We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, natural getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, natural getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

My husband and I (who lived in San Jose, CR at the time) went for an overnight to Villa Blanca without our toddler. We had a Deluxe casita and it was very cozy. It got a bit chilly at night so we were able to light the wood fireplace. I also had a lovely bath and my husband brought me a glass of wine from the lobby bar. We went on the "Nocturnal" Nature Walk and saw a record 4 species of frogs, as well as countless bugs. The movie theatre was broken that night but there was plenty else to do. The self-guided nature walk surrounding the casitas was easy and beautifully surrounded by clouds. The tile ceiling in the chapel is amazing and we have been fortunate to find where the tiles are made (or very similar ones) in Escazu.
The next time I went was a few months later with a girlfriend, and we had a Superior Casita with 2 twin beds and no bath. We took the Canopy tour and had the same guide as before; it was the zip of a lifetime and I recommend it to anyone who is nervous! They put us at total ease, as well as taking our cameras and capturing amazing pictures and videos of us that we never could have gotten on our own. The movie theatre was back up but we had to actually tell them we were there so they would start the DVD!
We didn't try the spa, but the food is to die for. My favourite was the veggie enchilada, and I had a few meat dishes with berries. Also the sweet potato soup, if they are making it that day, is wonderful. One day we were there, there weren't enough people to set out the breakfast buffet, but they gladly whipped up whatever we wanted.
This is a beautiful, relaxing place to go for a very peaceful, quiet night or two. It is far from any town, city or road.
It is also an award winner for 5-leaf Certified Sustainable Tourism, which makes it worth every penny, considering how much water and electricity is wasted in hotels!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    186
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
286
547
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

This is a great hotel for the start of your vacation in Costa Rica. If you are wanting to get a cultural introduction and see some of the beautiful floraand fauna in CR then this is the place. You stay in a very nice casita that is styled very Costa Rican. The whole property is based around a large Costa Rican hacienda where the restaurant, cinema, reception and other areas are.

The tours are great we go to see frogs at night, milk cows the next morning, see the organic vegetable lot and see some of the famou Costa Rican orchids.

I would highly suggest this property as the staff are super.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent two nights at Villa Blanca at the start of our ten day Costa Rican vacation and we loved it. We didn't want to stay in San Jose our first night and with Villa Blanca being only an hour and a half from the airport, it was the perfect first stop. We rented a car with a GPS and had no problem finding the resort. The ride from the main road to Villa Blanca was unpaved and twisty but there were beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and we had no problem (four wheel drive is a must, however). Our private casita was beautiful and roomy, more than adequate for two adults and two children. It is the low season but we didn't expect to have the resort all to ourselves! There was only one other family there and they checked out after the first night. The weather was not great, intermittent rain most of the time, but it didn't stop us from zip-lining and taking a night tour of the cloud forest. I do feel that I need to warn people that there were bugs in our hotel room (some flying insects, earwigs, beetles) but this is due to the location of the resort (in a cloud forest) and not an indication of poor housekeeping. Our room was very clean and the entire resort is immaculate. We ate in the resort our whole stay since there isn't anywhere else to go, but we were pleased with the food and the staff was great. It was like we had our own personal chef! Villa Blanca and the Los Angeles Cloud Forest is a great alternate to the crowds at Monteverde and staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lak0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed in Villa Blanca at the end of our stay in Costa Rica (so that we wouldn't have to stay in San Jose - and I highly recommend doing that). Beautiful grounds and landscaping. We saw hummingbirds and a coati. Our room was amazing, very rustic and very romantic with a fireplace, private patio, and a jacuzzi tub. For their gourmet restaurant, they grow their own food in an organic garden on the grounds, and you can watch the cow-milking in the morning (and you can even take part). You can easily stroll around the grounds, it's a very peaceful cloud forest.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoTouristTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

This is our second trip to CR and we stayed again at Villa Blanca. We love this place! My son (6 yrs old) thinks this is the best place ever. He got to milk the cow this year and he just knows where everything is on the property, so he feels at home. It is the one place my husband actually can relax! If you are looking for excitement do not even go here... But, if you want luxurious accomodations, great food and stunning grounds to just decompress...this is for you. Do one or two days max. This year we did our first night and a night in the middle of the trip. It was perfect. The facials at the spa are too die for as well!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

We spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at Villablanca. It was such a beautiful, romantic place. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, but not just any friend. You would have to love the outdoors and value sustainability to really appreciate the resort for what it is.

The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. Since there were very few guests staying at Villablanca when we were there, they didn't have the full buffet, but they offered to prepare anything on the menu for us and as much as we wanted. There is no where else to eat (unless you leave the property for a tour or go down to San Ramon which is about a 30 minute drive away), but the menu at Villablanca's restaurant has very many options. The food is delicious, fresh and organic, and all of their ingredients are grown right there on the property!

There were only a few other guests at the resort during the 3 nights that we were there. The staff was very friendly, but definitely gave us our space and privacy. We took advantage of the free movie theater (since we were 2 of only 4 guests staying there that night, they let us choose the movie).

Definitely take a guided hike through the property. We learned so much about the amazing environmental efforts that this hotel is making from our guide that we wouldn't have known on our own.

We also took the Zip Line/Canopy Tour that the hotel offers and it was really great! We've heard that there were faster and scarier Zip Lines in other parts of the country, but this one was perfect for what we wanted.

We arrived to Villablanca about 2 weeks after what they call the "low season" started. We wondered what the "high season" was like since you're basically in a cloud every day of the year. It is pretty much humid all of the time -- we tried washing some clothes by hand and hanging to dry, but they never dried. Everything feels damp in the Cloud Forest!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GueraBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

OK, a few basics: This was our first trip to CR, and Villa Blanca was our first hotel. There were four of us - me, my wife, and our two kids (ages 4 and 7). The hotel was chosen by our guide service.

Location: Absolutely spectacular! The cloud forest was everything we expected from CR, and the meticulously-maintained hotel grounds blended perfectly with it's surroundings. The views (when the fog/mist broke) were breathtaking. Our children enjoyed the well-maintained hiking trails (complete with complimentary walking sticks and a special hummingbird feeder area).

Our Room: Rooms are set in small cottages - two rooms per cottage, with entrances on opposite sides. Everything is on the first floor. Each room has a small patio so you can sit outside and watch the birds (and the coati!). The rooms are well apportioned with comfortable beds, a wood stove, and a huge jetted tub bath with windows that open to the back of the cottage. The rooms were extremely well-maintained, and a quick call to the front desk would get us anything we needed very quickly.

Hotel Amenities: The hotel had everything we wanted. I am a birder, and I woke up early to see what I could find. After a little while, I ran into one of two hotel naturalists - Warner knew everything about the birds and plants! He was also our guide for a private hike a little later in the morning, and the kids loved him. The grounds are wonderful, whether you stay on the paved portions or walk on the ample nature trails that surround the property. There is even a biological station on the property with butterfly researchers who will take the time to show you what they are doing (the kids loved it). We also brought the kids to milk a cow - it turns out that the hotel also grows a lot of it's own vegetables, etc (organically, I might add). There is a spa (we didn't use it), and a very nice gift shop with nature guide books (if you forgot to bring one).

Food: The hotel is situated quite a distance from any town, so eating out might be an issue. However, the hotel restaurant had delicious food and we didn't feel the need to leave the property. The breakfasts were a perfect blend of the familiar and some local CR cuisine. We didn't really use the bar area, but it looked quite comfortable.

Service: We felt absolutely pampered. Even when we had a problem with there being no reservation for our second night (a mistake made by our guide company), the very friendly staff assured us everything was fine and they followed up with the company to fix the problem. Dining service was prompt and professional, and the servers even took time to show my children a huge butterfly that had flown into the dining area.

Overall recommendation: I would go back to this hotel with absolutely no hesitation. Indeed, I often wished (during our two week vacation) that we had spent many more days here. I highly recommend this hotel, whether you are on a honeymoon or travelling with the family.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
25.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
22.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
21.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Property: Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing