We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Silencio Lodge & Spa(Bajos del Toro)
US$416
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
37
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We found Gary on the net and are very glad we did. He has a very comfortable B&B and makes it especially enjoyable with great cooking, interesting decor and a very welcoming atmosphere. We enjoyed conversation as well as the basics of staying for 2 nights. We had a very pleasant room and even had a jar of home-made chocolate chip cookies for a late night snack. The views from the hammock made it easy to relax. Gary helped us plan our exploration of the area and became a valued friend as well. We'll certainly plan to return on the next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi K&M, Thanks so much for the review, the emails and continued friendship, I look forward to the day you are back in San Ramon and we can continue where we left off. I certainly enjoyed our traipse around the town I now call home and it is so nice sharing this beauty with others who appreciate the history, culture and such a delightful town. Until we meet again be well G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was our last stay before flying out and and we stumbled on it quite by accident , being refered by a local restaurant owner. It turned out, althought brief, to be the highlight of our 8 day Costa Rica visit.
The location is very scenic, the building architecture exciting and you could not want for a more gracious and accomodating host. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and very exoctic with the natural stonework in the baths. The morning breakfast was definately 5 star served with fine crystal in a lovely room overlooking the valley. We are planning to make this our first stop on our nest trip to Costa Rica.
One thing should be noted is that Gary recently purchased, renovated and restarted this operation so that any reviews older than 2 years should be ignored.

Room Tip: Call early to get the larger rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi Guys, wow! thanks for such a raving review, I too cannot wait for you to return and I hope it is sooner than later, my only regret is that you did not stay longer, I so very much enjoyed chatting with you and getting to know you. Thanks so much for giving me a five star on the breakfast, as mom said "it is the most important meal of the day" so why not make it exotic and delicious...I added. Take care G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed at Angel Valley Farm a couple of times during the year I was Gary's neighbor, and have watched him transform it into one of Costa Rica's finest boutique bed and breakfast hotels. I've included "before and after" pix for comparison. Angel Valley offers spectacular views and comfortable spots to enjoy them, but if you're looking for something different, step inside, and be transported to a different world; Gary's photographs and memorabilia from a lifetime of guiding tours throughout Africa cover the walls and dominate each room. As you savor every detail that makes this place so special, don't be surprised if aromas emanating from the kitchen suddenly draw you to the stove to lift the lid and find out what's cooking! Expect ANYthing except gallo pinto and standard CR fare. Gary's philosophy is that you can go a thousand other places for ordinary---and he strives, at every meal---to serve extraordinary cuisine from distinctive cultures around the world. Remember that I tried to warn you to save room after Mexican, Italian, Ethiopian dinner for sweet tooth indulgence...lemon cake, key lime pie, banana bread, something oh so chocolatey... Trust me: Foodie heaven!

Room Tip: I always sleep in the room with two twin beds. If that works for you, the view will put a big smile on your morning face!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi T, Thanks so much for such a lovely review, I miss having someone to test out the new recipie's on over a game of scrabble and having you book a room on a whim. I am glad you are enjoying your new home in the south and I look forward to having you come back again. I promise to let you win at least one game of scrabble......or is it the other way around. Take good care G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed spending 2 nights in this beautiful location, where each guest is truly part of the Angel Valley Farm family. Gary and Donna are wonderful hosts, the rooms are spotless and comfortable, and the meals delicious. Only wish I could have stayed longer in this relaxing, peaceful location, so close to many of Costa Rica's sights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi Barb, Thanks for such a nice review, you were such delightful guests and it almost felt like we had known each other forever, it is certainly guests like you who make what I do here not feel like work. Afternoon coffee and banana bread was such a lovely time spent with you guys, relaxing and chatting away as old friends, I was almost sad to see you leave and I hope we will meet again. Take care G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

So my partner Gaila and I had the priviledge of spending two nights this weekend at Angel Valle B&B. What a treat! Not only were the accomodations first rate (Costa Rica outside with African flair inside) but the food and company were exceptional. Gary is an amazing host and Donna gave us a very warm greeting. Just north of San Ramon at a village called Los Angeles we found this little slice of goodness. Hot tub, super comfortable bed, a warm shower and terrific food. You really won't need lunch after breakfast here. Most any traveler would be happy with a stay here. Yes, we are motorcyclists and yes this place is the perfect stop for overland travelers. Close to town but way up in the clouds for quiet and relaxation. Go if you can and tell them Tad & Gaila say "hi"

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable. You might pick based on the bed(s) you need or perhaps the unique photographic art.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Angel Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hi Tad, Had a great time meeting you and a pleasure hosting you, you were such delightful guests and am quite envious of your trip.......making me want to toss all in and join you on this great adventure of yours. I hope our mans work on your pannier was great enough to hold for the rest of the trip. Enjoying your posts everyday and I hope to catch up either back at Angel Valley or in Seattle when I am visiting your neck of the woods. Be safe G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews