We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful...gracious...but far off the "very beaten" path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful...gracious...but far off the "very beaten" path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Wonderful place, beautiful, spacious rooms with 2 bathrooms (imagine my daughter's delight in getting her own bathroom). You should know before booking that this is about 22 km outside of San Ramon...on typical Costa Rica unpaved, pothole-filled, narrow, winding roads that may most likely be covered in fog if you arrive at night. However, if you're up for the drive, the staff is super-welcoming and accommodating. And it's beautiful. Highly recommend if you want an out of the way place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sara G,
Thank you for recommending us, and actually it may have seemed like 22km, but it’s actually only the last 9km that have some potholes to negotiate. That’s what we locals refer to as a typical Costa Rican country road. The good news is that the municipality is coming to do their annual road maintenance, so if you time it, it may seem like only a few kilometers next time you decide to become a regular and enjoy more of our “super-welcoming” hospitality as our very welcomed guests.
Saludos,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    179
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
276
533
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, even though it was the rainy season. Our only complaint is that the food was mediocre. Also, our evening waiter was a bit condscending in his attitude. The staff (with that one exception) and the accommodations were very nice. The fireplace was a very special treat.

Again, I guess because it was off-season, some of the activities were not available, yoga classes for example.
All that to say, it was a magical view.
vetaceleste

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good. We only saw ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear jim c,
We appreciate your review and apologize for your dinning experience as it’s very seldom we fail to meet customer expectations. Rest assured we will try and understand what went wrong as it merits our concern when we don’t deliver what so many clients feel is a great added attraction to have a dining experience, from start to finish, at our own El Sendero Restaurante.
Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The price is excessive for the service offered compared with others of the kind in Costa Rica.

Nice and clean but also pretty boring and quiet with not many thing to do around apart the spa (not included).

I really can't understand why they don't have bicycles, it would be so nice to discover the area around the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mathieu F,

Having read and responded to hundreds of TA Reviews, I have to respectively reply that you were truly an exception to the rule for your one night stay as a walk-in guest! Perhaps had you planned ahead, read reviews, or at least visited our website, you may have decided to drop in elsewhere and perhaps have found what you were looking for. However we always aim to please and regret your disappointment that your experience seemed to be the opposite of what we do our best to deliver with exceptional Costa Rica experiences that fortunately meet and often exceed customer expectations as a boutique cloud forest mountain hotel.
Sincerely,
Jim Damals
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was an amazing start to our costa rican adventure. Quiet, relaxed and beautiful. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We saw a bunch of wildlife on the night walking tour and just wandering the grounds during the day. Seeing the humming birds feed was unreal!

If you want to lay back, relax and see a beautiful place, you´ve found it.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same. Quiet little private cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We never thought we would find such beauty after a never ending drive. This was a beautiful hotel, everyone was super friendly. The food was amazing, including the breakfast. We were visiting with our two teenagers and they had fun as well-we even got to milk a cow!! Highly recommend the visit especially if your looking for peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caspatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear caspatlyn,
We agree that the 9 kilometers of country road are part of the adventure to arrive in the cloud forests of Villa Blanca. Thank you for mentioning how your whole family enjoyed our friendly hospitality we believe offers the exceptional Costa Rica experiences that we are known for as part of Greentique Hotels.
Saludos,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The road there is a little scary and uncomfortable but when you get there you can clearly see why. It is at the top of a mountain in heavenly clouds. As soon as you open the door, you enter heaven. The service is above 5 star. The food is phenomenal!! It's the perfect place for romance and relaxation. Best hotel ever!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Najee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Majee23,
What more can we add to such a perfect review that rates us the “best hotel ever!!”
Mil gracias,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in wonderful surroundings. It includes a lovely chapel, self-guided nature walks, feeding station for humming birds and a research station which runs evening hikes through the forest. The rooms all have log fires which was particularly appealing to me. We were only there for one afternoon and night but had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Julie,
We are only sorry you did not have more time to enjoy our hospitality and so we invite you to return again as our guests and we will include a complimentary evening and offer you the option to include one of our Greentique Hotel packages that includes also Si Como No Resort in Manuel Antonio as well as Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula.

Regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
22.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#4 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing