We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in San Ramon
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
La Posada Hotel(San Ramon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
37
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We heard about Gary Clegg Owner of "Angel Valley Farm's B&B" through a friend of a friend and from the stories we heard we couldn't wait to meet him. Our journey started in El Salvador where we stayed for 4 days then made our way through Nicaragua and finally to Costa Rica.

My fiance` and I e-mailed Gary (gary@shumbatracks.com) a couple of times to inform him that we would be touring around C.A. eventually making our way down to Costa Rica, he insisted on us calling him as soon as we arrived and he would make necessary arrangements to have us shuttled to AVFB&B, well he did better then that, when we phoned it turned out that Gary was right behind the Tica Bus that we would be departing from.

Gary had a good laugh when he asked "How has your vacation been so far" ??? I explained that we just got off a 10 hr Bus ride from Nicaragua and because we were back packing we stayed in places where there was a Disco two doors down and the music wouldn't stop until 4am or renovations had been going on and because it gets so hot during the day the banging and saw's would start up at 6:30am and in most area's there would be 10-20 dog's roaming around (all friendly, just looking for some food and attention) but around 2am one would start barking and soon all 20 would join in, when that stopped around 4 or 5 am then the rooster's would start, so Gary its like we haven't slept in two weeks and we are on a mission, we are seeking peace, Gary laughed and said "I think your going to like this place", let me tell you he couldn't have said it any better.

When we arrived we were greeted by a Cheerful, young smiling woman named Kelly who is a friend of Garys and had been helping with the finishing touches on the place as Gary has been working hard to make AVFB&B an experience you will never forget. Between the two of them there is no doubt that we ate the best Breakfasts and dinners since entering Central America, they each have there own styles of cooking and just love catering to you, while there you can enjoy fresh fruit and vegetables from the surrounding areas.

Gary will amaze you with his stories and photos, there is also plenty of room for you to relax, read, write, walk, talk or hike. There are plenty of excursions to choose from, but Angel Valley Farm for us was where our mission ended "We found PEACE" the R&R that we were looking for.

Angel Valley Farm B&B is located very near to the "Cloud Forest", I will never forget waking early one morning and standing looking out into the valley and beyond when to my right
(I get goose bumps every time I talk about this) at eye level these heavy thick clouds start rolling down in front of me filling the valley, it was like you were standing on / in them, they kept rolling until you could see nothing, then after a short while it starts clearing and you have the most amazing view AGAIN.

I could go on and on about the amazingly good times and talks we had, but those memories will be with us forever. Plus something tells me that we will be seeing you soon again.

For those reading this we would highly recommend that you treat yourself and make an appearance at AVFB&B even if its just to pop in and say G'Day.

P.S. We can't thank you enough for what you guys did for us.
"GOOD TIMES, GOOD FOOD AND GOOD FRIENDS"

Thinking of you BOTH always and FOREVER.
Rob & Hayal xo
"BEST WISHES"

Room Tip: All rooms have been updated and have private bathrooms. A very quiet and PEACEFUL place to be. ENJOY and say Hello from Rob & Hayal. Thx
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Hello intrepid travellers, thanks for the great review we were only too happy to have you stay with us and have the opportunity to show you a lttle part of a place we call heaven. Take good care and we will see you soon, from what I hear you will be joining us in Africa, cannot wait. Cheers my friends Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

On our honeymoon, my husband I and began our Costa Rican adventure at the Angel Valley B&B. It's about an hour drive from the San Jose/Alajuela airport so it was convenient for us after our long flight from the U.S. Gary Clegg, the owner of AVB&B knew we’d be coming in a little late in the day so he and his friend, Kelly, prepared a beautiful and tasty feast of dinner for us when we arrived. We stayed there two nights before setting off across the country, and they were two nights of good rest, great food and company, and a beautiful view.

Gary recently purchased AVB&B from the previous owner in December 2011. During the time we were there, he and helpers were completing renovations to the building and patio. Although the B&B renovations were not fully complete, we were certainly pleased with what we found there during our brief stay. The whole place was beautifully decorated and wonderfully cozy. The inside of the B&B had an remarkable life to it –amazing photos of wildlife decorated the walls and fresh air came through the windows and breathed soft breezes across the rooms. We had a feeling of always being surrounded by fresh open air even when lying in our comfy bed or relaxing in the sitting room. We were the only guests at the time (Gary and helpers are still completing renovations on the other rooms that should be complete in April 2012.) so we may have been spoiled a little by the astute attentiveness from Gary and Kelly, but they made us feel so welcomed and provided great conversation as well. The outdoor area was simple yet elegant and when complete (in the making now are an outdoor fireplace and oven, beautiful sitting area, etc.) will be a wonderful place to enjoy the scenery and pleasant climate of the San Ramon/Los Angeles Sur area. We didn't get to try out the hot tub on the patio, but it was ready so hopefully next time... We did, however, have a few meals outside at a large wooden table on the front porch that overlooks the valley (so perfect!).

Aside from a relaxing honeymoon, one of our main purposes for travel to CR was to see many birds. Beginning our trip here was great to first settle in to the Costa Rican vibe plus we picked up a few great bird species in the woods around the B&B and at Villa Blanca, just about 30 minutes north of the B&B. (They have great food, nature trails, and hummingbird feeders there that shouldn't be missed!)

Gary is a native to South Africa and can tell many stories of his adventures leading trips in the wilds of the Congo, grasslands, etc., but he is also a great host that boasts the beauty of Costa Rica and is attempting to learn much about the country in order to better inform and accommodate his guests. For the greater San Ramon and La Fortuna/Volcan Arenal area, he can provide helpful insights (FYI, if you're traveling to the Volcan Arenal area, the travel time from AVB&B to La Fortuna is about two hours.). Additionally, the food he and Kelly prepared and served was amazing and cooked with ingredients purchased from neighbors and the local farmer's markets. The value was better than perfect for what we got out of our stay there. I would recommend anyone traveling through the San Ramon area to stay a night or more at Angel Valley B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha_Clement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Hello you two, thank you for the lovely essay you wrote, much appreciated, I hope Costa Rica was everything you expected and you had a safe and fantastic journey. We are complete with the renovations and now you can sit in the completed dining room and look at the view. You were such gracious guests and we hope to see you again either here or in Africa. Take good care Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Angel Valley Farm this past December during our Honeymoon and were highly impressed! The B&B is under new management as of December 2011 and we had the pleasure of getting to know the new owner, Gary Clegg. He is in the middle of some extensive renovations that should be completed soon. We were highly impressed with his vision and enthusiasm for his work which will surely completely transform the B&B into one of the nicest B&Bs in Costa Rica.

In fact, I have personally traveled to over 40 countries all over the world. In the hundreds of hotels I have stayed in, I have never met a friendlier or more enthusiastic owner! He has been involved in the travel industry his whole life and has a keen sense of what people are looking for when they are on vacation.

Angel Valley Farm has a beautiful view of the valley below from the porch and Gary is a great cook. He uses all natural ingredients to support local farmers. In addition to completely renovating all the rooms, he is planning to install a jacuzzi in the garden, a large bar-b-que pit and serves an excellent cup of coffee!

Whether you need a place to stop on your way to La Fortuna or want a quiet, peaceful place to stay for a few days we would highly recommend the Angel Valley Farm to anyone!

Room Tip: He is planning to have a variety of different rooms to accomodate different group sizes.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Hi Guys, just a quick greeting from Costa Rica, thanks for the fantastic review, I really appreciate it. I hope one day our paths will cross again and you will get to stay a bit longer. Take good care Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I've stayed at Angel Valley Farm a few times and really like it. It's reasonably priced, the owner is very helpful and the views are terrific. The breakfast is outstanding. If you want to stay somewhere that is part of the real Costa Rica, away from the tourist traps, this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashingtonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We decided to head to Angel Valley Farm directly after landing in Costa Rica for a softer landing than San Jose would have provided, and we weren't disappointed. Angel Valley Farm is cozy, quiet, and friendly. Our room was small, but so was the price. There were larger rooms, though.

The breakfast was good, and the owners are friendly. The view of the valley from the front porch was beautiful. Internet is available, too.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marybanilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews