We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place. The grounds are well maintained. There are paths to walk on. The cottages were clean and well equipped. We had a porch outside with chairs and a table, a fireplace inside with rockers to sit and enjoy the fire. The spa was wonderful and I enjoyed my first massage ever. We stayed 2 nights and wish we had stayed a few more. Lovely place and the staff was very helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrap97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Scrap97,
We seem to keep reading many reviews asking why our guests did not plan to stay longer with us. We hope you will consider returning again and taking advantage of one of our Greentique Hotel offers combining more time with us at Villa Blanca and adding our sister hotels in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No Resort Spa &Wildlife Refuge and Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula.
Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    186
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
287
547
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place is special. Awesome staff, beautiful expansive grounds. Great complimentary breakfast. The homemade cheeses and other homegrown organic specialties made from on site garden and dairy are spectacular. This place really was different than any other hotel I'd been too. Situated on an awesome hilltop, with hiking trails, a dairy farm, and nursery. I definitely recommend Villa Blanca!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorjr420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Victorjr420,

We appreciate your recognition of all that is so very special and that you will definitely recommend us as a unique property that you visited. We are very thankful for the continued efforts of our management and staff who do there very best to deliver the exceptional Costa Rica experiences that gave you and awesome impression of our hospitality.

Gracias,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I think one regret about our wonderful trip to Costa Rica is that we only stayed here for one night. This place is beautiful.

The hotel is rustic and amazingly clean. The staff are friendly and make the whole experience unforgettable. The welcome information was full and worth taking in, even if you have traveled some way to get there. The waiters are very helpful and want you to have a good time while you are there. The rooms are functional without being fussy. No TV which is a plus as it added to the beautiful quiet that fills this hotel and its grounds. After being deep in the rain forest for 5 days it was lovely to have an iron and get a bit dressed up for dinner.

The room and restaurant are amazing but the real gem with the whole experience are the surrounding grounds. We have never stayed in a "cloud forest" before. I would say to anyone reading this that, you must experience the feeling of being in the clouds. The quiet is spectacular and coming from a busy city like London was an experience in itself.

The grounds are extremely well kept, with flowers grow on site and beautifully planted. The self guided walks are well kept and easy for visitors to explore this fascinating climate at your pace. We never felt out of our depth on these walks and every time we did one we saw something different and exciting.

We also really enjoy gardening so seeing were the food is grown in a very organic way was truly special. We also had a walk through the "science lab". It was good to see how much conservation is done by this hotel. We talked to the guide and he talk us through the ways they organically try to reduce non native plants on site and the research get distributed around Costa Rica to help preserve this wonderful country.

I afraid i can't think of any down sides to this hotel so i won't put any. Thanks for a wonderful stay, just wish i could have been longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Stuart O,
Can’t add much more to your gracious review of Villa Blanca. You truly experienced and conveyed, with so much perception, why I too fell in love with this amazing Cloud Forest here in San Ramon many years ago. Our protected forest is a part of the lungs of the planet with an energy or spirit we believe that creates the positive and tranquil atmosphere of hospitality we can continue to seamlessly offer. Be sure that if you ever return to visit us again, consider taking the extra time to discover even more of our unique Greentique hospitality as our valued guest.

Saludos,
Jim Damalas
General Maanger/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Villa Blanca was an interesting place to stay-we arrived in the evening & the fog covered everything but in the morning it cleared off. We had good accommodations- loved the fireplace although we never used it. Loved the grounds esp. the chapel. We milked a cow which I had never done even though I grew up in the country. My favorite thing was a Swedish massage- my 1st- it was wonderful & so relaxing. Loved the breakfasts & enjoyed the dinners. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Roberta T,
We will be sure to mention how much you enjoyed your massage. Also be assured that our celebrity cows, including Lady Gaga and Madona, will be happy to know a Country Boy got to finally get to milk a famous cow or two with us during your stay.
Regaards,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a beautiful location with stunning views. This unique location will take your breathe away, it's so peaceful and tranquil. The private casitas are amazing with fireplaces and porches. The grounds and nature trails have lots to discover. The staff are so friendly and always helpful. The food was fantastic. They grow the vegetables on property and produce the dairy products as well. A very eco-friendly place. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a unique way to rejuvenate yourself in a very peaceful setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ppowerof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear ppowerof5,
Thanks for recognizing our eco-friendly efforts. We are always working to assure that whatever we do to enhance the value of our customer’s experience is never at the sacrifice of all the natural attractions that surround us within our 2,000 acres of protected cloud forest reserve. We believe that the atmosphere of Villa Blanca continues to rejuvenate the soul and bring the best out in all of us, enhancing all that we have to offer in hospitality in harmony with nature.
Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
305 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the drive through the countryside to get to Villa Blanca. We were told Villa Blanca would be a quieter, more peaceful version of Monteverde's Cloud Forest.
We were greeted with yummy fruit cocktails and herb infused wash clothes. We were delighted with our rooms. The rooms are private casitas. Our room had a garden whirlpool tub in the bathroom and a fireplace in the living room. The staff even had a stack of wood for us to burn. We had an amazing Night Walk with Ingrid. We saw lots of cool glass rain frogs, unique spiders and giant walking sticks. We ate dinner at the restaurant which was just delicious! The breakfast buffet was really good! We also did the morning guided walk. The morning walk wasn't very productive. We didn't see much wildlife. If you only picked one guided walk-I'd pick the night walk. Also, there is a rec room in the main building. My kids bagged us to play pool several times! We loved it! Hummingbirds, tropical flowers and peacefulness!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhawig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Rhawig,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hear more and more feedback about our convenient access and alternative to Monteverde, and since we are within our own 2000 acre private cloud forest biological reserve, we seem to offer a “…a quiter-peaceful alternative…” The fact that your entire family enjoyed all the wildlife tours, meals and great service was one more reason for us to continue to strive to deliver our brands of exceptional Costa Rica expereinces as part of Greentique Hotels.

Regards,
Jim Damalas
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really great rooms that included fireplace and porch. The grounds are great, lots of spaces to roam through. There is even a dairy farm where they will let you milk the cows!

Included breakfast was great, but dinner left much to be desired. Though, there is not much in the area, so you'll probably eat dinner there anyway :)

The staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby areas has a really nice bar and fireplace. There is also a "yoga" room and "gym." Both will let you move, but neither offers much.

They also seem to grow much of their own produce on the grounds.

The road in is long, dusty, and bumpy. Probably a good idea not to arrive at night in the dark. You may miss a vital fork in the road.

Room Tip: #17 had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstanwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear mstanwyck,
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review. Although we appreciate the positive aspects you enjoyed during your stay, we were sorry you did not find our restaurant to your satisfaction. We continue to strive to consistently provide our best to meet a wide spectrum of clientele and usually meet if not exceed their expectations. We pride ourselves on the quality and value of El Sendero Restaurante. Although we are out in the country, the road, like so many here in Costa Rica, is not well paved, but we were surprised you did not notice the signage along the way. As I respond to your review we are pleased to report the road maintenance is under way to do maintenance to improve the 9km access from the main highway to San Ramon.
Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing