We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”
Review of Shogun

Shogun
Ranked #216 of 291 Restaurants in Kennesaw
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible customer service”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

They treat their customers terribly. Don't waste your money. There are way better places to go, Kuroshio or sushi bites is a great alternative.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSaraBara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    8
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“Very Poor Management”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The steak was good, the fried rices was not, veggies were OK. But the chef was a jerk. While he cooked, he made off color jokes, like "Japanese snot" while egg ran out of a shell and "Japanese toilet" as he poured oil in an onion volcano. This made one diner at the table refuse to touch his food and another nearly sick. The waiter wore t-shirt and jeans, but was attentive. What happened to classy people at Shogun? It was never this bad before.

Update: Owner Mike Cho called me. He said the problem is his brother's, not his, but Mike was too busy to properly discuss the issues. He offered a refund, but called back the next day and accused me of being rude. Mike seems to be a hothead who refuses to take responsibility for his failures. I don't think I'll get my refund now. I can see that the problems come from the top down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy staff”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The food is great, but the staff are less than average. We tolerate it only because the price and quality of food are great at lunch. The place smells!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
353 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The food was good, however, the cook didn't put on much of a show. I've been to many Japanese restaurants and the show that that cooks do are usually very good. I think that is part of the price of the meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nkimperial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty and poor service”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The restaurant is extremely dirty. Looks like they haven't semi-detail cleaned ever. Stayed away from restrooms based on this. Got a glimpse into the kitchen after my meal, yuck.

The "value" was good. Steak meal for $8. The ginger dressing tasted strange, soup is just a chicken broth, white sauce tasted off. Usual fried rice.

My husband ordered his fried rice with no veggies. They forgot. By the time he got his make-up rice the meal was over. And it was still wrong. Spoke to a manager and they took $2 off the meal. Obviously they don't care much for the guests. Absolutely will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ab4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shogun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing