We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place for Thai food !”
Review of Penang

Penang
Ranked #34 of 291 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place for Thai food !”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a good place for Thai food if you are around Kennesaw area. Service is courteous and fares moderate. You can also order for aka always over phone and pick up , if you are in hurry !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramasprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visit family here quite often and always make Penang one of our restaurant stops! Great food and very consistent...never had a bad meal in the many years we've been going. Roti cani is a must! Yummy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDecorator99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oasis of Penang's Calm”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

In the middle of Kennesaw Mall madness across the street, there is peaceful Penang. I love this restaurant for an oasis of quiet serenity. If you go in the off hours it is a great place to visit with a friend you haven't seen for a year. My friend and me were seated in a booth for 1 1/2 hours, and never ONCE were rushed.

Don't know much about Malaysian food, but we had lunch specials: red chicken something-mild, and my friend had chicken curry something Hot. both were good for $6.95. The Calamari appetizer good and tender.. Sure wish we had a native with us! The menu is huge. When we left I noticed 3 or 4 solo diners also enjoying the calm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claoudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Malaysian food”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I love the fact that you can savor authentic Malaysian food here, unlike many Chinese restaurants that offer American Chinese food to suit the taste bud of Americans.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoungMarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
352 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“My soft spot... MAlaysian food”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

One my own, had hours to kill on the way to airport and quickly did a search for Malaysian food thinking of the old Penang on Buford highway. Tis place pops up, it's the original owners of Buford highway, that one went to the nephews.

Prawn noodle, one must ask to mix vermicelli (rice sticks) with noodle to get the right taste.
One of the best outside of Malaysia, actually better than many in Malaysia.

Char kuey teow is not the most authentic, but it is hard to do without the exact right noodle. This was good enough. Ask for extra spicy to be right,

Chendol was too sweet, not enough coconut milk.

Just cannot complain, but does not get 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang also viewed

 

Been to Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing