We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff goes out of their way to serve you. They are the best staff I have ever seen in a hotel. I would go there again. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The food was excellent. I felt very relaxed when I left.

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Andrea A,
What more can we say but “muchas gracias” for appreciating our high standards of service and that we delivered for you a well deserved and relaxing stay whose value maybe priceless when seeking a true escape from the fast lane that a vacation should offer when it comes to a magical location in the cloud forests of the Silent Angels of San Ramon.
Regards,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    186
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
286
547
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing! Really no significant complaints. Great for couples, very private and quiet. I would say the only con is it being very isolated, although there are several things to do within the hotel. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrico01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear jmrico01,
We were pleased to see that you appreciated all that we have to offer, or as little as you wanted to do, depending on your expectations from “mountain retreats” to a wedding celebrations. We fortunately continue to be recommended by honeymooners, Empty Nesters and families who all seem to enjoy their own space in their own way within our 75 private acres of natural and manmade attractions sharing our tour options, spa menus and wellness center, to our Research Station, theater and a game room. It’s what you feel is right for you.
We hope you will find time to return again to enjoy more of the hospitality and biodiversity we have to offer with our customized Greentique Hotel packages.

Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
Genral Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic place to end our family trip around Costa Rica, <90 mins from San Jose airport. Located in peaceful cloud forest with interesting self guided trail through the forest reserve and knowledgeable guide led early morning bird walk. Visiting Humming bird feeders a must. Rooms very comfortable with fireplace and sitting area. Restaurant outstanding food and service and made our family group of 7 feel pampered and relaxed. Pool table and cinema also good if it rains. Even had a go milking a cow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 158james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 158james,

We appreciate you sharing the great experience your entire family had with us. We feel that your family deserves the special attention as our valued guests here in San Ramon de Alajuela. To be the finale of your holiday and a highlight of your trip is truly our reward for delivering the exceptional brand of boutique hospitality we are proud of.

Gracias,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the staff meeting us at the front office with drinks and hot towels until we checked out, the staff and the hotel was a complete pleasure. Elegant, calming, and relaxing . . . what more could you want. I would gladly welcome a trip back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjwesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear bjwesq,
We look forward to your next visit as another “regular” of Greentique Hotels and trust you will consider more of the same exceptional Costa Rica experiences with our sister hotels in Manuel Antonio at Si Como No Resort and in the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn.

Saludos,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful hotel and nature reserve. Perfect for relaxation and enjoying the outdoors. There is a great restaurant on site. The cottage was spacious and cozy with a fireplace and sitting area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and can arrange day trips to the Arenal Volcano or anything you would like to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleeAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear KaleeAD,

We appreciate your positive review of your experiences at Villa Blanca. We continue to be encouraged by all the positive comments regarding our hospitality and the many activities that complement the natural beauty and tour attractions we have to offer as part of Greentique Hotels. I will b sure to let our chef know how pleased you were as well with his menu at El Sendero Restaurante.

Regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very quiet and nice. Great attention, they take care of all the little details, didnt like the transparent curtain at the bathroom, but we loved the bedrooms, and the fireplace. But we would come back again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Pablo S.

Thank you for your positive review. Sorry you were not advised that the special “directional view” privacy shade in your bathroom enables our guests the vantage to look out to appreciate your private garden while providing privacy from the outside.

Regards,
Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Villa Blanca was not just a beautiful hotel in the cloud forest. It was a sustainable farm that produced most of the organic food we ate while we stayed there. Their ecological policies were beyond my expectations and the research that is ongoing is exciting. We toured their sustainable water systems for filtering grey water from laundry to the green houses and heard about the working farm. We also did a day nature walk and then a night one to see the creatures you hear but usually do not see. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who travels to Costa Rica. It is a shining example of what can be accomplished if you set your mind to helping the environment instead of just using it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Owner at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Patricia E,

It’s not always that we get such acknowledgement for our sustainable practices besides the many other qualities we appreciate from our Reviewers. As certified hotel members of Costa Rica, all of us at Greentique properties, we can’t agree more to your appreciation of Villa Blanca’s efforts in offering our guests our band of “sustainable hospitality”, where the very attractions you enjoyed are valued and protected by the very visit of each and every guest who stays at our properties.

Sincerely,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing