We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and peaceful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Villa Blanca was one of our stops during our travels around Costa Rica. We're very happy we visited the unique location in the cloud forest. It's a remote location surrounded by beautiful pastures and forests with trails. The accomodations are beautiful, all separate casitas with a lot of privacy, each with wood burning fireplace, rockers, front and back porches, comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The property has a beautiful chapel that was a gift to the wife of the original owner and cows that we got to milk! We took the guided night walk, daytime nature walk and very early morning bird walk. They were all informative. We certainly saw lots of nature - coati, frogs, birds, lots of hummingbirds, etc. All of the staff was all very friendly and helpful - we watch them come to work and they all had smiles on their faces! Roxanna took the time to talk to us about our stay, The dining staff made the meals enjoyable - we will forget some peoples names - Jonathan, Juan Carlos and Enrique. The food was very good. It's worth the stop to discover a different side of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear DebTraveler57,
Glad you recommended us the most worthwhile visit to “discover a different side of Costa Rica”. We believe it’s the authentic side of what the locals term as “pura vida” from the drivers, guides and concierge, to the waiters and chef’s team in the kitchen, we enjoy sharing the sustainable hospitality that we believe are good natured Ticos, combined with the Magic of Nature that’s the Greentique Hotel experience we also share with our sister properties at Si Como No Resort and Aguila de Osa Inn. We welcome you back to see even more of our unique boutique side of Costa Rica.
Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

From start to finish, Villa Blanca exceeded our expectations. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. Service was professional and courteous, responding to all of our needs with confidence and efficiency.
The casita itself was beautiful (we upgraded to the honeymoon suite) with rustic, comfy furniture, a fireplace which we used each night as the cloud forest gets chilly, and a lovely jacuzzi. My only criticism was that the bed made a lot of noise (this was our honeymoon (-: ).
The grounds are beautiful and the self guided walking trails were entertaining and educational.
We will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 832amyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Amy K,
Thank you for the great review. Be assured we will work on the bedsprings in our Honeymoon Suites that apparently have been getting a workout lately. Good to read that you found your stay with us the great way to end your honeymoon, from the service, the comfort, value and the quality, and it seems everything in between, that exceeded your expectations. Hope we can see you for your anniversary and you can let us know if we fixed the bed next time for you.

Regards,
Joxan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Villa Blanca way exceeded my high expectations! I knew it was going to be awesome, but this was probably the nicest place I have ever stayed. Not only that, but the location was unbelievable. Such a magical area. More life than I've ever seen. Beautiful huge trees covered in other plant life, birds everywhere (especially humming birds!), butterflies, frogs, cows ... you can probably imagine the orchestra of sounds. The ride to the property was very serene and pretty. Pastures and farmland, rolling hills, flowers, trees, and cows. That's about it -- nature! The road was paved, narrow and windy, but it's a drive you want to take slowly anyway just for the scenery. When we arrived, someone met us at the gate and when we drove up to the hotel, Yustin was there to help us with our luggage. Upon entering the hotel, we were given a hot towel and a glass of freshly-squeezed papaya juice (we could've added alcohol if we wanted it). The staff was very friendly and accommodating; they explained everything. Our room was ideal. A cute little house all on its own; the porch offered unbelievable views. It was very private. I know there were other people staying there, but we hardly saw them except during meals. The room had a nice, big, clean bathroom, a stocked mini-bar and fridge, and a wood burning stove. The bed was very comfortable! They offered cool things that our short stay precluded us from taking advantage of, like a movie theater, game room, spa, meditation garden, yoga room and gym, and a biological research station. We did walk the trails around the property, though. Especially at night this was fun (though a little scary at first, the two of us alone in the forest looking for creatures in the dark)! There's a cute wedding chapel and a dairy farm. The food was excellent, and there were several reasonable options. Some were a bit pricey, but that's understandable due to the quality and remote location. They grow lots of the herbs and vegetables they use in their cooking, and a full buffet breakfast is included. They also offer several tours, and we were able to watch the cows being milked in the morning. You can try milking them yourself if you want. I highly recommend Villa Blanca and hope to get back there soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jen L,
You’ve generously covered so many of the great reasons that we are proud, as managers and staff, to be able to consistently deliver what so many great reviews and Guest Hotel Surveys describe about their stay in Villa Blanca, as the highlight of their holidays in beautiful and friendly Costa Rica, especially when staying with the family of Greentique Hotels.

Gracias,
Joxan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Set on a hill at the end of a long narrow road with pastures on both sides Villa Blanca offers fresh air, beautiful vistas (when the clouds lift), birds--especially colorful humming birds--flitting among the flowering bushes, a main "lodge" (hospitality, lounge, restaurant, game room, souvenir shop) and a sprinkling of cozy cottages "casitas" at the edge of lush forest, and a family of wandering harmless coatis. Like others who have reviewed Villa Blanca, we experienced sunny afternoons and foggy mornings. We appreciated the friendly and helpful staff, the informative local guide (Jiro) who took us through the forest; also the research staff in the small research center who are doing very interesting work. Villa Blanca provides an idyllic setting--the peace and quiet just to be. An important part of being at Villa Blanca is the excellent food served in the restaurant, where the generous morning buffet includes milk and yogurt from the Villa Blanca dairyfarm. The "game room" was a wonderful discovery for us--not for playing games (there are board games and a pool table) but for relaxing with a cup of coffee and enjoying the almost 360-degree view, especially at sunset. Perhaps Costa Ricans take their gleaming wood floors and ceilings and furnishings for granted, but I would have liked to read about the kind(s) of wood used.

Room Tip: We were happy with our casita; no experience with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carlita62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Carlita62,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. You summed up what we are all about, "Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences", and it's always very gratifying to read all the reviews that appreciate our mission of sustainable boutique hospitality. Those floors you noticed are made from Almendro, or Almond wood that is very durable and is waxed and polished regularly as well as the concrete and natural brick floors on the first level of the Hacienda that are a tradition going back in Costa Rica several generations.

Saludos,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Blanca very much. It is a relaxing, beautiful place with an amazing settings and very hospitable staff. The accommodations were very comfortable and the food was tasty and served in a friendly and professional manner. We highly recommend Villa to anyone who is looking for comfort and serenity.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Andre L,

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive review. Your appreciation of the hospitality and comfort of Villa Blanca, and the serenity we seem to capture within the property and cloud forest reserve are very important aspects we feel are added values many reviews and Hotel Guest Surveys continue to feel are very special assets of our private boutique hotel mountain setting. We hope you return again soon and add our other properties in the Osa Peninsula and Manuel Antonio, members also of Greentique Hotels.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived on a sunny afternoon. The next morning Villa Blanca lived up to it's location name, a very low cloudy, misty morning. We went on a bird watching walk and thanks to a great guide we managed to see or at least hear quite a number of birds. Lots of humming birds, we went back later in the day for some clearer photos. The night tour was very different with flashlights finding tiny frogs and lots of various insects. (Watch out for the ants, they will climb up your pant legs and bite you). Went on a second hike looking for the Quetzal but couldn't find him. Again the guide was great and we did find lots of interesting flora and fauna. Had lunch in small town of La Paz, and were treated to a demonstration of candy making with sugar cane, powdered milk, peanuts and a drop or 2 of vanilla, it got quite firm, looked a bit like peanut butter but it was yummy but very sweet. Last tour was to Carara National Park, a long drive to get there but our guide Roy was amazing. We had another interesting lunch in a small house right on the Pacific.
I enjoyed the food at the hotel very much buy my partner wasn't very happy with what he chose.
We had one of the honeymoon cabins which was very nice, had a little stone fireplace but we did not light it.
A very quite, peaceful place to relax at the start of our vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Be assured we will let Roy and his team of Nature Interpreters at Villa Blanca knows your great review of the tours you took with them.

We believe it's important to share the attractions of the local community as part of our commitment to sustainable tourism. Thanks so much for highlighting that important aspect of our hospitality. Glad that we were able to start your holiday in Costa Rica on a positive note.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our reaction to the hotel was that its web site didn't do it justice. It's a beautiful setting and our room was clean comfortable and private. We had a variety of different weather conditions ranging from fog to crystal clarity. We were looking for a relaxing place but with enough things to do. We weren't disappointed. We particularly enjoyed the nature walks. They were informative, scenic and good exercise without being exhausting. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They made it clear that they wanted their guests to enjoy the experience. The food was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear SyS

We are glad you were so pleased with your stay with us. It seems to come natural to our staff to make folks feel at home and frankly, in my own opinion, it’s in the DNA of Costa Ricans to welcome everyone “con mucho gusto” (with much pleasure)! I will let our chef and his staff knows you enjoyed his menu and also let our nature guides also know that your tours with them were informative and enjoyable. We all take pride in reading all the great reviews.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
16.6 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
700 reviews
25 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
58 reviews
17 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: £82 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing