursions around the property were included, i.e. Night Walk. The cow milking experience is fun!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Leona0
Appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and glad you found your stay an ideal place to relax and experience an authentic cloud forest habitat. Normally, because we are only at 1200 meters, the temperature is very comfortable and the rains are not so frequent. Having said that climate change also effects what’s the norm even for us near the equator. The very popular guided tour you took provides the proceeds for the research center that we operate with the University of Costa Rica and the salaries of our licensed Nature Interpreters who we feel share the “magic” of the Cloud Forest and the pride of our canton of San Ramon where they grew up.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
192 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Unlike any other place we stayed in Costa Rica and we've been coming for 12 years! We were happy to stay a night. Drove up on an unusual sunny day and enjoyed beautiful mountain scenery! The staff was attentive and the rooms well kept. We loved the fireplace and made a fire in the superior room! Would go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CtUSAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear CtUSAMom
We truly look forward to your return and appreciate you review. Perhaps next trip you will consider including our sister hoitels in the Osa Pininsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, as well as our beach resort in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No Spa and Wildlife Refuge.
Regards,
Jim Damalas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I had the time of our lives at the peaceful Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel. You won't be disappointed if you're looking for a special place to make lasting memories. The staff was extremely friendly, and we loved that the restaurant served dishes prepared with vegetables grown on-site. The casitas were a welcome refuge from typical hotel decor and the gigantic jacuzzi tub was wonderful for a relaxing bath. It was our first time in the cloud forest, which was unlike any other place on Earth. I highly recommend making a stop here during a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Leslie V,
We are so happy we hosted you with “…a special place to make lasting memories.” That’s what a honeymoon should be if we are to deliver what our brand is all about, exceptional Costa Rica experiences! We would like to invite you back for an anniversary as our VIP guests of Greentique Hotels. Adding two more special atmospheres to your next visit will assure you take away even more fond memories, “unlike any other place on Earth.”
Gracias,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing